We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsurpassed value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Gent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Gent to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Gent
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akkerhage 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
263 helpful votes 263 helpful votes
“Unsurpassed value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

It was the best choice for an one-night stay on my way to Brugge, giving us also the option to spent a couple of hours in Ghent. I was recognised as a Gold Priority Club member and the welcome envelope included free WiFi access codes and vouchers for free beers at the bar. For ~50night (including breakfast as in all HI express) using a meber's exclusive prepaid rate, the deal was unsurpassed. The room was spacious, shower only (not full size bathtub given that it is not a 4*), and the matress was super-comfy. Even better sleep quality compared to the much higher ranked Crown Plazza (of the same IHG hotel group chain), we had stayed in Brussels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXHI_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Enoikos

Thank you very much for having taken the time to review our hotel. I was delighted to learn that a Top Contributor such as yourself values our benefits for PriorityClub members. You have put a big smile on my team's face and motivated them to provide our guests with great service.

Once again, thank you for your continued patronage of InterContinental Hotels. We look forward to serving your future lodging needs.

Sincerely
Laurens Roels
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    107
    75
    17
    5
See reviews for
81
38
8
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tolkamer, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was the second time for me in this hotel. The entrance is nothing special but nice and clean. The service was quick and very frendly.

The rooms are nice and offer all you need for a simple business night. The breakfast has good choice, not enourmus but there is something for everybody. You can not expect to much for a free breakfast. Anyway the food is ok.

I would come back again. The service here is much better than at the more expensive Holiday Inn in Gent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Good quality hotel with good sized rooms for families. A couple of problems were that I didn't realise when I booked that a charge was incurred for parking in the hotel car park of 10 euros, thought this should have been made more clear when booking. Another issue was with breakfast, when I booked it didn;t really state that breakfast was included and on arrival no mention was made of breakfast to me, therefore we left in the morning without eating breakfast to save money and ended up in McDonalds in France on the way home, was gutted when we arrived back home only to find out breakfast was include for us and children! We stayed here as we wanted to go to Brugge but nothing of any quality was available (all booked up due to a carnival) so went here. It was a bit of a drive in to Brugge (30 mins) but nothing major and we did venture briefly in to local Ghent which looks like it would also be worth a proper visit some time.
The hotel overall is of good quality but there is nothing around for miles so don't think we'd book again, probably book a hotel in or near the centre of Brugge in advance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXHI_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest

I appreciate your taking the time to advise us of your dissatisfaction, which is the first step towards improvement of our services.

With regards to information about our car park policy, this is clearly mentionned on all booking channels we work with. Unfortunately i can't find your name or reservation details in your answer.

Please contact us directly on tripadvisor@hiexgent.be with your booking details. If the car park policy was indeed not on your confirmation, we will refund you entirely for this.

If you'd like to visit Brugge again, why not try our sister hotel Crowne Plaza Brugge on the Burg square in the heart of the city? And do come back to properly visit Gent too. There's so much to discover in this medieval town. Have a look on Tripadvisor for the top-rated attractions.

We look forward to meeting you and the family again. With free breakfast for everybody and even free lunch and dinner for kids up to 12y of age !

Sincerely

Laurens Roels
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

On the plus side, the Holiday Inn Express was clean and the bed comfortable with a choice of pillows. The wifi needs a lot of work though. It was okay in the late afternoon until a power cut across the whole hotel knocked it out (and everything electric apart from emergency lighting). so, that left a lot of work to do in the evening. But presumably as more people went online, the connection kept dropping and it was woefully slow before beoming non-existent by about 10pm. Note that this was the so-called "ultimate" wifi. The standard free version didn't work either.

That made it impossible to do any work online at all so I'd question the hotel's suitability as a business base. Aside from that it was as you'd expect (although the towels could have been bigger and the shower was turned down to 50% pressure for "ecological" reasons).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXHI_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear David

We know there's a lot of hotels in Gent, so thank you for selecting the Holiday Inn Express Gent.

With regards to the WiFi, it's worth noting that on Mon November 5th at 4.30 pm a high voltage cable was ruptured by a crane during road works nearby the hotel. This caused a blackout in big parts of the city [and also in our hotel] until 7pm.
Although our infrastructure is protected with backup batteries, the blackout has also impacted ISP infrastructure in the city such as datacenters, local hubs and switches, mobile telephone antennas etc.

This really was force majeure, and i thank you for your willingness to understand.

A tip for the shower:
The Holiday Inn Express Gent is Green Key certified, and water conservation is important to us indeed. The shower will only turn half way on with a stop in the middle. To get full pressure, just move the switch on the handle and turn it further.

