We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - cold room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gravensteen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gravensteen to your Saves list
Hotel Gravensteen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Breydelstraat 35, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Special @ €95
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Holmestrand, Norway
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good location - cold room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I would ahve wished for an extra star between "Average" (3 stars) and "Very good" (4 stars) since this hotel tends in the direction of "Good" but not "Very good". The hotel is located in the old town and within walking distance from everything. The staff is friendly. My room was in the annexe, and it really seemed impossible to turn up the heat in my room (I tried to set the radiator on full, but nothing happened even if the pipes were warm). So instead I set the bathroom radiotor (which worked) on full and kept the door open to heat the main room. Another problem with the rooms was that there is very little sound insulation between rooms and between the rooms and the corridor. The breakfast was OK although I missed some real orange juice (whether from consentrate or whatever) since all there was was something mixed out to a thin watery taste.

Room Tip: It may be bestter to get a room in the main building than in the annexe. on the other hand breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    112
    43
    18
    12
See reviews for
27
112
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The location was very good, but our room needed some renovation urgently: the furniture and walls looked very old. The hair dryer was much more older than I am, and it was out of order. We called the reception to ask, if there is any other one we can use, but they did not have anything available. The bed however was very good and comfortable.
I found the price for the accommodation and breakfast too high.
We did not eat the breakfast in the hotel, we went to small coffee shops nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a pretty average hotel, our pro’s and con’s:

PROs
- Location in Ghent, just a few meters away from the hart of this great city!
- Breakfast buffet.
- Clean room.

CONs
- Noizy! We stayed on the fist floor (room 51) and could hear the people on the streets talk as well as we could enjoy other hotel noises.
- Requested a double bed, we got 2 single beds on a slippery floor so that they move apart very quickly.
- Room is pretty small, the two beds take 60% of the floor space, some furniture takes 20% so there’s not much walk space left.
- Reception staff friendliness, if you don’t ask anything you won’t know anything, for example the way to the breakfast room or Wi-Fi access, sort it all out yourself.

Room Tip: Stay away from the street side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel is in the perfect position, right at the centre, with loads of good restaurants within a few yards. The amazing House of Elliot is just 10 yards away! Our room (in the annexe) was spacious, quiet and comfortable. However our friend had a single room at a cheaper rate and didn't have a kettle. When she asked she was told the cheaper rate didn't include a kettle! A bit mean, to say the least. Needless to say, she borrowed ours. Breakfast plentiful if dull. Orange water masquerading as orange juice. Small but cosy bar, and friendly staff. Three and a half really, but as that's not available, four stars for location and excellent room.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Can't vouch for the main building but we were allocated a room in the annex which was perfectly acceptable. Not luxurious but we wasn't expecting that! The Reception staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. It was quite warm but but easily controlled by opening the windows and A/C was available.

Good on suite bathroom with separate WC. The bathroom floor became very slippy though as the shower curtain was next to useless!

Didn't take the breakfast it it seemed quite expensive at 17 euros each but there are countless places nearby to grab something.

The Hotel couldn't have been better situated opposite the imposing Gravensteen castle with all the main sights and attractions restaurants and bars within easy walking distance.

Would definitely use the hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Do not let yourself be impressed by the reception hall: in fact this is a really poor and modest 3 stars (maybe would be more appropriate a 2 stars). Everything is shabby and needs refurbishment. The first impression getting into our room was the stink coming from the bathroom. The room was very modest, old, without any style, and dirty (the towel over the table had a lot of stains and in the dustbin there still was the rubbish of the previous guests, for example), Breakfast very basic. In addition to all that, we paid 159 euros for this terrible room! It was ridiculous.
Keep away from this hotel, there are many other choices in the surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel has a great location. Everytime close enough to drop our shopping and then move on again. Rooms are very clean, and comfortable. We had a good sleep overall. Good value for money. Bathroom had more space than expected of European en-suites. Would definately recommend the hotel and even book another stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gravensteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gravensteen

Address: Jan Breydelstraat 35, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gravensteen 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
49 comfortable rooms with private bathroom.Trendy lounge / Bar.Patio,Fitness and sauna.Cosy breakfast room,15 private parking places1 meeting rooms with daylight,Free wireless internet,Central location ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gravensteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gravensteen Hotel Ghent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gravensteen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.