We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sophisticated meal at reasonable price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tiva

Tiva
Oudburg 43, Ghent, Belgium
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 537 Restaurants in Ghent
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sophisticated meal at reasonable price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

We stumbled across Tiva after a long day touring Ghent. We loved the tapas as it provided a variety of Belgian tastes. The service was the best we have had during our vacation in Europe. The waiter was very fluent in English and was very eager to recommend some after dinner drink locations which turned out to be excellent. I would highly recommend if your looking for a low key, non- touristy, quiet dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very tasty food served in an unusual way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We were welcomed by a friendly young man who explained the menu in detail.
I was very surprised by the presented food. We ordered 7+7 tapas each and I ate all of them with great appetite. Some were simple, some were more advanced cuisine, some were not Belgian at all (couscous). But that doesn't matter as they fit the concept and match the rest of the plate.
You won't need to order any dessert afterwards as 14 tapas really suffice.

But there's some other aspects that actually worried us:
We entered an empty restaurant and during the evening only 3 more people came by to eat. That's a pity for such a great concept.
We came with a coupon so we were actually looking for this restaurant but we passed by without noticing this place. Some ugly plants at the window cover the view from outside and make it look unappealing. We saw others passing by, looking at the menu and trying to get a glimse inside. But they couldn't really so they walked away.

It would've been easier to please everyone with, say, a choice out of 9 tapas, just to avoid things one doesn't like.
Since they rotate the menu every six months, we'll come back in the summer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Restaurant_tiva, Owner at Tiva, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. I hear pro's and con's about my plants a lot :-) i would like to correct one item: our menu changes every six weeks in stead of months. Hope to see you again at tiva!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent way to try Belgian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I live in Gent and I visit this place a lot.The service is nice and I love the tapas-initiative.
This restaurant is a great place for tourists if they want to explore the Belgian cuisine because you get 5 to 7 different tapas (as an entree and again 5 to 7 as a main). So you can try it all.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Belgian Tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012 via mobile

After leaving one resturant (because you needed to per-book food!) we were starting to loose hope that rather than eating local food we were going to end up getting a curry. Luckily we stumbled across this resturant.

My partner and I are fond of the tapas style of eating as you try lots of different dishes, so this resturant was ideal for us. The menu was in Flemish but the waiter was very helpful and explained what everything was. He even came back when our food came to explain again what the dishes were.

We went for the larger tapas menu with 7 starters and 7 main dishes. The food was lovely and we really enjoyed being able to sample so many different dishes. We didn't have a dessert but our coffees came with some Belgian chocolates and a little cake. Overall a great meal and glad we stumbled across this place.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Belgian food in a new way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Although from the outside Tiva didn't seem that inviting to us at the beginning, the sound of Belgian Tapas drew us in. And a good choice it was. We had a lovely dinner and enjoyed some glasses of nice wine. Our friendly waiter brought us good conversation and inventive tapas, which were very nice - a good combination of fish and meat. Probably also veggie-dishes are possible. After the normal amount (5 cold and 5 hot), dessert wouldn't fit our full bellies anymore so I couldn't tell you if those are any good.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiva also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Tiva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiva, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.