We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! - this hotel has set a great standard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof to your Saves list
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoogstraat 36, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“WOW! - this hotel has set a great standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

What a great hotel! from reception to the rooms to the restaurant. this hotel has set a new standard in Belgium. I did not expect a 4 star hotel to hit this kind of level of service and detail but it exceeded my expectations. The prices are more than reasonable, so be quick before the hotel realizes they charge not enough :).


The staff make this place very special, everyone is available, we had our coffee in the lounge after breakfast and we wanted to take the cups back to the restaurant but the friendly concierge already approached us to take them. Attention to detail is great and the hotel really is nicely located in Gent.

Room Tip: take the one category up from the standard, these rooms are worth the extra money! also take breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    251
    40
    13
    3
See reviews for
97
484
21
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
411 helpful votes 411 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is a very good hotel. And the certainly read the reviews on this site because I was told that the water in the minibar was free on three separate occasions and I was given the access code for the free WiFi as soon as I arrived (see the comments of others below)!

I loved the decor ... although it won't appeal to all tastes. The room was a good size, spotlessly clean and well-appointed. The bed was very comfortable.

The staff were a little more hit and miss. Those on reception were brilliant. Those in the bar proved to be very inattentive at times. And my other niggle is that if a hotel says that breakfast will start at 06:30 it should be ready at 06:30 and not still be being set up. I was particularly disappointed by the way one waiter off-handedly told me to wait when I enquired where the coffee was when I came down to breakfast at 06:30.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Great hotel: high class hotel, but you feel at home staying there.
Great service: the reception was nice. free wifi, free water from minibar. the service in restaurant and the bar was excellent.
Good location: a few minutes walking from the center. some people might complain about the walking distance, but it's not that far, really.

my room: Charme Rooms. With bath/shower. Laminate floor, 3rd floor, facing inner garden, with balcony. TV channel is good.

Improvement: I could hear footsteps from upstairs. I heard a lady with heels walking around, and a child running around. Noisy/not soundproof enough. my room has a laminate floor but we did not get any slippers. so it was not nice walking in the room. The bathroom in my room has no door, the toilet has a door though. If someone open the front door while i was in the shower, he/she could see me.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Recently refurbished and with new parts added, this is a stylish hotel with quality fixtures and fittings. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very clean and modern. The only possible criticism would be the slow service in the bar in the evenings, only one bar man covering the whole restaurant and bar area. We paid 300 Euros for two nights in a small room with no breakfast. Did include parking and a 30 Euro bar bill. If you want a nice coffee and croissant in the morning check out the cafe over the road on the corner of Hoogstraat and Oude Houtlei.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stayed here last night and enjoyed it so much.
On arriving at the hotel the check in and service was excellent; quick, professional, and the offer of free tickets and transport to an art exhibition.
The decor throughout the whole building is stunning. It is really modern but also relaxed and informal.
We had a deluxe room which had some great touches. Great bathroom, lovely robes, good size bed. My only slight gripe would be that it was quite small.
It was a short walk to the centre for dinner, and then we came back to the hotel for cocktails which were fabulous.
Breakfast was very good and was included in the price.
I very much recommend this hotel. We boked through hotels.com which i believe had a special offer. It really has exceeded my expectations!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford,
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

This is a hotel that is relatively new in Ghent. Some rooms are under construction, as well as the Wellness Centre. There is very little to fault here. As has been pointed out, the staff don't tell you that water is free in the minibar. There was a smell of gas in the Living Room, which more than one guest complained about. They then switched off the gas fire. The hotel certainly fills a need for a big central hotel with all facilities.
I cannot comment on the restaurant as I didn't use it. I will go back there.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

The Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof is amazing. We missed our turn off coming into Ghent and ended up down near the railway station. Walked to the hotel, and was greeted by Nicholas (sorry if I've spelt your name wrong) who gave us very precise instructions on how to get our car from where we had parked to the hotel, said if he wasn't so busy at reception he would have come with us, and I believe he would have. The room and the staff were excellent at this hotel and I would highly recommend anyone to stay here when in Ghent. We will definitely be back next time we're in Ghent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof

Address: Hoogstraat 36, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This magnificent 18th-century Ghent hotel offers stylish interiors and modern amenities. It is only 750 meters from the Belfry. The Reylof features a wellness center and a garden courtyard with terraces. In restaurant LOF they serve classic French dishes and oriental cuisine. And in the Champagne bar you can enjoy a delicious glass of champagne. Rooms at the Grand Hotel Sandton Reylof have high ceilings, large windows and a beautiful French-style interior with modern details. Each room has air conditioning, a minibar and a luxurious bathroom with a spacious rain shower for 2 people or a bathtub. In the suites the minibar is included. The wellness in a former coach house situated in the garden offers a wonderful setting for relaxation. You can have several soothing massages and other treatments. For hotel guests the use the of the sauna, steam bath, fitness and wellness pool are free, except for the treatments. There is a business corner with PC available. Also, there are 9 meeting rooms available with connections for all types of equipment, the equipment is present in the hotel. The hotel has a parking garage (€21/day) with a free charging-point for electric cars. There is also a public parking 'Ramen', just around the corner. Since April 2013, Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof has besides the BREEAM certificate also the Green Key award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.