We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chalet de Maalte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chalet de Maalte to your Saves list
Chalet de Maalte
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kortrijksesteenweg 1021, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed in the hotel only one night, location is perfect and not so far from the city.
We had the room 7 (Library room), it has a nice atmosphere but the position of the bed isn't the best (just in front of the entrance door so you could hear the people from other room). Good ensuite even if a bit dusty (couple of spider nets with spiders).
The breakfast was quite good. Reception was really nice and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    9
    6
    4
See reviews for
8
13
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We reserved room number 16, english room with romantic view on the park.
Confortable and sufficient cleaned was perfect for our stormy night in Ghent.
Breackfast simply delicious.
Reception was also friendly and helpfull.
Strictly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randers, Denmark
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Room 16 - corner room. Lovely to wake to a view of the park, and the morning calls of chickens and sheep. Yep.

It's a bit Fawlty Towers - but only in a charming way. Yes it needs a lick of paint and some steam cleaning - but the basics are right, and the attitude is great. And "honesty" drinks bar sums it up.

If you want sterile and soulless - there are plenty of alternatives. If you want a memorable stay (for better or worse).. I liked this place. The breakfast chef makes a great omelette if you ask.

Room Tip: Park view room is lovely. Wifi only in reception - or a room above it. Room 16 had it i think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Ok, you are not in the citycnenter, but the hotel is 5 min walk to the main tramway (nr 1) with the best service of all. This will bring you in less than 15 min in the citycenter where you whant. You'll stay in a cottagestyle hotel with 16 very nice rooms, in a small quiet park. If nice wheter, you can enoy the terras. After a day citytrip, it's nice to finish in the cossy quiet place. The bar is free selfservice. the breakfast is very ok. And you don't have parkproblems and trafficjams. In order to ther centerhotels, this hotel is very good priced. ok, the service is not anomiem polished as in the chainhotels, but this gives also the authenticy. To check in or out, you'll have to find the owner. But what does it mather if tis is a charming man and you are at holiday?

Room Tip: the 'castel of Maaltje' is welknown and easy to find. To acces the chalet, you have to acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Quite frankly I wish I'd trusted my gut instinct and not even bothered to climb the stairs to the room. Here's my experience In no particular order: We had an interleading room - which meant 2 fairly stark rooms with a hideously colourful bathroom shared between the two. The TV looked ancient and reception was so bad that we didnt even bother with it until we realised that a hissing TV helped to drown out the noise. Only one bedside table for a double bed, my bedside light didn't even work, the wooden floors were so noisy that when other guests walked up the stairs it sounded as if they were wearing ski boots. I could even clearly hear my daughters iPod playing in the room next door and she was wearing earphones! The ringing reception phone woke me up. There was a bucket in the reception/lounge/bar area catching dripping water!
When we asked where we could get something to eat - we were directed either left if we were on foot or right if we were driving (perhaps it was the other way around) to a restaurant for dinner. Perhaps in our rush to get out we did'nt pay attention - but we found neither! However after a recce through the streets of Ghent we scored lucky as we happened upon a fabulous pasta restaurant that even served a prestigious South African white wine (The owner made 5 different pasta dishes of the day, each day. We chose three different one's from that evenings menu, which were all excellent. Unfortunately I've mislaid the note that i made of the details - pity because it was a highlight of our trip to Ghent and made up somewhat from the accomodation fiasco.

Good points - nice linen although not enough pillows, wi-fi which the booking said was only available in reception area, actually worked perfectly in our room, breakfast was good and ...that I'm afraid is about it! Quite frankly I felt uncomfortable and couldnt wait to leave!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A large room with a relaxing atmosphere, very well decorated with wooden furniture. Comfortable and clean. 4 large windows looking onto the park and a little stream passing just in front with the ducks swimming in it. If you leave the curtains open, in the morning you feel like waking up in a forest.

Our room (number 6) was not on the autoway side and we didn’t hear any noise coming from there. The tramway is just in front of the Chalet and with that tram you can go to Saint Pieters railway station in 10 minutes and to the city center in 20 minutes.

The breakfast room is as well decorated as the room itself. The breakfast is very rich and of good quality, there are many kinds of Belgian cheese, smoked salmon, croissants etc. The eggs are done according to your wish. There are also different kinds of tea available in the jars which you can smell and choose freely.

You can feel that the owner is passionate about cooking. He is a very kind man, as there was no one after us waiting for the room, he let us to check out in the afternoon.
I strongly recommend this hotel. It’s certainly a place that we’ll return to whenever we visit Ghent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here on the last night of a road trip to break our journey back to Calais. It's a slightly out of the way place, but still only ten minutes by tram to the centre of Ghent. Set in a large park, there are various playgrounds for kiddies and it's a nice relaxing walk around after an evening in the city. As for the chalet itself, don't expect any frills here. We had two rooms connected by a bathroom which suited us and our son and daughter. There is everything you need: plenty of towels, toiletries, a good shower (no hairdryer) and the beds are comfortable enough with nice linen, but everything is a little chipped around the edges and in need of repair here and there, so if you are fussy about detail, don't bother; there's no WOW factor to the rooms. We had a tiny little telly with no remote control, but we didn't mind that.

What was an unexpected surprise, was the breakfast. Beautifully prepared and laid out. The chap who runs the place even smokes the salmon himself! The bread rolls and croissants and pastries are all homemade and warm and he will do eggs anyhow you like them. He even brought us little pots of a concoction involving yoghurt, fruit and marscapone that he had whisked up which was divine. It's obvious that the guy really takes a pride in his food preparation. I could go on. (It's only breakfast, by the way - they don't have a restaurant, which is a shame.) During our trip we stayed at some pretty nice places, but some of them fell short on the breakfasts. If the early morning 'feed' is a priority, then I would suggest this place as a good start to the day if you are looking at Ghent and Brugge for a day or two. No luxuries, but a nice setting and a yummy meal.

Room Tip: Take a hairdryer if you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
#16 of 39 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 stars 410 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
2.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gent
2.0 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet de Maalte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet de Maalte

Address: Kortrijksesteenweg 1021, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet de Maalte 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chalet de Maalte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chalet de Maalte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.