Once again, thank you for informing us about your concerns. They help us improve our service.
See you again in Gent, next time?

Sincerely

Laurens Roels
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a well located hotel with easy access to the motorway approx 3 miles from the centre of Ghent and about 30 minutes drive to Bruge. The hotel has good parking availability and cost around 10 euros a day to park. There is an Aldi over the bridge but you need to drive into Ghent for a choice of restaurants and sights.

We stayed for three nights. The holiday is mainly aimed at the business market but was perfectly fine for a family of four. The rooms are quite spacious even with a double bed and a sofa bed and bathrooms are modern. We thought the shower was good. There was no bath. A kettle and tea and coffee are provided in the room. The TV has BBC 1 and BBC2 as well as BBC World and a range of European Channels. Pay per view movies are also available. The Wifi in our room had a strong signal.

The breakfast was a continental buffet including bread, preserves, pastries, cheese, bolied eggs. cold meats, juices, 5 cereals, tea, coffee, yoghurt and fruit salad. There was plenty of choice. My kids liked the chocolate sprinkles for cereal and the chocolate spread.

The hotel has a restaurant for dinner which we did not try. We did visit the bar several times. Most of the time it was very quiet so those who like a noisy venue might be disappointed but the bar has a reasonable selection of Belgian Beers and did not seem overpriced compared to other hotel bars which can overcharge. The bar also serves a small selection of baguettes and hot dishes.

Overall a good quality hotel, suitable for families with good parking and breakfast. However if you prefer a central location with everything within walking distance this is not the hotel for you. Those happy to drive and park in Ghent will find it more than satisfactory.

Room Tip: The hotel is next to the motorway. We were on the third floor not directly facing the motorway and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXHI_Gent_manager, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Gent, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for your recent review regarding the Holiday Inn Express Gent. We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your recent stay.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Holiday Inn Express Gent a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future. Thank you for choosing InterContinental Hotels Group.
Sincerely,

Laurens Roels
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Have stayed here on a regular basis for a number of years. Always reliable and the restaurant is good. Friendly barman who's been there for years and is always attentive although bar itself is a bit spartan. It is out of town but very easy to get to from the motorway system. Wifi is reliable throughout hotel, even in the rooms farthest from reception.
Never tried the buses as the taxis are easy and not overly expensive.
People complaining about lack of bath should remember this is a Holiday Inn Express. They don't have baths! If you want a bath stay in the Holiday Inn but the restaurant isn't so good there.
Ideal for business or travel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Holiday Inn Ghent was a nice place to stay for a reasonable price. The room was clean and comfortable for three people, the breakfast was fantastic, and the location was very convenient to the motorway and Brussels. The hotel was not located near the downtown historic area, but it was not difficult to reach via automobile and parking was available downtown. There was also a nice restaurant and bar on site.

The only complaints I have were that parking was 10 €/night, and there was really no need, at least during the weekend, as it is not near restricted areas. A small complaint was that the shower curtain did not reach all the way to the bottom of the shower, so the water leaked onto the floor. ( a minor issue!)

Otherwise, I thought this was a clean, comfortable, reasonable hotel for the area and price.

Room Tip: Sofa bed is comfortable for 1 teenager, but probably not two. If you have two teenagers, you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Gent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Gent

Address: Akkerhage 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Gent 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find your gateway to Flanders with convenient transport connections close to the Holiday Inn Express Gent hotel.Just a couple of minutes from the convenient E17 motorway and 4km from medieval Gent city centre, make the contemporary Holiday Inn Express Gent your base for exploring the Flanders region. Major business centres such as Brussels and Brugge are within 35 minutes' drive of your welcoming Gent hotel.You can reach Holiday Inn Express Gent via regular rail services from Brussels Airport, which arrive into Gent St Pieters station, 3km from the hotel. We have an ample car park, which adds good value to your stay. Your spacious Guest room is the ideal environment for catching up on work with free WiFi. The hotel is close to popular sights in the city, notably the atmospheric charm of the medieval Old Town including St Bavo's Cathedral, with its mystical paintings. For the great outdoors, try Belgium's northern coastal resorts, within a 40-minute drive from us. Kids under 18 stay for free with their parents in one of our spacious Guest rooms.This Green Key eco-label certified hotel offers a free charging point for electrical vehicles, and a Tesla Supercharger station. Help yourself to a hot drink and the complimentary continental breakfast options at Holiday Inn Express Gent. Our helpful staff can advise you on which city-centre attractions to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Gent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Gent Hotel Ghent
Holiday Inn Ghent
Express Hotel Ghent
Ghent Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Gent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.