We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel not to far from the city center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Gent Centrum Opera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Gent Centrum Opera to your Saves list
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nederkouter 24-26, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel not to far from the city center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

For business i always prefer to stay in a Ibis hotel. Their concept really suits me, good staff, nice and clean rooms, good beds and breakfast and always a decent working wifi. This hotel is near the center of Gent (korenmarkt) where you can find some good restaurants. As always for an Ibis: good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear guests,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at our hotel.
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Stephan Vanwingene

general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    260
    159
    32
    10
See reviews for
49
244
52
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Everything about this hotel was just fine except for the thin walls, which unfortunately kept me from sleeping. The location was great! The tram stops directly in front of the hotel so you can't beat that. If you don't want to take the tram it is not a far walk to the train station when you arrive in Gent. There were plenty of restaurants and bars close by and the attractions were not far. The hotel bar was actually quite nice with a good selection and good prices. I even had a chicken dish that was quite tasty. But, all of that is secondary to the fact that I heard everything going on during the night and could not sleep. Even with the window closed I heard the street conversations. The people in the next room sounded like they were sharing mine. It was really unfortunate because when you're moving from city to city it is important to get a good night sleep.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Gent Centrum Opera. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.
We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Stephan Vanwingene
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I really this hotel cause it is in downtown of Gent close to everything you can accuatly walk to the city and do shop and walk, the break fast is so yummy, the people are very polite and nice, the city is very cozy with many pubs and stores, I defily will come back there one day, also I recommend this hotel the price is very low!!!!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Marcos,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Gent Centrum Opera. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Stephan Vanwingene
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
289 helpful votes 289 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We’d planned a budget Easter break to Ghent and were expecting a cheap and cheerful Ibis, especially for 65 Euro with breakfast per night, but this particular one was surprisingly good.
With only hand luggage, the Ibis was an easy 20-25 minute walk from Ghent St Pieters station. We could have taken a tram, but the directions from the station looked so easy so why bother? It was also a 10-minute walk from the Old City of Ghent but away from the large concentration of bars and restaurants found in the main squares.
Reception/check-in was fast and the room key card gained access to the lifts to other floors. Noting other other reviewers mentioning street noise we did request prior to arrival a room at the back of the hotel. We actually stayed at the side of the hotel on the second floor, but luckily didn’t hear a thing.
The room was quite small but not certainly not uncomfortably so, and there was plenty of room on either side of the bed, and space enough by the window for a bench seat and desk. The bathroom was compact but we were both able to take showers without a problem.
I found the bed extremely comfortable, but the room in general was hot and we had to lie on top of the bed covers on all three nights.
Breakfast was surprisingly good, although we didn’t realise that the buffet had to be approached in a certain direction. We usually dip in and out of a breakfast buffet as and when we require an item of food, but here it seemed as if everyone collected everything at the same time regardless of whether they’d still be hot by the time they ate them.
We didn’t use the bar of the hotel as there were far too many interesting bars to discover in the city centre.
We loved Ghent. The city was full of interesting little corners and the Ghent Visitor Guide was invaluable source of ideas. Without this guide, we would never have visited the Beguinages, let alone heard of them!
I would give the Ibis four stars for the price, service, comfort and location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Testla,

Thank you very much for your kind remarks and compliments.

It's always a pleasure to get feedback from our guests and to read about the great experience you had in Gent while staying in our hotel.

I hope your "surprise' inspired you to discover more of our city or even other Ibis hotels all over Europe.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Stephan Vanwingene

Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I found the quality of the hotel to be quite good. The rooms are small, but clean. The hotel is a bit of a walk from the center (so that you know). I liked the service- the receptionist was very friendly and helped me a lot with early check-in. Definitely recommend for a stay at this charming city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Gent Centrum Opera. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Stephan Vanwingene

Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

1-walking distance to Graslei and shopping places
2-in front of tram-Easy to go everywhere
3-reception kind n nice-help me with Euro adapter,
call taxi,keep baggage after checkout
4-breakfast:€12-reasonable with danish pastry.croissant.toast.omellette.coffee.tea.juice.yoghurt.cereal.nuts.raisins.I am Muslim but still can eat things without meat.pork.liqour here.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Seremban,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Gent Centrum Opera. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Stephan Vanwingene

Hotelmanager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel for several times before, but this time when I booked, it said that there is another room style which is 30 euro more, so I took it, but it showed that there is only one room type at this hotel. Then the pillow is too high to my taste, and they have only one standard for pillows, so the reception helped me to arrange some towels to act as my new pillow, which was fine. The bed is just besides the room door, so you hear easily what is going on in the corridors. The breakfast is absolutely not worthy 14 Euro, simple selection, not recommended.

Room Tip: There is only one room standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephan V, General Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comments on your stay.

Our pillows are quiet recent and indeed rather high, we'll look into this and try to provide some thinner pillows.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Stephan Vanwingene
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Gent Centrum Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Gent Centrum Opera

Address: Nederkouter 24-26, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Gent Centrum Opera 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Gent Centrum Opera hotel is in the historic city centre of Ghent, within the immediate proximity of the historical monuments of the city (opera house, museum, abbey, chateau) and a few steps from the Exhibition Centre and Convention Centre. Book one of our 134 rooms (including 3 adapted for guests with limited mobility) and make use of the hotel amenities we offer, a meeting room, 24 hour bar, WiFi Internet access and undercover pay parking. The historical city of Bruges is only 50 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Gent Centrum Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera Hotel Ghent
Ibis Hotel Ghent
Accor Gent Centrum Opera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.