We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Gent Belfort

Save Saved
You added NH Gent Belfort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Gent Belfort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoogpoort 63, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 37 hotels in Ghent
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I loved this hotel! The location is perfect; right in the centre of Gent, but also soundproofed. I was upgraded to an executive room, which was spacious, modern and clean. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the hotel had a nice feel to it. There are lots of nice restaurants and shops within a few steps of the hotel and the area feels safe for someone travelling alone. It took me a while to find my room (no 359), as there are lots of corridors that look the same and the signs aren't always clear, but my advice is that if you're in the executive area, go the opposite was out of the lift than the sign tells you! Seriously, you will get to your room much quicker!! The hotel was easy to find by car and the parking was secure. I didn't have breakfast as it seemed quite pricey at €21. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there again when I'm next in Gent.

Room Tip: I had an upgrade to an executive room (no 359), which was lovely and spacious, with good views from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    311
    74
    18
    10
See reviews for
85
321
29
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The hotel was everything that we would expect from a top notch hotel. It was clean, great location and staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Rooms were lovely and really had nothing to whinge or complain about. The price was a little high however this cannot be avoided considering the central location of the hotel.

We didn't use the facilities and we didn't eat there however the bar served some fantastic beers. Although so does most of Belgium.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The receptionist was very helpful when we checked in.

We booked a De Lux room as it was the last night of our holiday, and the room was very comfortable and large. Some of the De Lux rooms overlook an internal void, so they are protected from noises from the street outside (this is not the courtyard which has tables for the bar). We chose an external-facing room as we preferred to see something other than the room opposite when we looked out. There was some noise from the street late at night (mainly just raised voices as people left the centre) but not enough to be a major problem. It is worth considering these options before checking in.

There were plenty of spaces in the underground car park, but none in the street, so the hotel’s car park was very useful.

The centre of Ghent has a lot of one-way streets and a lot of streets have been converted to pedestrian zones. They seem to be changing this all the time so there is a good chance your sat nav will try to send you somewhere you shouldn’t drive, and finding the hotel requires careful route planning in advance. We tried to use the directions on the hotel web site but these had a turn missing so we ended up in completely the wrong part of Ghent. We used a combination of sat nav and maps to find the hotel from there.

The hotel advertises free wi fi but when I tried to access it I was asked to choose whether to charge to my room or provide credit card details. So, it is not free! I only wanted to check emails on my phone so I just didn’t bother (I found free wifi in a bar later). If I had been relying on internet access for anything more important this would have caused me an unexpected expense.

We didn’t use the bar or restaurant.

We would consider staying here next time we are in Ghent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Decided on a last minute trip to Ghent with my husband. We booked a cheap deal, which probably explains the fact that we got one of the old rooms. Not a big problem, because we were there to see the city and not the hotel. The room was quite ok, not very big but clean.
Breakfast was good and plenty of choice. Location superb, which was also why we booked this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The NH Gent Belfort is a well appointed modern hotel in the city centre and adjacent to the pedestrianised area, shops and other amenities. The rooms are quiet and spacious and have all that you need. Breakfast cannot be f quoted and caters for every taste. The staff are at all times helpful and attentive

Room Tip: Try to choose one of the special offer packages for great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here for two nights as bed and breakfast. The rooms are large and modern with 13 amp socket as well as European. Wifi was fine if you press the right buttons for the free access! They serve all types of breakfast, scrambled egg tomatoes and mushroom as well as cheeses and cold meats. It is opposite the Town Hall and wedding celebrations went on all night, but we slept through it. Gent is a lovely old town with plenty of shopping lanes, and of course the canals make a good way to visit the town

Room Tip: Rooms x01 have a sitting area round the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a stylish hotel, with decent sized rooms. Location is perfect, right in the centre, but quiet. There's both European and British sockets at the desk.
The only thing I wasn't very happy with was the wifi. Free wifi is restricted in speed and data traffic, so it was too slow, and I almost reached the limit in one night, just surfing the net (checking tripadvisor for good restaurants ;-) ) and listening to the radio. You only get free internet for the first 24 hours, so if you stays for several nights, expect to pay for it.
Also, slightly expensive, but probably worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Gent Belfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Gent Belfort

Address: Hoogpoort 63, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#6 Business Hotel in Ghent
#7 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Gent Belfort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your NH Gent Belfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Ghent
Nh Gent Belfort Ghent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Gent Belfort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.