We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite in Ghent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel the Boatel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ghent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel the Boatel
Save
You added Hotel the Boatel to your Saves list
Voorhoutkaai 44, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Panama City, Florida
Top Contributor
809 reviews 809 reviews
160 hotel reviews
Reviews in 364 cities Reviews in 364 cities
326 helpful votes 326 helpful votes
“Our favorite in Ghent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We have stayed here multiple times including our group renting the whole boat for the Tour de France. It is a unique and fun place to stay that is typically priced well below other city choices. Breakfast was simple but good every morning. Sven is a wonderful captain and takes good care of you. It is an easy, short walk to the downtown square. When we return to Ghent, this is where we will stay. You park for free right beside the boat on the access ledge.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

Large comfortable room with views.Charming& different

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

A small group of us went to Gent for a weekend and decided to stay on the Boatel - taking up all the rooms. We therefore had the hotel to ourselves which was much nicer than staying in a bigger chain hotel.
The rooms are comfortable and clean and it is very quiet on the canal despite it being a short walk from the old town centre.
The owner Sven was very helpful and friendly and provided an excellent breakfast with local breads and pastries.
It was a unique experience and would highly recommend it as an alternative to a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Had a wonderful time in Ghent, and staying on the Boatel was magical. It is a converted boat (spacious ex-industrial) moored on one of the canals, and has about 6 bedrooms. Especially enjoyed the deck as we had great weather and it was wonderful sitting, chatting and drinking wine as the sun went down. Breakfast was good, and the owner/manager, Sven, was very friendly and helpful. Only a ten minute stroll into the old centre. So pleased that we stayed here, and wholeheartedly recommend it.

Room Tip: There are two deluxe rooms. The best one also has a single/day bed in it -- it is a wonderful room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We had a great stay at the boatel. The hotel romms were very nice, with a really confortable bed. There is something spectacular about sleeping so close to the water!!!
It´s very close to the center of town, and is a nice walk to it. The captain was really nice to us, and he makes a good good breakfast for you everymorning!

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

The Boatel is a 2 star hotel just off from the main square (5 min walk).

From a 2 star hotel we would expect it to be clean, secure and reasonably priced.

We found it all of these things. In addition it is central, quiet, the owner / manager was extremely helpful and completely unobtrusive and the breakfast was really good. It was also "quirky" and different to the normal bog standard 2 star you might find.

We would not hesitate to stay again it. I

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanaken
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

The food in the mini-bar was expired, and when we said this to the "Captain", he replyed it was "only expired by a week".

The rooms were not cleaned properly, the sheets were not renewed, the breakfast was very mediocre, and the shower was broke.

Horrible hotel!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel the Boatel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel the Boatel

Address: Voorhoutkaai 44, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Boatel Hotel Ghent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel the Boatel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.