We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surpringsly good for a holiday inn, comfortable bed and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Gent Expo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Gent Expo to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maaltekouter 3, Ghent 9051, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Swanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Surpringsly good for a holiday inn, comfortable bed and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Quite simply I stayed her as a mid way point to travels into Northern Germany from the UK.

I arrived at 2115pm on Sunday 1st June with only 45 mins to get something to eat. The staff were helpful, polite and did not make me feel rushed which was appreciated,

I had sea bass and fries for dinner with two small glasses of a very reasonable white wine.

The bed was spacious, comfortable and clean, could not ask for more.

All in all an average surrounding area but for a stop over, very good package indeed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Garryturner,
Thank you for your positive review regarding your stay.
It’s always enjoyable to read that a guest felt comfortable straight away upon arriving in our hotel, as comfort is an important, if not, the most important aspect of your stay.
Our hotel is indeed well located, either as stopover or to visit the city centre of Ghent.
Thank you for you stay, and we hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Kindest Regards,
Thomas Van Parijs
Gereral manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    186
    106
    33
    13
See reviews for
74
137
20
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This frinedly and well presented hotel has good rooms, pleasant staff and a restaurant with good dinner and breakfast options. A little way outside Ghent the nearby trolley bus service provides quick and wellp riced acces to the city centre

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Phinthyme,

Let me thank you for your stay with us and taking the time to provide us with your opinion.
I am delighted to hear about your positive experience with our staff and dining facilities. If you want to discover the beautiful historic town of Ghent we recommend using tramline number 1. The tram gets into Ghent very frequent and tickets can be bought at the Front Desk to make your trip to Ghent as easy as possible.
I do hope to have you again as a guest in our hotel in the future.
Kindest Regards,
Thomas Van Parijs
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

After a nightmare journey from auto route to hotel due to roadworks we eventually arrived to a friendly welcome at reception. We were allowed to park directly outside reception and we had a large room on 3rd floor. The room was spotless and very comfotable. We enjoyed an aperitif in the bar and had a leisurely buffet meal in the atrium, again with great service.
Breakfast next morning was very good value.
I would highly reccomend this hotel for service and value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Geoff C,

It is a please to find out about your last stay at our hotel. I would like to thank you for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor. To find our hotel we strongly advise our guests to follow the signs ‘Expo’ or ‘Holiday Inn Gent Expo’ instead of following the GPS since it is a new area.
Thank you again to compliment the services provided at Holiday Inn Gent Expo and the dishes.
I hope to have you again in our hotel as a guests during your next visit to Gent.
Kindest Regards,
Thomas Van Parijs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Upon late arrival, I encountered a concert (party) in the restaurant (at the same time hotel lobby). This was loud to such an extent that it was unable to hear the receptionist while checking in. The room I got (last available one in the hotel) was looking at the restaurant lobby, and i could "enjoy" the concert free of charge in my room. After the concert stopped, the elevator sounds (next to the room) followed up...

Needless to say, the staff was not able to give me another room as the hotel was full, and mumbled a standard "sorry". Luckily this was "just" a business trip so I was not with my baby.

Room Tip: Chose "Sandton" - same price category (though in the city center), but much friendlier per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Ivan M,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. We informed all of our guests about the private party in the hotel. We would like to apologize that the hotel was completely full at the moment of your stay. This is very exceptionally that we had a performance and only for 1 hour. We apologize for the extra noise.
Our guests’ opinion is of great importance so the next time you’ll be visiting us, never doubt to raise any kind of problems to our Manager of Duty at the Front Desk. We hope to welcome you again at our hotel in the future.
Yours sincerely
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Me and my brother stayed here for the Tour of Flanders Sportive. Its in an odd location in a sort of massive motorway roundabout next to a Ikea. The hotel check-in was friendly and prompt although the they appeared to confuse the booking - we were in a double room and I had booked one with a double bed and a sofa bed - it was sorted out quickly and efficiently. Our bikes were allowed in the room. The evening buffet meal was great (my brother is Veggie and really picky and he really rated it) and the breakfast was excellent and just what was needed before our bike ride. Typical hotel rates, we spent 50 euros a day each on food. WiFi was free and seemed to allow us both access to the internet on our iPhones easily enough. Maybe if I was a tourist wanting to see the sights the Hotel might disappoint in terms of what it looks out on. However if you want a well run hotel where the Staff are professional, friendly and seem to take a real pride in their jobs, then this is a great choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Dunnoh,

