We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for rail and bus stations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koningin Elisabethlaan 3, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Norfolk, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Convenient for rail and bus stations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Comfortable hotel within 10 minutes walk from rail and bus stations. Receptionists spoke English, which was very helpful as Ghent is a Flemish speaking part of Belgium. Large-ish room with modern and functional fittings. Bathroom a fair size with bath/shower combo; unfortunately our toilet was affected by users in other rooms, so that we got a noisy 'back-flush' effect occasionally but nothing nastier! Lift to all floors. Double glazed windows could be opened and there was a heating/air conditioning unit too. Tea/coffee making facilities replenished daily (free), small fridge with drinks (payable), but surprisingly no room safe.

We were unlucky to share a floor with some young female weekend revellers who despite some attempt to reduce noise levels it was disturbing until about 2am. Unfortunately reception closes at 11pm so there does not appear to be anyone official available until 7am!

Breakfast, on the top floor with views to the city centre, was excellent (and it was included in the room price), buffet style, a huge varied choice that was frequently replenished, including breads, pastries, croissants, ham/cheese/jam, fruit and yogurts, coffees/teas/chocolate, and scrambled eggs and grilled bacon (continental streaky style).

Conveniently the tram stops for the city centre are outside the hotel front door and the hotel reception desk sells tickets. We bought the 10 journey ticket for €10, cheaper than individual tickets from the machines at the stop, and much cheaper than from the tram driver.

Ghent has a very attractive medieval centre, huge civic buildings although fewer in overall numbers compared with the quantity and range of buildings in Bruges, but nonetheless well worthy of visiting. There are also fewer canals/rivers in Ghent in comparison, but there are still numerous commercial boat trips available for tourists. I think Bruges and Ghent compliment each other very well considering that they are presumably competing for the same tourists. Ghent seemed also more laid back than Bruges, perhaps because of the huge numbers of tourists visitng the latter.

We stayed 3 nights however with hindsight I think that 2 might have been sufficient for a tourist to experience this city. We booked through hotels.com and travelled by rail through raileurope.co.uk.

Room Tip: Our room was at the rear, or the less appealingly termed 'back-side room' according to the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenV3, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your nice review of our hotel.
We value every opinion of our guest and take every suggestion at heart.

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and I hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Best regards,

Ellen Vanasten
Manager
BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    55
    26
    15
    2
See reviews for
11
36
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

- Room was nice size for Europe and clean.
- Street-facing rooms may have a lot of noise coming in.
- The tram stops right next to the hotel and the front desk sells tickets.
- Parking at the hotel is very limited. One needs to book ahead.We did but once we arrived we were told that it's cheaper to park on the street (the meters did not need to be fed till Mon morning).
- Breakfast was reasonable value.

Room Tip: Pick rooms facing side street
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenV3, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time for reviewing our hotel.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

I hope we can welcome you once again in our hotel.

Best regards,
E. Vanasten
BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottersum
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel is located near St. Pieter’s train station, but far enough away not to suffer from the noise of trains. It is on a fairly busy road with a tram stop opposite the hotel. In about 8 minutes, tramline 1 takes you directly into the city centre. The hotel is very well soundproofed. Entering the hotel you will find the desk and a small bar at the left. Desk and bar are opened till 23.00 hrs. After that time there is no staff till the following morning and you have to use the night entrance to enter the hotel. The 45 rooms can be reached by an elevator. The hotel has its own parking.
Staff is kind and helpful. Check inn/check out went very smoothly. Previously sent e-mail was answered within 24 hrs. and my request for a quiet room was honoured.
I occupied room 103, which was very attractive and spacious. It has a large boxspring bed with a rather good mattress. The pillows are soft, but you can take a second one. There is a large cupboard with a mini bar and coffee/tea facillities. The room has an air-conditioner, which I did not use, and a rather large LCD-TV with many channels in different languages. Against the wall there is a large mirror. Wifi is free. The large bathroom, separated by a door, has a washstand (with all kind of amenities), a toilet and a bath with shower. To use only the shower is somewhat risky because of the slippery floor in the bath. Room and bathroom were impeccably clean.
The warm/cold breakfast buffet is on the 6th. Floor. It is really very, very good: a great variety of bread and sweets, several kinds of yoghurt, jam, cheese, meat products, fresh fruit, etc. Coffee from the coffee machine is good. Our breakfast was included in the price of the room. You can have neither lunch nor dinner, but there are several restaurants with terraces in the neighbourhood. I paid 74 euro for a double room single use (prepaid non-refundable) which is very acceptable.
All in all, the hotel is very recommendable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenV3, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear sir,

Thank you very much for your nice review of our hotel.

