We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small city centre hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hors Chateau

Hotel Hors Chateau
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hors Chateau to your Saves list
Hotel Hors Chateau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Hors Chateau, 62, Liege 4000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Liege
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent small city centre hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay, clean and tidy. Rooms quite small but great decor. Make sure to book the Tapas bar downstairs in advance as it is very popular, we had to go elsewhere as it was full. Surrounding eateries a bit drab.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
14
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

An excellent boutique hotel nestled in the centre of Liege. The evening meal was exceptional with a wide range of tastes, great wines and friendly staff....we will definitely visit again....
The food ranged from sushi to lobster bisque to white asparagus to squid to veal to chocolate mousse to cheese

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stopped in Liege heading north back home from travelling in France and booked this hotel just before arriving in Liege.
We had the suite of the hotel which was the only one taking three people. We had to climb a very steep staircas to reach the double bed. The room was quite trendy I suppose (i. e. a bit empty and not that cosy) and you could see some things were falling a part here and there in the room though everything looked modern. (Not very well looked after I suppose) The owners helped us park the car since previous guests had taken the key to the hotel carpark with them. This gave us a delay leaving, since we had trouble getting out of the garage they’d parked us in….. Despite this incident we found the stay OK for one night and it was easy to find a decent restaurant a short walk from the hotel. We were really just passing Liege. I wouldn’t stay there for say a week-end visiting Liege.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

this hotel has probably the best location of any hotel in Liege. However, stairs to the rooms are very very steep. We had to pay for our room upon arrival, which was a bit odd. Nice Spanish restaurant on the ground floor. Rooms are fairly basic but everything, including powershower worked.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

Rooms far too small, staff extremely unfriendly, interior pseudo-modern, but bad quality. Rooms all in all the standard of a low-budget hotel or a youth hostel, but prizes way over the top for what they offer. No reception at night, not even a telephone number to dial in cases of emergency. If the hotel had not been booked in advance by Belgian colleagues I would have left immediately!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
298 reviews 298 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2007

We stayed there with two other couples - we got the largest of the rooms - others complained that they couldn't actually walk around the bed without banging the wall or stubbing a toe! Certainly the rooms look bigger on the website!

The stairs are extremely steep to get up to the rooms, so not really suitable for the less able or those with prams or small children.

Very occasional odours from downstairs but don't recall there being any problems with noise.......as the previous review said, there is no air-con......which was REALLY a problem for us - none of the three couples got much sleep due to the heat!

Stayed June 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2005


This is a 18th Century building recently converted to a 9 bedroom hotel. The appearance internally is very minimalist - exposed brickwork and beams and the rooms are chic. The hotel is situated above a Spanish Restaurant called Ole Ole (e acute) which does passable tapas and is dominated by large screen TV and local Spanish residents watching football. They're a very friendly crowd in there (although I was accidentally very rude to someone in French having been misinformed as to exactly how vulgar "---------" was - generously they didn't attack me ;)).

The hotel is not air conditioned but as yet this hasn't been a problem for me (very thick walls). It provides free fast WiFi (though you need to ask for the WEP password). I can't comment on the breakfast as I never have breakfast. The room amenities are adequate although the toiletries are sachet. I always take my own toiletries when travelling so not a problem. There is generally a bottle of water in the room and sometimes chocolates. The bed is very comfortable BUT in typical continental style if you book a single that is what you get. This always freaks me as I didn't even sleep in a single bed when living at home but...

The owners are truly charming - a young couple trying to make a go of a business venture. I'd stay here on the principle that you're actually helping to make a success of humans rather than corporations. When I've been going out to eat before and it was raining the owner has insisted on personally driving me over to my favourite restaurant (La Maison Blanche). The hotel is well situated for a number of good restaurants and is directly opposite the beautiful "Hors Chateau" - hence the name. It is a 10-15 minute walk to Cathedral Place and to put it into context based on other hotels the closest hotel is the Bedford.

Don't go there expecting 5 star quality - it is a 3 star on the site but is has become my favourite resting place in Liege based on the experience rather than cost.

Oh by the way - the website is in French but the owner speaks passable English as opposed to my execrable French. I normally book by email. Feel free to ask further questions on the forum.

  • Stayed February 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hors Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hors Chateau

Address: Rue Hors Chateau, 62, Liege 4000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Liege
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Liege
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hors Chateau 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Hors Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hors Chateau Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hors Chateau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.