We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good seafood, lovely location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belga Queen

Belga Queen
Graslei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
+32 9.280.01.00
Improve this listing
Ranked #199 of 562 Restaurants in Ghent
Price range: $59 - $149
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Doing business, Bar scene, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good seafood, lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I am surprised to see the mixed reviews for this restaurant since we had a very pleasant experience with good service on a busy August evening. The terrace setting in front of one of the oldest and most distinctive buildings on the Graslei is very elegant, with nice views of the river. We opted for the seafood à la carte and found it to be very fresh and nicely presented. The chef's suggestion of baby homard (lobster) was particularly delicious and not excessively expensive given the quality of the ingredients and the excellent location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    172
    97
    64
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Make a reservation, we didn't and wished we did. Had the best cocktails instead!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I was in heaven with the interior, grand, industrial, rustic and contemporary. Cocktails were delicious. Fantastic location. Next time, we'll make a booking in the restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stay Well Clear”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Though the restaurant has an excellent location overlooking the River Leie the service was absolutely dreadful. From when we arrived to when we left we felt as if we were third class guests. The waiter, who was allegedly looking after us that night, was so rude and obnoxious it was almost breath-taking. We were glad to leave there and with no hesitation will never go back. Avoid this place if you want decent service from the staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location and that is it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had a dinner in August. Terrace location is beautiful but the fish was over-salted and not to the level of the top restaurants.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good, but deep pockets needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Firstly the setting is really wonderful. Large outside seating area and seats over three levels inside make this a really special feeling place.

There appears to be a good seafood menu, but my colleague and I ended up having the 4 course fixed menu, which can be three if you dont want the foie gras.

A good selection of beers and wines, though somewhat pricy is offered, and the food was of a high quality, but unfortunately I didn't think of sufficient quality to merit the price you pay. For example, the foie gras extra on the fixed price effectively cost 11 Euros, and the amount of foie gras did not warrant that. The remainder of the food, sardines, halibut and tart for dessert, was equally good quality making it an enjoyable meal, though come the end I was pleased that this would not be coming out of my pocket: one of the cheaper bottles of wine, 2 menus and two beers coming to 140 Euros.

A nice place, with really really friendly service, but not quite sure I would pay the price out of my own pocket.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belga Queen also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Belga Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belga Queen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.