We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks every box!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ecohostel Andromeda

Save Saved
You added Ecohostel Andromeda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ecohostel Andromeda
Bargiekaai 35, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty lodging in Ghent
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ticks every box!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed at the ecohostel for 3 nights. When you arrive you realise the beautiful location of this hostel on a boat and walking around they have all these notes showing how the whole place is environmentally friendly.
The only thing I could fault was that I had to leave!
The whole place was clean and well maintained, the whe concept behind the place is fantastic.
It was also great sitting out in fresh air in the afternoon with their two pets, Tiger the cat and the dog.
Can't wait to experience more hostels like this on my trip.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    12
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
11
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WLG, NZ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Loved everything about it.

Rooms were bigger than expected - we often forgot we were on a boat.

Best showers ever been in a hostel. Although push button operation was a little annoying, I liked the commitment to conserving water and it was made up for by great pressure and heat.

I liked the honesty box and recycled toilet water.

Total value for money. Would definitely stay here again. Would recommend to anyone.

Also the use-it maps we found here changed our lives.

Room Tip: Get double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I'm not entirely sure they are happy in their work. From the get go the simplest things were too much effort. Certainly didn't feel welcome in the slightest. The place is clean and tidy enough but the duvets are way to small for an adult. There's only 3 showers which lead to a wait in the mornings. I certainly wouldn't go again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andromeda595, Owner at Ecohostel Andromeda, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Hi Patrick, or Paddy if you prefer, well let's say it doesn't make us unhappy you never want to return again, since we threw you out of the hostel! By vomiting all over your bed, and over the person sleeping below you, you didn't only spoil our day, but also your friends bachelor weekend! No wonder you rate Amadeus well, you puked all of your diner in your bed... There's always two sides of a story! Call us moody or unfriendly, but you are a disrespectful you know what that we never wish to see again...

This said, your friends can come back any time, they were great guys!

Liselot - ecohostel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aartselaar, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

this hostel is a really chill-out place in Ghent. Located just outside the city center, the hostel is easily accessible by tram (take line 1) and can be found in a remote and quiet urban area. The hostel itself in on the canal, which not that common but you won't notice anything as there will be no boats passing by.
The host is a very nice lady with a very typical accent from Ghent. And just like every person in Flanders and Ghent, she will welcome you with open arms. If you know a bit of Dutch or you're Flemish, you'll recognize it. The customers were very international (going as far as New-Zealand), though that could be a coincidence.
The rooms are very spacious and very brightly decorated. The window blinds in the door to the hallway are very creatively done and will provide you with a quiet night. You won't have to worry about a noisy common room, as the common room/breakfast room is located "on deck". The showers are also very clean and hygienic, not to mention spacious. The number of rooms is limited. Large groups can sleep in bunk beds but for couples or people who want some privacy the number is limited. And of course, the bunk bed rooms provide an excellent opportunity to bond with people from all over the world.
Breakfast is quite unusual: don't expect to sit at a table and queue at a buffet with breakfast cereals and three types of bread and a glass of orange juice. The buffet is just a loaf of bread and some (bio) spreads (like honey, speculoos paste, chocolate spread, bio paté, ...). A true vegetarian breakfast, but that highlights the character of the hostel and is a real experience.

In short, the place was great: spacious and clean rooms, fantastic breakfast and a nice host. A perfect place to come solo or with some friends

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

So, when my friend and I were in Nice ( France ), we met some girls from Ghent, who said to come to Overpoorte Street, for a huge party. So we did. We had no idea we booked a boat! It was way cooler than I had thought, the people running the hostel were awesome too! It was very clean, and honestly, it was the most comfy mattress while I was in Europe, Hands down. Showers worked well, and the breakfast was pretty good. It had a mellow vibe.

Room Tip: I got the double at the end of the hall, it was so comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Welcoming environment, friendly hosts, and a ecofriendly environment. We enjoyed all the comforts of home; comfy bed and pillows, and waking up to the sunrise through the porthole! It was easy to hop on the tram down the block to get to all the tourist stuff without staying in the midst of it. Our wonderful host seven indulged us by steering us toward the local thrift store (fantastic!) and a local cafe, of the beaten path. We will recommend this place over and over again!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Highly recommend this place. I did not feel like I was in a hostel, it has very relaxed atmosphere. Toilets and Showers were clean. Plus its on a boat. Only negative is that it doesn't have cooking facilities but you can't have everything.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ecohostel Andromeda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecohostel Andromeda

Address: Bargiekaai 35, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty lodging in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know a hostel can make a big difference while travelling, so we try to offer you a place that reflects the spirit of Ghent: somehow different and headstrong, friendly, fun, but most of all relaxed! So hopefully you'll like Ghent as much as we do!!The hostel is located on a boat on a lazy canal just outside town, in walking distance of the historic centre. It's not everyday you can be a pirate, you might as well go for it! And don't forget that land was created to provide a place for boats to visit... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ecohostel Andromeda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecohostel Andromeda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.