We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not enough English, but nice to look at.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Design Museum Gent

Design Museum Gent
Jan Breydelstraat 5, Ghent BE-9000, Belgium
32 9 267 99 99
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 163 things to do in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Not enough English, but nice to look at.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This museum is very cool on the inside. From the outside, you might not expect it to be so open and airy. The big negative is that none of the captions on the displays are in English, so it's hard to get good context for the items or learn about the history. We walked around anyway and commented on the cool things we saw inside..the tea sets, the glass collection, the furniture.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    107
    50
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Wonderful little museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Fantastic things to see in this museum. I've visited this place twice now and would definitely go again next time in Ghent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
96 attraction reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Retro IKEA?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Looked like Retro IKEA !Not my scene at all. But I'm sure some people would like it????? Not on my must do list

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Spent an interesting hour here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Spent an interesting hour here. I'm sure that the exhibition of post-modernist furniture etc. was fine if you like that sort of thing but not to my taste. However, I really enjoyed the Art Nouveau collection of glassware, ceramics, silverware etc on the next floor up.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“An interesting town house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Contains intersting rooms with furniture from the 18thC and 19thC. Lots of objects and furnishing from 1900-1950. Some will bring back memories to the over 60s!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Design Museum Gent also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Design Museum Gent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Design Museum Gent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.