We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shearings Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Gent Expo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Gent Expo to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maaltekouter 3, Ghent 9051, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Worcester, UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Shearings Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had 4 nights at this hotel as part of a Shearings trip to The Netherlands and Belgium. Room was clean and well-serviced throughout the stay; bed comfortable and bathroom more than adequate. Food was buffet style for both breakfast and dinner and there was an excellent choice at both times. Staff were friendly and helpful. This is a business/coach tour hotel so there are no facilities nearby although the trams run every ten minutes to central Ghent (€2.20 return) and only take 15 minutes. We were glad that we had an "outside" room as the "inside" rooms look out over the atrium and don't get any fresh air - so make sure you ask for an even numbered room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear guest,
Many thanks for your kind feedback on our hotel. I am happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased by the services offered by our team.
It is correct that our staff is very service focused and tries to be one step ahead to make our guests’ stay as comfortable as possible. The quality of our large breakfast buffet is indeed of good quality and the dinner buffets are well varied.
On behalf of the team of Holiday Inn Gent Expo, I look forward to welcome you back at our hotel.
HOLIDAY INN GENT EXPO
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    164
    92
    28
    13
See reviews for
60
121
18
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night with my two sons. I found the service and the quality of rooms and food to be extremely good. Just everything that a little bit nicer and better than I expected, so I was very impressed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Family
Thank you for your impressive review and for qualifying all our targets on “Excellent”. We are happy that we succeeded again in delivering the Holiday Inn standards to you. We will never rest until our clients are leaving with a very good feeling.
We will be happy to welcome you again and to give you the service and product that you expect from Holiday Inn Gent Expo.
Keep well and we thank you in advance to tell your friends and family about our hotel.
Yours sincerely

Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel does what it says on the tin.
It’s on the outskirts of Gent next to IKEA and the EXPO cente. That’s great for access from the motorway and for parking although it's a little difficult to enter by road because of a complicated local one-way system. If you want entertainment outside the hotel you will have to go into Gent and the best way to do that is by tram from just outside the hotel. The service runs roughly every 15 minutes during peak hours and takes around 20 minutes. Tickets can be bought at the hotel’s front desk.

Staff were welcoming and efficient and our bedrooms was clean and air-conditioned with a good hanging wardrobe, although there wasn’t a lot of other storage space – it’s obviously designed for short stays. There was no real ‘natural’ light as we overlooked the covered central atrium. Rooms on the outside didn’t appear to have air con.

The bathroom was adequate, but I don’t expect to find soap dispensers on the wall in what claims to be a 4* hotel. There was no shaving mirror and lighting was very bad for make- up, partly because the huge mirror was so far away across the basin.

Breakfast was good, with a wide selection of hot and cold dishes and there was plenty of space in the dining room. Coffee was provided from a machine. The quality of the coffee was good, but again it seemed a little out of place in a 4* hotel.

You may want to eat outside the hotel as the choice seemed rather limited, but fine for one evening.

This isn’t a destination hotel, but a good base for visits to Gent and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Sir,Madam
First of all I hope that you had a safe trip back home. Thank you for your stay in Holiday Inn Gent expo and for taking the time for all your compliments and constructive advices.
We have indeed a very good tactical location i.e. 50 meters from the exhibition centre “Flanders Expo”, 15 minutes from the city centre by tram, 35 minutes from the coast and 40 minutes from Brussels and Antwerp.
Thank you for confirming that our staff is professional. I’m sure that if you informed us about the quantity of luggage you travelled with, we could have find a solution for you like placing an extra rack for your outfits.
We are very happy to read that our breakfast is of a high quality and sufficient enough so that you can start your day with a lot of energy. The coffee machines offer indeed a very good quality of coffee and you can also have thanks to the machine different choices like espresso, cappuccino and latté macchiato.
We are now in the middle of changing lighting in the bathroom. All bathrooms will be soon provided with new LED that will certainly have impact. Easter holiday is finished and our limited menu is adapted again to the original options. Sorry for this inconvenience.
We hope that we may welcome you again in Holiday Inn Gent Expo during your next visit in Gent.
Yours sincerely

Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed one night on business. Hotel was very much as expected for a Holiday Inn. Nice welcome at reception, pleasant room & bathroom, where everything was clean and functioned OK. I had a late dinner in the restaurant - which was excellent, and the breakfast was a large & varied buffet.
The only negative was finding the way into the hotel by car. The hotel is easy to see from a distance, but the direction signs into the carpark are tricky to follow. I did two turns around the Expo loop before I located the entrance. But that is a minor problem, and I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your stay in Holiday Inn Gent Expo and for mentioning that your stay was overall satisfactory. We are happy to read that we succeeded in the delivery of a good service, food and product.
We are still negotiating with the government to make the directions more clear. Off course only the last updated GPS systems will drive you just in front of our door. Otherwise drive slowly and follow the signs of our hotel carefully.
Once again, thank you for taking the time for creating a wonderful review. We hope to see you again during your next visit to Gent.
Yours sincerely


Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Way out of the centre next to the Expo but excellent tram just 5 mins from the hotel takes you straight into town for €1.20. Stayed on my priority points and was upgraded to premier room with free internet which was great. Staff really friendly, arrived extremely early in the morning but they found a room without a fuss. Interesting room as they face into the hotel with the window overlooking the restaurant and breakfast area. This makes the rooms somewhat dark and the lighting is very dim, however very clean and Nespresso type coffee machine provided but the socket it was next to did not work and some of the lights could do with new bulbs due to flickering. There is an empty fridge provided for you to store your own food and beverages in, bathroom was clean though looking a bit dated now but good shower. Tried room service which was excellent, very good service and well cooked food. Breakfast was served in the large dining area but its a bit confusing as the hotel is a base for a lot of conferences and seminars so not all the tables are available. Nice spread with eggs, cheeses and cereals and good coffee machines, maybe a bit pricy at €15 given the location of the hotel. Car parking is also chargeable at €10 a night. All in all a very enjoyable stay and would return if in the area or traveling through the region. Should you fancy it, the biggest Ikea in Europe if just over the road, 2 mins walk away :o)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Ambassador of our Holiday Inn chain
The highest level of the membership in our chain is a Platinum member, like you are. Thank you for being so loyal to our company and to Holiday Inn Gent Expo.
We are glad that the free upgrade to an Executive room, the free High Speed internet, the 20% discount on dinner and the 10% discount on our shop articles are the Platinum advantages when staying in our hotel.
Thank you for your compliments on or staff, service, food and products. Based on your experience you reconfirm that we are doing great.
As we are in the middle of reviewing the lighting in all bathrooms, LED lighting will be installed very soon. The bit dated items will be replaced in a short term as well.
We thank you again for you stay Mr Ambassador and hope to welcome you during your next visit in our historal town called Gent.
Yours sincerely
Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Great Hotel,friendly helpful staff,clean rooms & a good restaurant. A perfect stop for Tour of Flanders. The hotel is situated just off the E40 to the south of the beautiful city of Ghent. Easy to find & leave your car,there is a tram stop 150mtrs from the entrance,€1.20 to the centre or Station, buy a 10 trip travel card if there's more than one of you from reception to make it cheaper & easier.Ghent is well worth a visit,it is stunning with great bars and restaurants. For visiting Oudenaarde or other locations such as Brugge then either jump straight on the motorway with the car or take a train from Ghent St-Pieters. We spent 3 nights here & loved every minute,we will be back. Thanks for opening the breakfast early for the cyclists :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam
First of all I like to thank you for your stay in Holiday Inn Gent Expo and for taking the time to create a review on our hotel. We are very proud on the travelling rating that you are giving us.
I’m very glad to read that our staff was very welcoming, even excellent and that our food is of a high quality.
Nevertheless that we are not situated in the city centre; guests do love our hotel and coming back based on our good services and products. Thanks to the tram that is located 100m from our hotel, the city centre can be reached every 10 minutes. The tram is taking you within 15 minutes to the centre and is driving you through streets with very nice old Belgian habitats. People always like to compare the foreign way of building with their home.
We will be happy to welcome you again when your next destination will be Gent again.
Yours sincerely

Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BROMSGROVE
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed as part of a tour group mainly to see Bruges! Situated next door to Expo conference centre & a giant Ikea store. On a ring road which you have to go round & round to gain access to hotel. Nothing really within walking distance, however the hotel serves fabulous food & service is very good. Rooms are nice with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in! Reception staff are excellent & very welcoming. I would stay here again even if it is a little out of the way

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genthotelier, General Manager at Holiday Inn Gent Expo, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Sir, Madam
First of all I like to thank you for your stay in Holiday Inn Gent Expo and for taking the time to create a review on our hotel. We are very proud on the travelling rating that you are giving us.
I’m very glad to read that our staff was very welcoming, even excellent and that our food is of a high quality.
Nevertheless that we are not situated in the city centre; guests do love our hotel and coming back based on our good services and products. Thanks to the tram that is located 100m from our hotel, the city centre can be reached every 10 minutes. The tram is taking you within 15 minutes to the centre and is driving you through streets with very nice old Belgian habitats. People always like to compare the foreign way of building with their home.
We will be happy to welcome you again when your next destination will be Gent again.
Yours sincerely

Thomas Van Parijs
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Gent Expo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Gent Expo

Address: Maaltekouter 3, Ghent 9051, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Ghent
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Gent Expo 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE USE OF BROADBAND INTERNET IN THE ENTIRE HOTEL!Holiday Inn Gent Expo is a 4-star hotel with an entirely refurbished Atrium which is ideally situated at the crossing of the major European motorway junction (E40-E17-A17) at exit 14 - Expo and next to Flanders Expo and IKEA Gent. Furthermore hotel Holiday Inn Ghent Expo is connected with the historic city centre of Ghent: the tram stop is located at 100 metres from the hotel with a link of every 10 minutes to the city centre. This Holiday Inn hotel in Ghent is centrally located for business as well as for tourists exploring Flanders. All 169 comfortable spacious hotel rooms have double glazed windows and are air-conditioned, equipped with minibar, LCD flatscreen TV and coffee & tea making facilities. The eye-catching Atrium, under a huge glass roof and glazed elevators, is the heart of the hotel. Here you will find our trendy Atrium Restaurant with a unique design. The cuisine is contemporary, associating light and refined meals with inventive Belgian flavours. The Lounge Wine Bar is the meeting point in the surroundings. The atrium, bar, lobby and meeting rooms offer free wireless high speed Internet (WIFI)! Looking for a meeting place in Gent? Holiday Inn hotel Ghent offers 9 meeting rooms with natural daylight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Gent Expo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Gent Expo Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Gent Expo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.