We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the job perfectly for a traveller, best to research before booking.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Gent / Gand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Campanile Gent / Gand to your Saves list
Campanile Gent / Gand
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akkerhage 1, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ADDITIONAL 10€ DISCOUNT
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Did the job perfectly for a traveller, best to research before booking.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As has been noted in previous reviews, the hotel itself is not ideally located for a couple of days in Ghent, however I found that it was around a 1 hour brisk walk from the city centre to the hotel. It is worth saying that the maps available at the train station only show roads in the northern part of the city, so it is best to make sure that you research how to get to the hotel to avoid wasted time wandering around trying to find the hotel. I would potentially be tempted to take a fold up bike upon future visits given how easy it would be to travel around the city.
The hotel itself is located on an industrial estate (however noise did not appear to be an issue) with the Ghelamco Arena only a short 5 minute walk away, so perfect should you want to watch a football game. The stadium itself is fully lit up at night and is well worth a look at.
I didn't have dinner at the hotel, instead spending the evenings in the city centre, however the breakfast was simple but adequate.
Staff were friendly and happy to deal with any queries. I originally booked through Travel Republic, with the hotel having no knowledge of my booking upon arrival. I was lucky there was a room available, but it may be worth confirming your booking before travelling.

My only gripes were the distance from the centre and wifi itself was a bit patchy. Bar that, I would happily use the hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    20
    35
    12
    5
See reviews for
8
34
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had an overnight stay here whilst on our travels and could not fault it. It is your basic clean & simple travellers hotel. We arrived quite late in the evening too late to dine but we managed to get a drink and we have to say that the reception staff were very friendly & pleasant. Breakfast the next morning was very good, great selection of bread, pastries, meat, cheese etc. as well as fruit, yoghurts and a very good cooked breakfast. Would definitely recommend for anyone travelling through Belgium.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Ok for an overnight stop, but wouldn't want to stay any longer. This is my second visit to this hotel, and we use it as an overnight stop en-route to our main destination. Staff are friendly and helpful. It has a large secure car park, with restaurant and bar, free wifi also included. The rooms are basic but adequate with everything you would expect - TV, tea/coffee. Close to the motorway network, so easy to continue travelling when you leave. There is nothing really going on around the hotel within walking distance.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

good things: nice, intimate, free parking just in front of the room, staff very friendly, good wi-fi, coffee and tea in the room, hair-dryer in bathroom
bad things: small room and a little far from center

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here whilst cycling. Rooms are basic butclean and tidy. Breakfasts are nice continenal style.

Around the area it's basic with some other eateries around.

The parking is fine but we had to keep our bikes secure in our room.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We needed a hotel at short notice for a trip to Ghent, and this one had a few rooms left so a group of us booked a couple of days before. The rooms are very clean and functional, each having a decent bathroom and hairdryer, a TV with 4 BBC channels and a desk. Checking in and out was quick and simple, and although we didn't eat at the restaurant, the service at the bar was good. We walked to the hotel initially but as it's quite a way from the centre of Ghent so later we shared taxis If you don't have a car you'd need to take this into account, although taxis were only 8-11 euros. This is a good functional hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel has the worst service and personnel. Unfriendly, unwilling. The 'manager' Julie is the worst of all. She should be sacked. I had booked this hotel quickly thru my phone and accidentally booked check-in on Friday instead of Saturday (a day too early). I called IMMEDIATELY to tell them this and put reservation right (not to cancel, I still wanted the reservation). They did not make any effort. Said it was my own fault (true) and I would simply lose the money; too bad for you.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campanile Gent / Gand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Gent / Gand

Address: Akkerhage 1, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Gent / Gand 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Campanile Gent / Gand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Gent / Gand Hotel Ghent
Campanile Gent Gand Ghent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Gent / Gand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.