We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for an overnight stop only. Expensive bar and food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Campanile Gent / Gand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Campanile Gent / Gand to your Saves list
Campanile Gent / Gand
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akkerhage 1, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
ADDITIONAL 10€ DISCOUNT
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Ok for an overnight stop only. Expensive bar and food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Ok for an overnight stop, but wouldn't want to stay any longer. This is my second visit to this hotel, and we use it as an overnight stop en-route to our main destination. Staff are friendly and helpful. It has a large secure car park, with restaurant and bar, free wifi also included. The rooms are basic but adequate with everything you would expect - TV, tea/coffee. Close to the motorway network, so easy to continue travelling when you leave. There is nothing really going on around the hotel within walking distance.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    20
    35
    12
    5
See reviews for
8
34
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

good things: nice, intimate, free parking just in front of the room, staff very friendly, good wi-fi, coffee and tea in the room, hair-dryer in bathroom
bad things: small room and a little far from center

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here whilst cycling. Rooms are basic butclean and tidy. Breakfasts are nice continenal style.

Around the area it's basic with some other eateries around.

The parking is fine but we had to keep our bikes secure in our room.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We needed a hotel at short notice for a trip to Ghent, and this one had a few rooms left so a group of us booked a couple of days before. The rooms are very clean and functional, each having a decent bathroom and hairdryer, a TV with 4 BBC channels and a desk. Checking in and out was quick and simple, and although we didn't eat at the restaurant, the service at the bar was good. We walked to the hotel initially but as it's quite a way from the centre of Ghent so later we shared taxis If you don't have a car you'd need to take this into account, although taxis were only 8-11 euros. This is a good functional hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This hotel has the worst service and personnel. Unfriendly, unwilling. The 'manager' Julie is the worst of all. She should be sacked. I had booked this hotel quickly thru my phone and accidentally booked check-in on Friday instead of Saturday (a day too early). I called IMMEDIATELY to tell them this and put reservation right (not to cancel, I still wanted the reservation). They did not make any effort. Said it was my own fault (true) and I would simply lose the money; too bad for you.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed one night on our way through that part of Belguim. Arriving late and leaving early was fine but I wouldn't have wanted to spend anytime at the hotel. It was very functional. That said the rooms were clean and relatively spacious/equipped.
The staff in the evening were slow and not that helpful. The food was average
So fine to stay if on your way through, but don't go out of your way!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This hotel has more of a motel and seems to be visited more by travellers passing then with tourists staying. Besides, if you want to visit Ghent there are better located hotels to choose from for about the same price. There was a car park present and one could enjoy dinner as well as breakfast. All is rather basic yet it's what can be expected for the rates charged. The rooms were small yet tidy and there was free internet available. What bothered me the most was the almost arrogant attitude of the staff who were not very welcoming and helpful as well. Pity since this could be a nice place for an overnight and after all, it is budgetfriendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Campanile Gent / Gand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Gent / Gand

Address: Akkerhage 1, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Campanile Gent / Gand 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Campanile Gent / Gand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Gent / Gand Hotel Ghent
Campanile Gent Gand Ghent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campanile Gent / Gand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.