We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal after a long day!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 'T Paradijs Van Wenemaar

'T Paradijs Van Wenemaar
3, Sint-Veerleplein, Ghent, Belgium
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #259 of 538 Restaurants in Ghent
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Near the castle in Ghent
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lovely meal after a long day!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Having tried four other restaurants before hand who quite blatantly did not understand customer service, we had a very enjoyable meal at the Paradijs. We had the steak in pepper corn sauce, the North Sea scampi (do not think you are getting UK style scampi, these are fresh prawns) and our daughter had pasta bolognese. Oh we must not forget the chicken wings to start, which were heavenly!

Do not be fooled by the other reviews, if we had read them we would not have ate here, and this would really have been a shame, this is a fantastic restaurant, with lovely staff and great food.

I can't comment on being charged for everything, but I thought the bill was reasonable.

Thank you

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    38
    14
    7
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good dishes in an enjoyable environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Had fried squid rings as a starter and steak pepper in the main course. I must say that both were great, with the steak being quite think and yet very tender (I went for medium-rare). The waiters are quite nice and speak English very well. Not very noisy as well, so it's nice if you'd like to sit and enjoy a conversation during your meal. We've spent 63€ for two, both of us having starters, the main course and drinks. Would probably return.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Had a local speciality - a beef stew in beer. It was delicious. Excellent value and helpful staff. Loved it!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“I won't be back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Went for lunch, the food took ages and not very good and definitely over priced.
I had mussels in white wine with fries, in Belgium it's their national dish.
I was very disappointed.
We didn't want to be rude and not leave a tip, so my wife went in to the restaurant to see if they could give us change of a 20 euro note, and she was told they didn't give change and too go to the shop on the corner. And guess what !!! We left.



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, MA
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dining and special staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We dined here on two occasions on a recent stay in Gent. It is in a wonderful location right in the center of Gent, across from the Castle of the Counts. We wanted to have traditional Belgian food, and we were very pleased with our decision. The mussels were in season and extremely tasty. The serving was so large that we decided to share, which was a good choice. For another meal we ordered the pork cheek stew made with dark beer, and it was delicious! We were served by Sharan, who was very helpful and thoughtful. We would return here on another visit to Gent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 'T Paradijs Van Wenemaar also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to 'T Paradijs Van Wenemaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 'T Paradijs Van Wenemaar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.