We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Gent Centrum Opera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Gent Centrum Opera to your Saves list
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nederkouter 24-26, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
cannock
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel was in an excellent location, with underground parking which cost 15 euros. The room was very small with a small bathroom.
The location was excellent with restaurants within a 2 minute walk and the centre of Gent was around a 5-10 minute walk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    292
    167
    34
    10
See reviews for
51
270
53
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We are regular users of Ibis as being great value for money. Travelled to ghent by car and easily found the hotel. It's car park underground is a bit tricky to manoeuvre but that's my fault for coming in the SUV and not the little car.
Room spacious more so as we got the disabled suite.
Decor a little old and jaded but the rooms are clean.
Free wifi always good with Ibis.
Breakfast buffet has everything you can want..
Big plus is the location, on the edge of the city centre therefore quiet but then only a 10 minute walk away from the cathedral area. With the tram stops outside the door the whole of Ghent is accessible as well as the rest of Belgium from the train station a five minute tram ride away.
Staff both friendly and helpful with hotel matters and tourist information.

Room Tip: Have a room on the rear for peace and quiet away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean hotel, good location, easy to find. We walked from train station (maybe 1,5 km /20min) but tram nr 1 stops right in front and there's nothing really interesting to see on the way.. Maybe small rooms but clean, comfortable and had all you need to stay over night. Breakfast was well worth it (fresh baguette & toast, ham & cheese, yoghurt & muesli, fruits and some vegetables).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury,Wilts
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. Had a smoking room which was very good as they are hard to find these days. Bedroom compact as was bathroom but everything worked. Bed was very comfortable, heating good. Loads of channels on the TV. Close to centre 5 to 10mins walk and close to canal. There is no tea making facilities which we knew so bought our own kettle. There is a night shop down the road so could get milk. A selection of restaurants very close to hotel. We were charged city tax of 15 euros which is never stated on any info that I could find but it was the same in Bruges when we went there.

Room Tip: Ask for a smoking room if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jurgen v, Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hello there Angela ,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Gent Centrum Opera. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

With kind regards
Jurgen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This hotel is fine as long as you do not want to spend any time in it! The decor is as tasteless as the breakfast and the service begrudging at best. We arrived at 23:45 and, on asking about food and a drink, we were told that we would have to go to a 24hr restaurant down the road for food but we could have a beer if we paid up front. When I finally reached my uninspiring room, I was surprised to find a big advert for the 24/7 food service that we had been refused.....this summed up my stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jurgen v, Manager at Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hey Richard

Thanks for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Gent Centrum Opera. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At ibis, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jurgen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here as a group of 15. It was a reasonable price, Excellent location, a couple of minutes from the centre and had a nice bar.
Breakfast was continental with a reasonable selection of items.
Rooms were basic but comfortable.
Would stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I've only stayed at this hotel for one night and I had a great night's rest in the very comfortable bed. The bathroom is actually more roomy than it looks at first sight.
Most importantly the room was nice and clean and even had a great working airconditioning installation.
Overall a fine hotel for a very decent price to stay in this wonderful Belgian city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Gent Centrum Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Gent Centrum Opera

Address: Nederkouter 24-26, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Gent Centrum Opera 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Gent Centrum Opera hotel is in the historic city centre of Ghent, within the immediate proximity of the historical monuments of the city (opera house, museum, abbey, chateau) and a few steps from the Exhibition Centre and Convention Centre. Book one of our 134 rooms (including 3 adapted for guests with limited mobility) and make use of the hotel amenities we offer, a meeting room, 24 hour bar, WiFi Internet access and undercover pay parking. The historical city of Bruges is only 50 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Gent Centrum Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera Hotel Ghent
Ibis Hotel Ghent
Accor Gent Centrum Opera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Gent Centrum Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.