We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel on outskirts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Europa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Europa Hotel to your Saves list
Europa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gordunakaai 59, Ghent B9000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good hotel on outskirts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We spent one night at the Europahotel and it met all our requirements. The hotel is located about a 25 minute walk from the centre of Gent, a taxi back cost us about €12 which seemed quite expensive. We chose the hotel for the free parking and found it a good base for cycling on the canal. There is quite a lot of free parking but time your arrival right so other guests have checked out and left some spaces free! The hotel also offers underground parking for €10 a night.

The hotel was clean and comfortable and there was a good choice for breakfast, although watch out for cold eggs and bacon!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    39
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
10
35
5
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
maidstone
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We could not fault the hotel or the staff. They even offered undercover parking for my motorbike free of charge. Although the hotel is a bit out of town, we took a slow walk in which was around 30 minutes. A taxi costs just over 8 Euros and the bus is 2 Euros

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

This hotel is evidently aimed mainly at business users for corporate events. There is no seating in the reception area, just tables set out with coffee cups for all the delegates. The bistro is expensive, and is likely to attract only people on expense accounts. Car parking is free on site, but the site is invariably full of company cars. You can park for free on the street, with a token obtainable from reception, but this has to be renewed every 2 hours, which is hopeless if you want to leave your car while you go out for the day. There is also underground parking, but this costs 10 euros per 24 hours. Breakfast is OK for a 3* hotel, although the corporates will have helped themselves to all the hot food by 8:00 am, and you can’t guarantee that supplies will be replenished. Our room was quite large and functional, with a smart ensuite. The beds sagged and the mattresses clearly needed replacing. There’s no complimentary tea making facilities, but the reception staff willingly filled our thermos flask on several occasions during our 3 day stay. The free wifi is slow, but it gets there in the end. The actual location of the hotel is better than we had expected; it’s a pleasant 30 minutes walk along the river bank to the old town, or you can take the tram (number 4 or 24) from the bridge a few minutes walk from the hotel. You can also walk to the rail station in 10 minutes, where you can take the tram number 1, and also buy a very economical multi-ticket, good for 10 journeys on the tram and bus. If you are driving to the hotel, it’s quite easy to find from the N466, with the hotel being well sign posted. Altogether, this is a convenient place to stay if you are a tourist, but be prepared for its faults.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koksijde, Belgium
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Recently renovated hotel. Since located a bit outside de center there is normally sufficient parking place in the street for the ones coming by car.
The room and bathroom were clean, spacy and well equipped. The isolation however could be better. My son was complaining about the noise next door.
The reception was friendly. Only remark is that there is not a single chair or fauteuil in the lobby. So if you are waiting it will have to be standing.
The breakfast is buffet type with a good choice. We needed a table for four and this was clearly an annoying request for the waitress.
Overall a dull but affordable hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Quite far from the historic centre, just still connected well with bus and tram ways...
also accessible to city centre by 40 min walk...
Rooms were not so big, but ok..
no kettle or other facilities in room other than internet..
heating was not working.. even after we complained about it..
rooms were clean though..
and room service was great...
Breakfast buffet could have been a bit better..
overall, not a very good deal for the price paid...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Couldn't fault the rooms great size and very clean, en-suite facilities very good. but would benefit from tea/coffee facilities.
Most of the staff were approachable and friendly.
Breakfast very disappointing, they served meat and egg products in the same dish, should be kept separate to cater for vegetarians.
We used the underground car park at a cost of 10 euro for 24 hrs.
Historic town centre about 30/40 minutes walk, be careful not to get lost, follow the waterways.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europahotel_11, Front Office Manager at Europa Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Linda,

Thank you for staying with us, we are glad you enjoyed our rooms and en-suite facilities.
We are sorry to hear that our breakfastbuffet was not to your liking. Thank you for the suggestion of separating the eggs and the meat, this is something we will certainly take into consideration.

Regards,
Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

stopped here on our way back home to UK from Amsterdam. We arrived a bit early but were allocated a room straight away. The room was large with good wardrobe space, t.v. large bed (king size?). Bathroom was spacious with shower over the bath. Breakfast was included and was a buffet style with a good range of food. At first we thought we were a bit too far out of the old town but soon discovered that a pleasant 40 minute walk along the towpath got us there. We were told that there is a good bus service into town as well. Staff were very friendly and gave the impression that nothing was too much trouble. Plenty of parking space available but as we were on a motorbike a space was found in the underground car park. Food first rate but don't expect to get a cheap snack; in fact my only disappointment (that may be a bit too strong a word to use) was that we couldn't get a small snack in the bar. Overall a fine last day of the holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europahotel_11, Front Office Manager at Europa Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear John and Denise,

I would like to thank you for your review.

We are very happy that we were able to make the last day of your Holiday a pleasant one.

Regards,
Nadine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Europa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel

Address: Gordunakaai 59, Ghent B9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trendy family-run hotel quiet and yet centrally situated.Completely renovated, re-opened since the 5th of May 2011 At 800m from St. Pieters’ Station (main station)1,5 km from the city-centre. Public transport to the city centre at 400m from the hotel.Easy access to the motorways E17 and E40Close to Flanders Expo and the Congress centreThe hotel is overlooking the ‘Golden River’, the Leie and is located near the Watersportbaan and the Blaarmeersen and the Topsporthal.The hotel also offers you parking-facilities: there’s a private parking next to the hotel as well as an underground garage41 comfortable rooms, fully equipped with: private bath-rooms with bath or shower.Telephone for local communication and abroad, colour television withRemote control etc…24 hours’ service!Free Wifi in the lobby, bar and rooms.Bistro Gorduna offers lunch and dinner with a daily menu or “à la carte”. Bistro closed on Saturday afternoon and Sunday.4 Meeting rooms with a capacity of 5 to 280 persons, perfect for seminars, congresses, business lunches, conferences, banquets and other arrangements.In a word, our hotel offers you a cocktail of hospitality, comfort and modern facilities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Europa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Europa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.