We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, poor timing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cathedral

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cathedral to your Saves list
Hotel Cathedral
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sint Jacobsnieuwstraat 87, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Somerset
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel, poor timing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I'm in full agreement with inloveandtravelling's review. A well located hotel, with everything we needed - garage parking a special benefit but as there are only 2 garages booking well in advance is likely to be essential.
What I didn't realise when I booked our 2 rooms in mid-March was that the Ghent Festival started the very night we stayed. This mean that the city centre was rammed with pop-up bars, sound stages with live bands, street performers and all-night revellers. And I mean all night!
We had not expected to get much sleep until the small hours, but people were still screaming and shouting in the streets at 6am. Closed windows and earplugs (despite the heatwave) did not help so it felt like we'd had zero sleep - however that wasn't the Hotel's fault. Air conditioning would have been useful though.... I would strongly advise anyone who doesn't want to be partying until dawn to give the city centre hotels a miss during the festival period.
Ghent itself was otherwise a fantastic experience, smaller and slightly less well preserved than Bruges, but still fascinating and definitely less ferociously expensive. We will undoubtedly return at a quieter time to appreciate the city better, and will happily stop at Hotel Cathedral again.

Room Tip: Check on any local festivals as most rooms face the street and can be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    32
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
8
38
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Postojna
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

All in all I think this hotel for being 'family' owned, could not be better, especially for this prices.

When we came to the hotel, we met the owner, who is a nice lady, very helpful and polite.

The rooms are much bigger then I expected, the bathroom is big as a room in some other hotels. We reserved a garage also which was perfect because you can go in the hotel directly from the garage and we just felt better with having our car off the street.

The rooms are very nice and clean. I personally love that the floors are wooden, I feel that is a kind of floor you can clean, you cannot properly clean a textile floor.

The stairs to the rooms are steep, but that is normal in Belgium also in homes where people live. That is their way of building stairs.

The hotel is next to the main street and very close to the centre, a few minute walk.

The dinning area where we had breakfast is very nice, tipical continental breakfast and even nice music.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Not a huge amount wrong with this hotel, but for me at least this a 3 or at a push 4 rated hotel.

Well located, helpful staff and a nice breakfast. Huge rooms, let down by some poorly fitted and maintained fixtures and fittings. Note that the stairs to the accommodation are very steep - not a problem for us, but not great for kids or people with a lot of luggage.

It's worth noting that the hotel is located on a fairly busy street and because of this you might want to bring earplugs.

Overall not too bad, but I'm sure you could find better hotels in Gent, in the same price range.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Very nice location and good service, but our room was average.
Very nice staff helped us make a reservation at an excellent restaurant. Further on she helped us finding the touristic centre and helped and advised us to find a parking spot as theirs was full and we forgot to make a reservation. The Cathedral is a 5 minutes walk, literally 300m away, which is ideal when walking to your hotel at night. Decent neighbourhood. The room itself was average and as there were stains in the carpet and some electricity cables loose coming out of the walls, this is a point where the hotel could improve. No Airco which was a little too warm in the summer. We had to close the window because of the traffic noise. Overall decent value for money and a great location plus good service, but do not expect too much of the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed in room number 1 and it was great! A very spacious room, silent, perfect bed, nice shower and really close to the city center. And we didn't pay much, we got a promotional price. Breakfast was awesome! Attention: no elevator.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

My other half booked the hotel for our two night stay so I hadn't seen any reviews, and was a little apprehensive when we first arrived. The decor is a little outdated but the room was spotlessly clean, with a great shower, and breakfast was just the continental style we needed before two meals out each day ! The manageress was very helpful and friendly, happy to provide us with any information we needed and book a taxi when we left.
The hotel is perfectly situated for the historic quarter and we spent a very happy two days wandering about with no need for taxis or trams at any point.
We would certainly stay here again on our next visit to Ghent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

A fairly short walk from Dampoort station and from the old town, this hotel is ideally situated. My room was quiet. I had requested a room at the back of the hotel and this was given. It does mean that there was nothing to see out of the window but I was happy with that. The room was clean and comfortable with a big shower room. Breakfast very good. The stairs up were steep and narrow but not that much of a problem. I would stay here again, certainly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cathedral

Address: Sint Jacobsnieuwstraat 87, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cathedral 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Cathedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cathedral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.