We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent price, good honest food, not a tourist trap” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mystic

Le Mystic
50, Hoogpoort, Ghent, Belgium
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 537 Restaurants in Ghent
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Decent price, good honest food, not a tourist trap”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

Just ate here after searching for places nearby our hotel. Situated just behind the Novotel away from tourist traps, this simple intimate Italian restaurant with dining by candlelight offers steak €20, pasta & pizza €11-18, mussels & Osso Bucco. They specialise in wines too. Desserts approx €7. Great staff, very attentive & conscientious.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dewsbury. W. Yorks
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice food, nice staff, nice price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Found this place by accident and glad we did. The ambience was just right, the food very good, the staff very friendly and all this for a very reasonable price. I had the house tagliatelle - curry flavoured ! It was delicious as was my wife's spinach and ricotta cannelloni. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ichtegem, Belgium
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
402 helpful votes 402 helpful votes
“Nice italian restaurant with tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Nice italian restaurant. Tasty food. Had carpaccio (the best is still in Terra Promessa Bruges though) and my husband ate the bruschetta. It were different bruschettas, they were hot and like mini pizzas, with anchovies and mozarella. Pizza was ok and the penne maison with scampi and grey shrimps was very nice. Friendly staff. You can pay also with visa.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very busy place but very good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant, frequented by mainly locals, after a recommendation from a friend. We did not have a reservation (and it was Saturday night) but we were graciously seated. Our waiter spoke almost no English and the menu was only in French and Flemish, but we managed. The food was very good. The restaurant has mainly Italian fare, but local Ghent food can also be requested. Averages about €35-€40 per person, including a beer with dinner and coffee afterwards.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian food hidden away in Ghent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We must have walked around the old parts of Ghent - in 2C January temperatures! - for almost two hours trying to find something (anything!) that didn't look like it was trying to attract tourists. This one, instead, looked like it was an Italian trattoria trying to serve good Italian food . . . and it did!

Although the restaurant was all but full, the service was wonderful, and our two waiters worked hard to cope with our Australian/complete lack of their local language and a barely-passable knowledge of Italian (needless to say we used Italian). We ordered a mixture of on-menu (great choices with perfectly-cooked spaghetti and moules-based gnocchi to die for) and off-menu for our picky-eater daughter, and we believe we ate the best Italian food of our four weeks in Germany, Switzerland, the Netherlands and Belgium.

This is a beautiful little restaurant, and well worth seeking out if you're in Ghent for a few hours.The prices weren't the lowest we'd seen, but they certainly weren't ridiculous either. More than highly recommended by a well-travelled family.

[Not sure why this is categorised as "Belgian" food in TripAdvisor - they serve excellent Italian food.]

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mystic also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Le Mystic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mystic, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.