We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Downstairs

Downstairs
Korenmarkt 6, Ghent, Belgium
+32 9 225 94 70
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #481 of 538 Restaurants in Ghent
Cuisines: Belgian, European, Steakhouse, Vegan
Restaurant details
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good food, good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

In contrast to previous reviews we had a very good dinner here on Friday 15 March 2013 with a group of 12 friends and were well-looked after by the proprietor who explained it was his first night of re-opening.

Most of us had the excellent beef stew which was ideal on a very cold night, followed by ice cream with whipped cream and lashings of hot chocolate sauce. Yummy! It is true that the Flemish language menu was a little unintelligible but we got by with ample bonhomie from both sides.

The price seemed very reasonable to us, but that was after several glasses of wine!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    7
    4
    1
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very bad restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I have been here with some friends while we were visiting Gand. Outside the restaurant they advertise lunch price of 13 euro and when you go to pay the price "magically" raises to 21 each. And don't even try to ask why, since the owner is very rude and he will address you with bad words and in an unpolight manner.
A place definitely to avoid.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Orrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The menu is only in flemish and the waiters can't help you. Not very cheap considering that with the same amount I eaten in one of the best place in Gent. To avoid

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kullavik, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Decent food, appalling service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The man who took orders and served obviously though that customers was a pain. We wanted to sit together and hence rearrange the tables (2-pers tables) - problem, we wanted to order - problem, we wanted to buy more - problem, we wanted another beer - problem, three of us where 10 minutes late - problem, we wanted to pay individually - impossible.
First and last time at that place

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great steak! Nice end to our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

On our last night, we wanted to get one more serving of Steak and Frites. Our hotel recommended Downstairs as having a very good steak. It was a great recommendation as the steak was definately the best we had. Located on the Korenmarkt among the restaurants with all the tables set out on the plaze, it is easy to overlook. There are tables in a small, somewhat vaulted, low-ceilinged room you enter by going down some stairs from street level. The waiter was quite engaging, with his deep voice and tall, somewhat surly stature. Presentation was beautiful.. Chips/Fries were wonderful (the Belgians have this down!). In addition, the shrimp pasta with tomato basil sauce was also excellent. The Gentse Stoverij, traditional Gent Beef & Beer Stew was good, but I like t'Vosken's thicker, heavier version better.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Downstairs also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Downstairs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Downstairs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.