We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera to your Saves list
Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Place de la Republique Francaise, Liege 4000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Liege
Lucca, Italy
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“a bit tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The location of tis hotel is excellent right next to the Opera House. It also has an underground car park and they allow pets.
This is an old hotel and the rooms feel that some updating is necessary. Staff are friendly and the internet is free.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisLiege, Directeur général at Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Liege Centrum Opera. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback about the staff.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Cédric CHRISTOPHE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    143
    115
    41
    20
See reviews for
29
153
50
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel is located in the heart of Liege (see below for caveats about getting to the heart of Liege). The price is right (ranging from 79-89 Euros during our stay) for a hotel of its quality in a central location in a small city. The day's rate for a room is conveniently listed on an electronic board outside the hotel.

The staff was remarkably helpful, a real credit to the hotel. Two of the three reception desk personnel I spoke to regularly were fluent in English, so communication for English speakers is very easy here.

The rooms are narrow, and modernly and tastefully appointed in places, but oddly retro-looking in others. There is not a lot of storage space for clothes. Lighting in the room is quite nice, but harsh in the bathroom. The bathroom fixtures could only be turned on from a switch outside the bathroom, which causes a lot of disorienting fluorescent flashing in the room when you turn it on in the middle of the night .

Rooms are clean and well maintained overall. The floor of the tub in our bathroom had weird brown scratches on it, but everything else was in good shape.

A weird but gentle noise, which I can only describe as a "glugging" of air and water occasionally emanated from some wall in the room, and you could hear some noises from the hallway and rooms nearby, so the sonic experience was not perfect. Also, Liege is a college town and clearly a kind of Madrid of Wallonia because every night at around 3 we were awakened by drunken revelers shouting in the square below us.

There is free, but slow WiFi in the rooms. We had a hard time finding the link to it on the page that popped up when we logged on the network.

The hallways make the place look like a youth hostel, but unless you are living in the hallway this should not be a problem I suppose.

One thing probably to avoid in this hotel is the incredibly expensive (and expansive) breakfast buffet. At 14 Euros a person, it is only worth it if you are really, really too tired to go to one of the many restaurants and cafes outside the hotel. That said, the buffet is better than your average 3 star hotel buffet and, presumably because it is so pricey, more or less empty except for the very helpful attendant, so you will feel like it is your own private buffet.

Surprisingly, the center of Liege is remarkably difficult to get to by train. There is a train station only a few minutes walk from this hotel near both the palace complex of the prince-bishops that once ruled Liege and the center's main shopping and dining areas. The problem is that getting to this train station from Brussels requires a transfer from the main station of Liege (Guillemins), which itself does not connect directly to the airport in Brussels. We had to transfer in Leuven on the way out and Brussels Nord station on the way back.

A note on language: Liege is a French-speaking city. If you are an English speaker you will encounter plenty of people who know English, but it would be worth it to brush up a little on your French before you go. The Dutch name for Liege is Luik. Why do I say that? It helps to know it to find the right train on the electronic boards in Leuven.

If you are exploring Liege or have business at the university, this hotel is a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I think this hotel has had some pretty cruel reviews so I am here to share my experience. It wasn't great - but then again, it's an Ibis. Get real. You don't book an Ibis and expect a 5 star experience - so for what it was worth, it's pretty okay.

The room was comfortable enough, though noise was a problem. There was one night when there were two idiotic stupid French idiots (clearly drunk) who were talking and laughing at the top of their voices and I could hear them from my room. Such are the perils of an Ibis - luckily I travelled with ear plugs and was able to block out their idiotic chatter and laughter. But otherwise, the room was a decent size, clean and I can't complain. Having free wifi and a computer in the lobby to access the internet was great as well.

I found the staff very helpful and polite. The breakfast was decent - though there was a slightly deranged old woman there every morning (clearly a guest) who was driving the staff mad by doing random things (like making a HUGE pile of sandwiches) and they didn't quite know what to do with her and I thought they handled a very difficult situation very well.

The location is very good - there is a train station 5 minutes walk away: Liege Palais, so please don't try to walk from Liege Guillemins station or even take a bus from there. Simply get a connecting train from to Liege Palais station (there are a few every hour) and walk from Palais station down the hill. It was great to be in the middle of town for the shopping - having said that, Liege is a pretty boring city when it comes to sight seeing. But hey, that's another story - I'm just here to review the hotel for now.

Oh - and so many people complained about the renovation in front of the building. Pullease. It's really no big deal. So there was a bit of renovation in front of the building - so what? Are you going to stand in front of the hotel and stare at the renovation? Duh. I merely walked past it and into the hotel, I was quite happy to ignore it. It's NOT a building site and whilst it's not pretty, I really don't see why this should be an issue at all and those who complain about it are just being petty, really.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zabrze, Poland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

My stay has not been long, so perhaps it doesn't proove much. In any case, the only downside of the hotel I can think of is its distance from international means transport in the city (less important in case of motorway, but definitely key when one think of the Liege-Guillemins train station). The building has been undergoing a refurbishment (at least on the outside) during my stay, but this should only improve the looks of the hotel - though these weren't that bad in the first place.

I was also slightly puzzled to see they have not switched to electronic keys, but this didn't bother me in the least - it was just a surprise to see the chain has not made the switch everywhere (yet?)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Very centrally located, next to the Opera House, which was the reason we chose it. It is easily accessible by the No.48 bus from the railway station. The rooms are well presented but a tad on the small side, it come become somewhat claustrophobic if it was necessary to spend any time in the room, but if you book early enough the price could allow you to book as an individual. The breakfast was fine with enough choice to suit most people, and the staff are extremely helpful. At the moment the local university if refurbishing the middle 3 floors, so unless you are staying over the weekend be prepared for some building noise, although I have to say it didn't disturb me too much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I've been living here for 5 nights and even though you can hear the buses, people and construction work outside, I sink into the bed every night and relax. The weird noises coming from the drain in the bathroom are a mystery to me but I wish I could stay longer. Breakfast is wonderful!

Room Tip: Non-Smoker Rooms are opposite smoker rooms but definitely better air to be in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel is located in the city centre. The underground parking is available with separate fee. All the hotel facilites seemed in good condition from inside, altough the hotel building was under reconstruction in that time. So little noisy. The breakfast was standard.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera

Address: 41 Place de la Republique Francaise, Liege 4000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Liege
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Liege
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Liège Centre Opera hotel is located in the city centre, near the Opera House, in the Opéra shopping centre. Liège is the 3rd largest city in Belgium with its picturesque streets, the PRINCE EVEQUES castle and the longest Sunday market in Europe on the banks of the Meuse. Ideal for weekend stays, the hotel has 78 rooms, a bar open 24/24 and free Wifi wireless Internet access for guests on a business trip. Restaurants and public pay parking close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Liege Centre Opera
Accor Liege Centre Opera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.