We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, great room and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gravensteen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gravensteen to your Saves list
Hotel Gravensteen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Breydelstraat 35, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Special @ €95
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Arnside, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Perfect location, great room and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Gravensteen is located right next to the Castle. Arriving by train get Tram 1 from the station - almost to the door. Excellent breakfast served in annexe at rear of building was great as our very quiet room was in the same block. Many good restaurants and bars on the doorstep. Room very comfortable and spacious and..... importantly in our stay, nice and warm, street temperature was arctic !! Buy tram ticket from Travel Office at station. You must validate ticket on the tram by pressing a zone number. Nobody seems to check who has tickets and we appeared to be the only people paying !
Gravesteen hotel's ONLY problem was there was no internet as advertised owing to a technical breakdown - however, in our 3 day stay they did not manage to get it fixed. This was a massive inconvenience that surely could have been put right.

Room Tip: Rooms in rear annexe are closer to breakfast room and nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    110
    43
    18
    12
See reviews for
27
111
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our stay was part of a package with Eurostar included and had been allocated room 14. Despite contacting the hotel by email we were disappointed to find this was a cramped and dark small double which, although it had a castle view (limited), it made us want to check out immediately. Although this was clean and adaquate we decided to pay for an upgrade and were offerred room 22 which was spacious, bright and had an excellent view of the castle and the city streets. There was also complementary tea and coffee facilites and, a nice touch for a three star hotel, bathrobes and slippers. There was also a huge wall mounted tv which could receive BBC channels and a mini-bar. Bathroom basic but clean and all you require including lovely toiletries.
Breakfast was excellent - a sort of de-luxe continental style and the coffee was, as one would expect in Belgium, really good.
A small bar on site with a nice decor and limited but adequate range of spirits - we didnt try wines and beers. There is a sauna/fitness centre which we didnt use and private parking is available but I think there is a charge for this.
Altogether a relaxing and very pleasant stay in a nice little hotel with a great city centre location and five minutes walk from all the major sites.

Room Tip: Go for room 22 if you can reserve it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salcombe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I selected this hotel because it was offering good value short breaks at the end of February without knowing anything about the topography of Ghent. I was delighted to find that it was very central, close to the castle and river, and that the centre of Ghent is largely pedestrian, except for trams and a few buses. The hotel was extremely friendly, clean, and comfortable, with staff speaking excellent English. Breakfast was a very adequate buffet in a bright upstairs room, and service was instant in a cosy ittle bar close to Reception. It was.particularly cold weather and I was happy to find a fully-adjustabe radiator in my room. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Ghent for sight-seeing purposes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This hotel is very well situated near to the picturesque Graslei canalside and almost directly opposite the impressive Gravensteen Castle. Is easy to get to from the train station with the red tram route running from just up the road from the train station to the castle.

The hotel itself is quite impressive upon arrival with quite a grand and ornate reception area and staircase. The room itself was quite tired though with quite a few repairs and a lick of paint needed. It was also very noisy on the first floor with most guests having to pass by the room to get to theirs on the upper floors and so until quite late at night and then from very early in the morning there was a door in the corridor outside that kept banging shut.

Having said all this I would still say that it is good value accommodation in a good location.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor above the reception area was noisy as a lot of people have to pass the r...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Gravensteen is a curious mixture of charm (a collection of old buildings, hence a plethora of levels, up-and-down passages) and disrepair (some of the furniture in my room was quite tacky; creaky, wobbly floors). In general, it was fun. Equally uneven was the breakfast: nice selection (even grilled sausages - except weekends) but shamefully watered-down orange juice.
The central location and especially the namesake castle across the street are obvious advantages that, to some, might even be reason enough to overlook some of the faults.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmestrand, Norway
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I would ahve wished for an extra star between "Average" (3 stars) and "Very good" (4 stars) since this hotel tends in the direction of "Good" but not "Very good". The hotel is located in the old town and within walking distance from everything. The staff is friendly. My room was in the annexe, and it really seemed impossible to turn up the heat in my room (I tried to set the radiator on full, but nothing happened even if the pipes were warm). So instead I set the bathroom radiotor (which worked) on full and kept the door open to heat the main room. Another problem with the rooms was that there is very little sound insulation between rooms and between the rooms and the corridor. The breakfast was OK although I missed some real orange juice (whether from consentrate or whatever) since all there was was something mixed out to a thin watery taste.

Room Tip: It may be bestter to get a room in the main building than in the annexe. on the other hand breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The location was very good, but our room needed some renovation urgently: the furniture and walls looked very old. The hair dryer was much more older than I am, and it was out of order. We called the reception to ask, if there is any other one we can use, but they did not have anything available. The bed however was very good and comfortable.
I found the price for the accommodation and breakfast too high.
We did not eat the breakfast in the hotel, we went to small coffee shops nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gravensteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gravensteen

Address: Jan Breydelstraat 35, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gravensteen 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
49 comfortable rooms with private bathroom.Trendy lounge / Bar.Patio,Fitness and sauna.Cosy breakfast room,15 private parking places1 meeting rooms with daylight,Free wireless internet,Central location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gravensteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gravensteen Hotel Ghent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gravensteen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.