We do appreciate every opinion of our guests!

Hope to welcome you again once more in our hotel.

Best regards,

E. Vanasten
General Management
BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

If you are covering Bruges while staying in Ghent, this hotel is ideally located being just a five minute walk from the Ghent Seint Pietre Station. Even otherwise, you get Tram No. 1 right in front of the Hotel which takes you to the Historic Centrum, the Castle, and most of the attractions in Ghent.
The hotel is very basic, nothing fancy. The rooms are cramped. The standard double occupancy hardly has space to move if you have opened both your suitcases. There is only one lift and breakfast is on the 6th Floor. You have to wait a long while for your turn, otherwise the stairs are very steep.
The buffet breakfast surprisingly is very good. It is a complete spread, and you can get your fuel for the day. Carry some fruits from the buffet for your afternoon snacking and you are good to go.
All in all, I would say the place is value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenV3, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear sir,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel.
We do appreciate every opinion of our guests.

I hope we can welcome you once again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Ellen Vanasten
Best Western Hotel Chamade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Travelers beware! I had a late night check-in which worked well. I was dead tired from my travels and just wanted to crash. However when I entered the non-smoking room it was clear that there had been someone in before smoking cigartettes. I also found that the room was barely cleaned. Finding hair everywhere in the bathtub hardly qualify as clean. Thanks God I could open the windows, but I was happy to check out in the morning and leave.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleehorpes
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

From apalling check in experience, double charging for accomodation, an awful room with no hot water, no working TV, and freeezing cold (outside temp was minus 6 inside it was minus two !
Breakfast was spartan, and stale bread does not make a continental breakfast.
Cannot recommend this place at all, next time I stay In Gent i'd rather sleep on St peters platform !

Room Tip: Anywhere away from the renovation works, ask for a room with a "working TV" apprantently t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenV3, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear sir,

First of all I would like to thank you that you've taken the time to review our hotel. We take every opinion of our guest very seriously.
I'm sorry that your stay with us was not what you expected.
In order to give you a correct answer I would like to know when exactely you stayed with us and what your name is. You can send an answer directly to the hotel via email info@chamade.be
I would like to inform you that we have installed brand new satellite television last week, this was probably during your stay. After a few hours we noticed that some tv's were not working properly, this was immediately taken care of the next day.
I'm so sorry if this caused you any inconvenience.
Our hotel only has digital flat screens and 2 satellite dishes on the roof of the hotel, with a variety of dutch, english, french and german speaking channels.

Best regards,

Ellen Vanasten
Manager Best Western Hotel Chamade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

During our recent visit to the Gent Six Day Race, we stayed in the Hotel Chamade for three nights. The hotel room was a good size and the equipment provided was of a good standard. The hotel provides free wi fi, which is always a bonus. You will need to request parking prior to arrival, which we didn't, however three days in the underground train station car park was only 30 Euros.

The main St Peters Railway station is just at the end of the street easily within a 5 minute walk. The tram stop right outside is a direct route in the the heart of Gent and is only 1.20 Euro for 1 hour. We incidently did not have our ticket checked once. The location to the track used for the six day was perfect within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenV3, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Mrs. Emma,

Thank you very much for your nice review of our hotel!

We really apreciate every guest's opinion.

Thank you again, and hope to welcome you again next year in our hotel for the Six Day Races!

Best regards,

Ellen Vanasten
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade

Address: Koningin Elisabethlaan 3, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our cosy family hotel is the ideal base for your visit to the friendliest city in Flanders: Ghent. The BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade is a 3-star hotel situated in a residential area of Ghent, right next to St Pieters Station and within walking distance of the historic centre of Ghent. Tram 1 will take you to the city centre or Flanders Expo in a flash.Both tourists and rushed businesspeople can take a relaxing break from their busy daily lives at our hotel. Check in at our spacious reception area, then enjoy a relaxing drink from our bar in the lounge.Our tasty and extensive breakfast buffet is served in our beautiful breakfast restaurant, from where you can also enjoy a magnificent view of Ghent. Our hotel has 45 bedrooms with spacious bathrooms with bath or shower, flat screen with satellite tv, telephone and minibar. There are also facilities for making coffee and tea. BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade is located at 500m from the ICC Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ghent
Best Western Chamade
Ghent Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Chamade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.