We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Gent Belfort

Save Saved
You added NH Gent Belfort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Gent Belfort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoogpoort 63, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 37 hotels in Ghent
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend at the beginning of March. The hotel is ideally located for exploring Ghent and you can just pop back to your room in between site seeing/lunch etc for a rest. Tram stops for Ghent St Pieters train station are also very close by. We opted for breakfast at the hotel which I think you can pay 15euro for if not included in room rate. There was a very good selection of bread rolls, cheese, cold meats, fresh juices, smoothies, fruit, granola and a waffle maker! The bar at the hotel has a good selection of Belgium beers including those from local Ghent brewery. The room was very spacious and the bed one of the most comfy I have slept in! Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    285
    311
    74
    18
    10
See reviews for
85
321
29
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here in Feb for a weekend city break with my boyfriend. The location really is unbeatable and although the parking is expensive, it's very handy.
The hotel itself is well-appointed, although we didn't stay in one of the newer rooms, so the furnishings and bathroom definitely need updating. It was very quiet and barely any noise from other guests or the streets below.
The WiFi was a bit fiddly and slow, but at least it was free.
I didn't find the staff particularly friendly or helpful. One employee at the reception desk was somewhat rude, and checkout took forever since they didn't seem to know what they were doing with the system.
Breakfast was extensive, although we arrived half an hour before closing and already many items were out. I did ask for some things, and they were begrudgingly refreshed.
Stay here for: incredible location, easy parking and good breakfast
But not if you want: modern furnishings, good WiFi or exceptional service

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel is brilliantly located and has underground parking (important in a place like Gent). The rooms are clean, very comfortable and spacious. The breakfast is really impressive! The staff is friendly helpful and well informed about the goings-on in town. The location of the hotel puts it right in the middle of very good restaurants, bars and other meeting places, all within 5min walk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel has a perfect location in the historic centre of Ghent. Just a few steps further you can find the stores, the restaurants and places for having a drink, the cultural highlights. A very big advantage is the free parking space! Free wifi is also available.

I stayed in a standard room, absolutely big enough with all the comfort you need. These rooms, especially the bathroom, look a little bit old though, and definitely need a refreshment. The beds are also a little bit too soft.

Room Tip: If you would like to stay in a modern room, don't choose for the standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Hotel is nice with a perfect location in the middle of the historic centre. Everything is nearby. You can book good priced nights.

Only inconvinience are the beds, way too soft. Maybe up to renewal?

Breafast is 20€ per persoon, don't take it as one street further you have breakfast possibilities for nearly nothing (like Deli France).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Couldn't have asked for a better location, you are right in the middle of Gent and everything on your doorstep. Hotel was nicely decorated and had a nice bar area. We had a superior double room (I asked for a quiet room and it was) with the worlds biggest bed but unfortunately the shower was completely devoid of any water pressure so you ended up chasing the drips, which was quite disappointing. Coffee cups weren't replaced either when room cleaned and so we couldn't make a drink the following day. Small grumbles to be honest and it wouldn't stop me going back, I would just request a room with a better shower.

Room Tip: Ask for a decent shower!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

City centre located, parking space under the hotel, early check in was possible during my stay (12.00 o 'clock), late check out on Sunday (17.00!). I had a truly great stay at NH, very pleasant welcome, all taken care of speedily so that we immediately could start exploring the city. Room was recently updated, quiet (although located in heart of city centre) and comfortable. We got good advice on where to go for dinner. The breakfast was complete - even on the spot prepared waffles - next to fresh fruit and other delicacies. I will certaily return!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, as some rooms can be noisy (city centre location).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Gent Belfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Gent Belfort

Address: Hoogpoort 63, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#6 Business Hotel in Ghent
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#7 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Gent Belfort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your NH Gent Belfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Ghent
Nh Gent Belfort Ghent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Gent Belfort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.