We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Appart City Arlon Porte du Luxembourg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Appart City Arlon Porte du Luxembourg to your Saves list
Appart City Arlon Porte du Luxembourg
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   17, rue Zenobe Gramme, Arlon 6700, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Arrived at the hotel late at night and had a bit of trouble searching for the place. It was dark and after took us quite long trying to enter the building and locating our rooms because there was nobody at the reception. Upon entering the apartment, we found out that there was only bed space for 5 (2 single beds, 1 double bed & 1 single sofa bed) in the whole apartment although I clearly booked for 6. There was nobody at the reception to sort it out so we had to settle for that although we clearly felt cheated.

In the double bedroom, there was completely no electricity at all and we had to fumble around the room in darkness. It was reasonably clean but clearly, there needs to be maintenance. Internet was available in the lobby and they kindly allowed us to store our luggage after check-out. Situated right next to Aldi supermarket so it was convenient to get food.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
4
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Don't stay here unless you really don't have any other option.
Why I should avoid this hotel, even more so for longer stays:
- the blankets are dirty and have stains
- they don't clean the room, not even once a week, not even once in two weeks !
- if you look behind the furniture, there is a lot of dust
- I asked them to change a light bulb, no one came. I had to change it myself two days later.
- if you arrive on Sunday, or in the evening, the is no one at the reception. You have to phone the callcenter and receive a code to get in.
- there is only one washing machine for >100 rooms

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Arlon hotels

Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We choose this location for just one overnight stay after visiting the city of Luxembourg, because the prices of hotels in Luxembourg were high so I wanted to avoid a second night there. We also wanted an appartment with a kitchenette.
The location is OK, there is an Aldi supermarket just nearby and I heard that there is another smaller shop there too. There is a large parking.
The staff is friendly, and the company makes sure you receive the codes to enter the property in case you arrived beyond business hours. This hotel is adapted for longer stays, so there is a self-service laundry there - very useful for people on holidays who move from one place to another, too. The token for washing machine cost 4 EUR. There was also a working tumble dryer - normally it should work with a token too but this mechanism was broken so it worked for free. The reception also has "tablets" (single-use portions) of washing powder, sold at 1 EUR.
The building and common areas look OK. However, the appartment itself looks a bit, how to say, as if it needed refreshment and better maintenance. We had an appartment in the end of corridor and the light in the corridor did not work. The receptionist surprised me by saying they were aware of it but it would last a long time before it is fixed. In normal hotels things like bulb/light not working are fixed immediately. When we discovered that also one lamp in the room did not work, we did not even care to report it (anyway the reception was already closed). The appartment was rather small (but still OK for a short stay). The fridge was mounted in such a way that it was not possible to use the small freezer inside, because the fridge door made it impossible to open the freezer door. It would have been enough to mount the fridge door the opposite way but probably no one tested it, The cupboard with cups etc. was quite high, and there is no small ladder or anything like that - so, short people, be aware of it. There were no normal-sized cups or glasses - but OK the smaller cups can be used too. There should have been cable Internet in the room, but unfortunately the socket was damaged - there was just a hole in the wall where the socket was supposed to be. There is WiFi coverage in the lobby though.
It was a warm day of about 25 centigrades and the room was rather hot in the late afternoon. It does not seem there was an air-condition, so it may be an issue during summer.
For those planning longer stays, it is important to know there is a small dishwasher, a rack for drying laundry, a brush with dustpan.
To sum up, it could be a great place to stay if only the management cared more for the maintenance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The check-in process was smooth and easy and the hotel provided automatically the door code and codes for the room key safe so that the check in was fast even though automated.
The room however was on the lowest floor and the beds were very small and they were just basically two open sofas or field beds, which would in normal hotel's be some sort of extra bed for children. The breakfast we did not try.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We booked this for our son and his friends, so these are the views of a group of four 22 year old men.

It was easy to get the keys and the guy on reception was OK. It had a bike shed which was handy but left unlocked. The room was efficiently arranged with all you needed, but the desk and other furniture got in the way when moving the beds around. Basic but reasonable accommodation for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed here while visiting Luxembourg for a day. It's about a 30 minute drive into Luxembourg city. I can't speak for Arlon itself as we never actually looked round. The hotel is right next door to an Aldi supermarket though.

Our trip coincided with a holiday across most of europe (we should have done research first). Because of this there were NO STAFF AT THE HOTEL. At all. They sent me a text message the day before listing a bunch of 'access codes' that we had to figure out what to do with. We were given a code to access a safe at the reception that would have the keys for the 2 rooms we booked in it. Once you're in that safe you can take anybody's key you want! It was probably for that reason that one of our keys was missing so we only had one room.
There was no phone number left if you needed help. We had to search the lobby to find a number. Long story short, after a lot of calls trying to sort things out throughout the day, they eventually told me to take one of the other keys from the safe.

As for the room itself, it was advertised on Hotels.com as having "1 double bed and 2 single beds". This is not the case at all. There is one sofa posing as a bed and one camp bed that pulls out from under the sofa. I would say there were no actual beds in the room. Needless to say they were not comfortable either.

There's wired internet in the rooms (not wireless) but it was too patchy to use.

I sent a complain to them when I got home and never heard anything back at all.

This hotel does not care about their guests (they're not even there). Even though it was a holiday you expect hotels to be staffed. We went to the Best Western round the corner when looking for somewhere to eat and that hotel was fully staffed while ours was empty.

Not one to recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

The reception staff was dishonest, impatient and rude. We had paid for a large apartment which can accommodate 4 adults and 2 juniors on 08 and 09 May 2012. When we checked in on 08 May 2012, we were given 2 small apartments; i.e. one with a soft bed apartment and the other with 1 sofa bed + 1 single bed apartment. Once the soft beds unfolded, we can’t even walk to the kitchen area for a cup of hot drink. When we voiced out our dissatisfaction of the allocated apartments to the reception staff, he then explained to us that the large apartment was taken by an earlier group due to double booking (very dishonest!!!). When we requested for the compensation for the different provided, the promised to provide us with free continental breakfast. However, when we asked further about the cover sheets of the sofa beds, he was impatiently and rudely showed it to us. When we told him that his services were unprofessional, he refused to provide us the free continental breakfast as promised earlier. Again, when we said that we were going to make a complaint about his nasty attitude, he didn’t even blink and said that this is just a job to him. Hence, if you wish to have a pleasant stay and joyful memory in Belgium, we would like to advise you to avoid this apartment at all costs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Appart City Arlon Porte du Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Appart City Arlon Porte du Luxembourg

Address: 17, rue Zenobe Gramme, Arlon 6700, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > Arlon
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Arlon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Appart City Arlon Porte du Luxembourg 2*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Appart City Arlon Porte du Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appart City Arlon Porte du Luxembourg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.