We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zero Complaints!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Univers Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Univers Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Univers Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   116 rue des Guillemins, Liege 4000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
LOW RATE GUARANTEED
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Liege
Paris, France
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Zero Complaints!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed here last weekend whilst visiting the WEC motor racing at Spa, and wanted to be in a town with a little more to offer, so decided on Liege- 1 adult + 3 older children-and so chose the Family suite at this hotel _ central _ good rate_ breakfast included_free wi-fi_parking facilities_and not too difficult to find.
We were pleasantly surprised, the area, albeit a bit run down, but the station looked super_ no noise in the room_ a very large room (US Standard size?) and a very large bathroom with _ surprise, surprise also a large flat screen TV _ a novelty ( for a bathroom!!)
Super quality bathroom, very large, spacious nice tiling_ the room itself, also spacious ( could even be good for a twin with 2 Queen size beds) 3rd floor _ speedy elevator, good wifi connection _ AND a friendly service & welcome !
My 11 yr old noted that his bedside light didn't work ( no light) this was sorted the next day without any further ado _ small point_ but it was DONE!
Breakfast Buffet (included in the rate) was GOOD, a large selection, warm & cold, coffee, drinks, clean spacious room , a pleasant atmosphere, light and modern.
Parking was in the nearby Public Park house - good hotel arrangement (7. Euro per 24 hrs) safe and just across the road ( Kerbside possible too -if available - for loading & unloading)
All in all a good choice and very suitable for our visit_ Autoroute connections also close by_ for Rail travellers excellent as it is just a few steps away from the new swish TGV station.
Town centre a couple of Kilometres away - a few restaurants & bars nearby, a good one under the hotel on the ground floor!!

Room Tip: With a view of the new station, Family Suite whether for 2,3 or 4p
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    54
    30
    3
    6
See reviews for
10
21
23
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in the new years eve. and was very good! The room was comfortable, the bathroom was very good and clean, the bed and pillows are great, the windows makes a good isolation of the noise. The location is also good, in front of the train station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A good hotel well kept to Best Western standard. Good sized double room: however facing recently rebuilt railway station which is busy all night. Also on the busiest road junction in Liege, which can inhibit accessibilty. Rooms have wooden floors, which does mean that some noise transmitted from movement in rooms above.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel feels narrow and dark.
It's situated just in front of the main train station of Liège and I think that's the only reason one would stay in such a place.
We paid about 80 € for the night for a normal double room.
But it was kind of over priced for the looks of what we got, the room was dark and not in the best condition.
Otherwise the service was okay, everything had the usual basic look, taste and smell.

Liège's city center is quite far away from the Guillemins' train station and the neighborhood around the station is depressing and uninteresting.
So, if you have an early train to catch, this might be the hotel for you, otherwise look in another direction.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I was staying here for 11 days. I have not tried the breakfast, but the rest was quite nice. I would not say that everything was really perfect: it is a bit noisy, the wi-fi connection works not ideally, the cleaning of the room could be a bit better, but the ratio price/quality is perfect. If you come here for 2-3, this is the best choice. And note that it is situated nearby the railway station with many cafes and the little shops with sweets around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Conveniently located close to the impressive Liege Guillemins (international train) station, this hotel is however not exactly in the city center.


Staff greeted us with a smile and checked us in quickly, offering the internet voucher (which offered decend speed).


Rooms are clean and of reasonable size. No luxury to be found, but comfortable and quiet.
In the clean bathroom, we found the basic amenities (soaps, towels, plastic cups) we needed.


It wasn't my first stay there and will be returning for short stays due to the good value and decent comfort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ely
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is a three star and does all it should so it gets four stars from me. It is clean, everything works and it is reasonable value. On the plus side the staff are friendly (I was offered coffee on departing very early even though I had not paid for breakfast- trivial one might say but a very nice touch). The mattress was excellent and my room had a superb view of the station, one of Europe's most impressive structures. The shower was one of the best I've ever had.

On the downside the bar is dead (but there are plenty in the area), the bathroom has a movement operated tap which I hated, the room was inexplicably dark (so I had to use a torch in my pocket to illuminate the heating controls), and the hotel was verging on the tired. If you are stopping in the area though it is a good safe accessible bet, 30 seconds from train to hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Univers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Univers Hotel

Address: 116 rue des Guillemins, Liege 4000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Liege
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Liege
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Univers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Univers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Liège
Best Western Liege
Liège Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Univers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.