We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One overshadowing flaw” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera to your Saves list
Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Place de la Republique Francaise, Liege 4000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Liege
Asia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“One overshadowing flaw”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

This is not really a 1 star hotel, but rather a perfectly acceptable 3 star. Room was clean ( albeit slightly tired), good sized, and although the hallway smelled a bit, we were happy with the standard considering what we paid. Location is probably the best in Liege, and our room had a great city view. However, there's a complete lack of ventilation, and given the beautiful weather when we visited, the temperature in the room was unbearable, and sleep became pretty much impossible. The room did have a portable fan, but all this did was to circulate the warm air. This would be an ok hotel during winter, but in summer, it's a no go!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    143
    115
    41
    20
See reviews for
29
153
50
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nieuw-Vennep, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Very centrally located; a parking garaga in the centre of the town with a reduced rate of 10 Euro per 24 hrs. Very friendly staff, so what would you like more ? The room is as you would expect froem Ibis, not very spacious but adequate for the night, and very quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisLiege, Directeur général at Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear mister Boele,

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day.
We hope to be able to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
Kris De Man
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Despite arriving late at night with out reservation, the reception Staff quickly completed our check in requirements. The Ibis does not have a restaurant, but we were told "several Restaurants with in short walking distance." Room cost does not include breakfast. Parking, below hotel, another cost.. Bed room clean , beds comfortable. The Ibis proved to be quite adequate for our one night. Whilst centrally located, our Tom Tom experienced direction difficulties, eventually word of mouth succeeded..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisLiege, Directeur général at Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear madame, dear sir,

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the ibis Liège Centre Opéra and look forward to welcoming you again !

Best regards,
Kris De Man
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

After staying in Ibis hotels in Ghent and Brussels, it was nice to have a decent sized room and larger bathroom. Things started poorly because we parked in the nearby city parking lot, near an Ibis sign, found an elevator which took us into a shopping mall, could not find the hotel and had to drag our bags up the outside steps to the hotel. If only there had been an arrow by the sign, we would have found the place where we could access the hotel. We had a great view from our back room, but we had to shut it at bedtime because of the noise and were hot all night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisLiege, Directeur général at Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear madam,

May I offer my sincere thanks for your good review of Ibis Liège Centre Opéra?
Also thanks for pointing out the difficulty of finding our private entry in the parking. As the parking is a public parking, we are limited with signalisation, but I will review the possibilties in order to improve this.

Best regards,
Kris De Man
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Ibis opera is good value for the money if you think it is ok to stay in a room without being able to open the windows. In general very poor ventilation. No tea or coffee in the room. Shower with fluctuating temperature. Good breakfast and nice beds. But the best part is the very good location. Close to everything.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisLiege, Directeur général at Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear madam,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor and mentioning our ideal location in the main city center. Please don't hestitate, during your next stay, to ask a room on the backside of the hotel, where windows can open. For security reasons this is not possible at the front side.
Hoping to have the pleasure to welcoming you again!

Best regards,
Kris De Man
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I choose this hotel because of the location in the center of the city. Everything was OK except the value for money. I think the price is expensive for a room without a breakfast. Maybe if the price include the breakfast it would be more fair.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisLiege, Directeur général at Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear,

We wouldlike to thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Liège. We are most concerned with the satisfaction of our guests and your feedback is of great value to us.
We thank you for the positive comments and in response to our rate, you will see that we are almost always the best priced city center hotel in Liège. Please note that the earlier you book, the better the rate will be!
Thanks again for your review and we hope to welcome you again next time.

Best regards,
Kris De Man
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera

Address: 41 Place de la Republique Francaise, Liege 4000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Liege
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Liege
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Liège Centre Opera hotel is located in the city centre, near the Opera House, in the Opéra shopping centre. Liège is the 3rd largest city in Belgium with its picturesque streets, the PRINCE EVEQUES castle and the longest Sunday market in Europe on the banks of the Meuse. Ideal for weekend stays, the hotel has 78 rooms, a bar open 24/24 and free Wifi wireless Internet access for guests on a business trip. Restaurants and public pay parking close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and ACCOR so you can book your Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Liege Centre Opera
Accor Liege Centre Opera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.