We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very authentic - friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Erasmus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Erasmus to your Saves list
Erasmus
Poel 25, Ghent, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Beijing, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very authentic - friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We enjoyed staying at this hotel. There is lots of history at this hotel, going back to the philosopher Erasmus after which the hotel was named. Rooms were fine, aged but that is the theme of the hotel. The internet was fast, additional charge of 5 euro.

Location was excellent - in the city centre and a few minutes walk from restaurants, river and bars. The restaurants seemed to close early (before 8pm) so be quick.

Breakfast was typical continental, would be happy to stay again

Room Tip: Great location, reasonable price
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    39
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
31
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Emmen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Former rich people's house, in nice old style and furniture. Walk out of the hotel and you are smack in the center of town near the Gravensteen castle. Friendly reception. Clean and hygienical hotel and rooms, and ample bath and shower. Parking garages at a hundred meters walking distance for eleven euro per 24 hours. Breakfast is somewhat simple, but nutritious. I recommended this hotel for couples, children and singles. Not for elderly: stairs only.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had the pleasure to stay here last week via WeekendjeWeg. Booked last-minute at 69.00 euro for a double room.
The hotel is very centrally located, but still tucked away from the busy city center.
We felt very welcome by the friendly and highly professional staff.
This hotel oozes charm, warmth and character with it's high ceilings, old floors and beautiful wooden furniture. It must also be said that the facade of the hotel is rather impressive.

We were very happy with the cosy (and spacious) room, which had a double bed as requested. Extra cushions and blankets were available in the cupboard. Small fridge in the room with some soda's and Belgian beers are very reasonable prices.
The TV and clock radio seemed to have aged quite a bit, but that only added to the charm of the room.
We had room 7 overlooking the garden. Very very quiet and we had a great night's sleep.

Breakfast served between 7 and 10 : croissants, bread, jam, variety of cold cuts, coffee etc ... more than enough and tasty and fresh.

Will definitely return and recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden, much more peaceful! Room 7 is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is a nice old-fashioned hotel, different from most other hotels. Charm and character, and it has got everything you really need.

I would like to highlight the very helpful service. I arrive *really* late at 1am: no problem. I lost my e-ticket and asked them to please print a replacement: no problem. I left really early, and asked for a snack breakfast the night before: no problem. They were really, really helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

First as others said it is not as in their picture on the canal but up the street two blocks from the canal and bridge into the old town and is across from another hotel. The first night we were put up in the attic room with two beds it was chilly when we arrived and turned the registers up full and went out. We had been out all day visiting the town in the rain and came back to a still chilly room. We asked the desk about the heat and was told it does not come on until a certain time. By the time the room warmed up it was close to 10pm, I guess due to the high ceiling.
We asked for another room the next day and were given one on the the second floor. This was more spacious and better furnished with lower ceilings, we were out all day and return this time to a warm room.
All this being said it is a quaint older house converted to a hotel and is full of charm, furnished in antiques, the staff were very nice and accommodating. The breakfast and view of the garden a great way to start the day, and it is close to everything.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is not your typical glass and chrome hotel. If you fancy something a little different then you should try this hotel. Think wood floors, wooden stairs and big pieces of wooden furniture.
This hotel is actually a very old house. The bedroom I stayed in (room 2) was very large, very comfortable and contained a wardrobe that resembled the one from 'The Lion, The Witch and the wardrobe. The breakfast was ample. This is not a hotel for the elderly as there are no lifts.
The view from my room was of a beautiful landscaped garden. You should try this one.

Room Tip: Room 2 was great - twin singles
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were not happy with this hotel. It is a two star hotel and that should have warned us. The room was large but the furnishings were not comfortable, especially the bed. The bath was also only fair. We would not return here. The block it is located on is creepy at night and the noise level was higher that we would have liked. It was chilly but the heat was not working.

Room Tip: Go to the Marriott.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Erasmus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Erasmus

Address: Poel 25, Ghent, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Erasmus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erasmus Hotel Ghent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Erasmus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.