We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great high-end bistro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Vitrine

De Vitrine
Brabantdam 134, Ghent, Belgium
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 537 Restaurants in Ghent
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A Great high-end bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was my third visit to the Vitrine, and I have loved it all 3 times.
If you go for a romantic dinner for 2 or a night out with friends you'll have a great time with great food (original menu's with long forgotten tastes) for a very reasonable price.
great concept at an interesting location.
I would recommend this place to everyone who is in the neighbourhood.
There are 2 shifts; early 18:30 and late at 21:00 and both shifts are nice to experience. You can easily have an appetiser at the bar and then still choose the 5 course menu... There is only one menu, but they will adapt it if you don't like it .

Enjoy !

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    30
    11
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Top "close to nature" Retro-Bistro!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I am a big fan of Kobe Desramaults, so I was very curious to test his bistro version. It was an excellent experience! We made a reservation for the late shift at 9pm, started in the bar with a nice Belgian sparkling wine "Wiscoutre" to continue in retro style with whiting, roasted cauliflower and streaky with white beans. You can't choose what you eat so you have to let you surprise with these wonderful forgotten tastes with super fresh ingredients. Every single dish was just delicious even If I never would have selected it, if there would have been any choice. For culinary adventurers that like to be surprised! I just loved it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, but service at too high pace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

I ate here during a weekday for the first service of the evening (starting at 18:30). After making an online reservation I was reminded twice by email to make sure to be in time.
You have the choice to take a 4 or 5 course menu. There is a lot of pressure on the service, as soon as your plate is empty a. waiter is there to clear your table and two minutes later you already get the next dish. For us the pace was too high and it spoiled our evening. Second service is at 21:00, so everyone has to be out before that time.
Avoid this restaurant if you are looking for a relaxing night out.

Btw: food quality ranged from good (starter) to excellent (main and desserts)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very good - friendly service and interesting menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This restaurant is a converted old butchers / deli shop. It is a short walk from the centre of Ghent is a slightly run down (but improving, I would guess) area. It is very small and with an open kitchen at the end of the narrow dining room. The menu is fixed - they cook what is fresh on the day with a focus on local ingredients. The food is fairly inventive and some things are great and some things (celery ice cream) are perhaps an acquired taste. The service is very friendly and we had a really nice night there. Very reasonably priced.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“No Choice Concept”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The first impression you get when they show you the menu is that you picked the wrong restaurant. Only one menu, no choice, and the pick of the day might not be what you longed for. But when you throw yourself completely in the experienced hands of Kobe Desramaults (In De Wulf 18/20 in GaultMillau) you can experience some interesting with the tastes of the bistro-derivate of his acclaimed one star Michelin Restaurant, and even a sense of Noma (thé best restaurant in the world chosen by a list of people that never ate there). I liked it a lot, and would certainly go again. Unbeatable price/quality. Original, tasty and quick.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Vitrine also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to De Vitrine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Vitrine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.