We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camping Grimbergen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Flanders Province
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Grimbergen
Save
You added Camping Grimbergen to your Saves list
| Grimbergen, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Top notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Just back from our 4th stay at Camping Grimbergen. The comfort and quality of this site is well maintained. It is a tourist site -no residential vans or cabins. One of the few campsites we have ever visited that has central, good sized, marked pitches for tents with easy access to the very clean, modern toilet/shower facilities. Despite the exceptional 48 hour persistent rain and rather water logged ground, which I may add dried out quickly once the rain abated, we still think this is an excellent site and it is very well located for public transport into Brussels. A big bonus was on our return journey from Brussels the bus driver went out of his way to drop us off at the gate of the campsite - what a gentleman. We have always found Geert and his father to be very helpful and willing to answer any questions we have. They have a good plan of the campsite, maps of Grimbergen and Brussels and a bus timetable available to pick up in Reception. This is a very convenient campsite for a stop when travelling from or when returning to the boat at Ijmuiden and it is top of our list for that reason. We will certainly be returning.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
9
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Camping Grimbergen is a great place to stay. The German owner was very... how should i put this... "clear" about all of the directions and expectations of the guest, but that is a good thing (and a very German thing, as well). It was easy to access from the bus out of Brussels Airport. We brought our own little tent to stay in, and because most of the people there were staying in RVs, we had a ton of room for ourselves. There is wifi, which was wonderful. The bathrooms were ALWAYS sparkling clean. There is a small area with tables next to the reception building, where me and my one friend drank a bottle of wine and were probably quite loud (especially when we were joined by 6-7 bikers with a case of beer) but no one complained and the German owner didn't speak of it the next day, so everything went smoothly!

The little town is very cute and has all the amenities. There's a bus stop 2 minutes-walk away from the entrance to the campsite, very convenient!

For the record, my friend and I took a day trip (about 25 mins bus ride) to the center of Brussels... and we were not thrilled. So Camping Grimbergen is a great alternative for families who do not want to pay top dollar to stay in a not-so-great, bustling city.

Room Tip: If it is raining, put your tent right against the wall of trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The plots were excellent. The Showers were also very good. However the site was run by two men. The older of the men told me I was being unbelievable when I asked if there was a shop on the campsite. I then saw him swearing at a man with a camper van. He then turned to to wag his finger at me telling me I was lucky to be allowed in the site. I found this preposterous as aside from my question to him the day before I had not interacted with him. He seems to not enjoy running his campsite and wonder if he should stop. Worst service ever

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This summer, my fiance and I travelled around Continental Europe in a Spaceship camper. We stayed at 32 different campgrounds.

Camping Grimbergen is a small and simple campground, with well sized pitches that are clearly marked out. There is not much more to it than the sanitary block, the office and pitching areas. The bathroom block was modern and very clean - it did however get very hot in the shower cubicle after a shower, and there didn't seem a way to open the skylight any further, not too big a deal, but did kind of beat the purpose of the shower :o)

Free wifi is offered, but we couldn't get any coverage outside of the office.

This campground is a short drive away from Brussels - our main reason for staying here.

It cost us €18 for two adults and campervan pitch (with no electricity), for one night which was reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This turned out to be an unexpected stop for us on a journey through Europe.
It is a perfect campsite for an overnight or short stay with a caravan or motorhome.
The owner speaks perfect English and is very helpful.
The facilities are clean.
The is the brewery and beer museum close by.
We had intended to stop here again on the journey home but our plans changed.

Room Tip: arrive early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmore
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This campsite has the cleanest facilities of any campsite I have been too. Plenty toilets and showers which are well attended. We were camping in a tent and the tent field was very spacious with our pick of plots. The man at reception was helpful and even put our clothes through the washing machine for us! There is a busstop close by that takes you into Brussels. Would return to this campsite, but would not bother going back into the city. The reception is shut around lunch - so avoid these times if you want to check in. We arrived then but we just sat outside and had our picnic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Very welcoming, good english spoken. Tent pitch was spacious, although in the middle of the campsite, was well defined and sectioned by hedges. Toilets and showers very clean and spacious. Equal preference for tents and tourers. Bus to Brussels, 2 minute walk. Short walk to local supermarket, excellent meal in Chinese restaurant 10 minute walk from campsite. Easy access to main motorway. Nice walks around the area. Well recommended as an excellent site to visit Brussels or stop over to the ferry to UK

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camping Grimbergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Grimbergen

Address: | Grimbergen, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 78 Specialty Lodging in East Flanders Province
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Camping Grimbergen Belgium/Flanders - East Flanders

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camping Grimbergen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.