We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top of the bill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belga Queen

Belga Queen
Graslei 10, Ghent 9000, Belgium
+32 9.280.01.00
Improve this listing
Ranked #183 of 538 Restaurants in Ghent
Price range: $59 - $149
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Top of the bill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Best overall restaurant in Gent. We had a very balanced menu. The food was excellent. so was the wine and the view over the Graslei. The interior is trendy chic. Nr 1 for me in Gent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    152
    82
    59
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“sit and enjoy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

just go and see this old medieval house, relax weather permitting at the outside, watch people passing by, wonder the architecture, the food is not that great, but it still is nice and not that expensive,

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Memorable night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Our first visit to Ghent accidentally coincided with the opening of the Ghent Music Festival in September. So when we booked to go to the Belga Queen we were only promised seats at a high, communal table as it was to be a very busy night - the stage for the free opening of the festival was over the canal next to the restaurant. When we arrived we were taken upstairs to a table next to a window. Not quite with a view of the stage, but certainly looking out over what ended up being a crowd of many thousands - and the performance by an acrobat suspended from a large balloon. Spectacular. Our meal was first class, too. We took the set menu and enjoyed all the courses. Some sophisticated cooking. Interesting and well balanced flavours. This was a meal on a par with others we have had at serious restaurants at home, and at a price that made it very good value. The accompanying wine was perfectly adequate. Altogether a very impressive effort. Service was just as we needed as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“I am sorry but we just didn't get it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We visited in a group of 6 with mixed nationalities and age and on first impression it seems like a really cool place with rolling( or was it rocking?) chairs and candelabras everywhere. The staff are dressed in the most odd outfits of dresses for guys.We didn't really enjoy it here, we felt slightly unwelcome for some reason like we didn't fit in with the colour scheme in some way and this came across by the way they responded to us. They were efficient but icily cool and distant.The food seemed overpriced and was nothing to shout about. I would not return and would choose somewhere a little more genuine with less pomp!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Well, the feedback makes sense....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had a dinner as a group in this very atmospheric old house. The interior and the building are nice and will keep your eyes busy when waiting for receiving some service. The food which was served was of good quality and very tasty. However, the service is really not good and I would say the manager (at least he acted like it) was rather arrogant and rude. It is a busy place. Staff avoided eye contact and it was difficult to get their attention. Getting the menu was already a major challenge. There is a huge gap between service and food/atmosphere. It improved over our stay....and I think if you were served not by the manager you will enjoy your stay. What a shame!
Tip: Book a table on the first floor at the windows. This way you will interact not with the manager, enjoy the food, the atmosphere and Ghent!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belga Queen also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Belga Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belga Queen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.