Thank you for your stay at our hotel during the Tour of Flanders.
It is satisfying to read about your experiences especially regarding the evening buffet being tasty and the easy connection to our WIFI network.
Our staff is indeed very committed and do their utmost best to provide our guests with a good service. I am pleased that our professionalism shows and is noticed by you. I will definitely share your comment with our staff.
I hope to welcome you again at Holiday Inn Gent Expo.

Kind regards,

Thomas Van Parijs
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonehaven, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The hotel was bright and clean, the rooms were well laid out and an excellent shower. The bar was well stocked and I enjoyed a beer from there with my evening meal. The meals were a little like any self service, though a distinct lack of beef. We did get beef olives which were mostly just a very thin wrapping of beef and filled with rather a lot of stuffing. Close to the tram station if you wanted to leave the car behind. The staff were friendly and helpful and spoke pretty good English which was helpful. Good lift.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room, the inside room could be a little dark in the winter months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear 404Mij404,

Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor.
I am happy to read your stay was enjoyable because of our rooms with comfortable shower, the staff’s language skills and a comfortable shower. Being in Belgium you should definitely try out some of our beers which you clearly did and enjoyed during your evening meal.
I hope Holiday Inn Gent Expo will be your preferred hotel during your next visit to Ghent.
Kindest Regards,
Thomas Van Parijs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for first night of a trip down through France. Room was clean and spacious, was a bit concerned as was an inner room overlooking the restuarant and bar area but could not hear a thing even when the restuarant was busy, didn't eat in the evening as arrived late but did have a drink in the bar. Breakfast the next morning was very good with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Ollie2870,

Thank you for taking the time to write down a review about Holiday Inn Gent Expo. I am delighted to read your doubts about a room overlooking the restaurant turned into a positive experience.
Our breakfast can daily be used in an American style buffet with various types of bread, cereals, boiled eggs and scrambled egg, cheese, yoghurt, fresh fruit, hot sausage, … We want to offer our guests enough choice to begin the day with a good breakfast.
Would be great to have you back at the hotel in the future.
Kindest Regards,
Thomas Van Parijs
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
2.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
2.5 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 39 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 stars 1,304 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
2.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
1.3 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Gent Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gent Expo

Address: Maaltekouter 3, Ghent 9051, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ghent
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#8 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Gent Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE USE OF BROADBAND INTERNET IN THE ENTIRE HOTEL!Holiday Inn Gent Expo is a 4-star hotel with an entirely refurbished Atrium which is ideally situated at the crossing of the major European motorway junction (E40-E17-A17) at exit 14 - Expo and next to Flanders Expo and IKEA Gent. Furthermore hotel Holiday Inn Ghent Expo is connected with the historic city centre of Ghent: the tram stop is located at 100 metres from the hotel with a link of every 10 minutes to the city centre. This Holiday Inn hotel in Ghent is centrally located for business as well as for tourists exploring Flanders. All 169 comfortable spacious hotel rooms have double glazed windows and are air-conditioned, equipped with minibar, LCD flatscreen TV and coffee & tea making facilities. The eye-catching Atrium, under a huge glass roof and glazed elevators, is the heart of the hotel. Here you will find our trendy Atrium Restaurant with a unique design. The cuisine is contemporary, associating light and refined meals with inventive Belgian flavours. The Lounge Wine Bar is the meeting point in the surroundings. The atrium, bar, lobby and meeting rooms offer free wireless high speed Internet (WIFI)! Looking for a meeting place in Gent? Holiday Inn hotel Ghent offers 9 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Gent Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gent Expo Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Gent Expo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.