We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Chinese Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai

Shanghai
Place Cathedrale, Liege 4000, Belgium
++32 (0) 4 222 22 63
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 439 Restaurants in Liege
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Average Chinese Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The place is charming, it feels that you are in a very sophisticated Chinese restaurant. The service is friendly. However the food is average and the bill is high. We ordered a fix menu that include soup, an entrée, and a sample of different kinds of meat. Nothing that we ordered was bad but it was not excellent either. The flavor was bland. The best part was the dessert surprisingly. They have very good vanilla ice cream. For that price, we probably will not go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    91
    29
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Halle, Belgium
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Light and enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We received a gift voucher and decided to go for Shanghai Chef's Menu.

- We started with a drink where the Kirr Royal was OK but where I appreciated the fresh orange juice with the Campari.
- The asparagus with crab soup lacked somewhat of taste (and crab)
- As a starter we had spring rolls (BEST I EVER HAD HAD says the Lady) and Chicken Papillotes(fine taste, somewhat dry, some veggies missing)
- The entremet of chicken,duck an soya salad was refreshing
- The chicken with vegetables and cashew and the pork with fruit were served with fresh fruit.

We had a Morgon and a Chablis with this, and had a relaxed an evening.

Conclusion: not michelin *** but defenetly enjoyable

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Chinese food, but not as we know it...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was an odd experience. The restaurant is on the first floor of a block overlooking an attractive square with a cathedral to one side. First issue was getting in as we couldn't see any signs. You actually have to walk into a small shopping mall (all shops closed in the evening) and then walk up stairs (escalator wasn't working). We were delighted to be shown to our table overlooking the square so we could enjoy the view. But we didn't enjoy the food. It was odd. As an example. We like crispy duck. So we ordered it as our starter but is arrived with our mains. But it was cut into chunks. The meat was tough. The pancakes were gloopy and cut into strips. I could go on. It was Chinese food but not like Chinese food we have eaten anywhere else in the world...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley in Arden, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No surprises, but good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Perfectly good Chinese restaurant in the centre of Liege.

Slightly strange approach at night through an empty shopping mall and up to the 1st floor, but once inside it's a pleasant environment and window tables overlook the cathedral.

Service was friendly and attentive and the food, whilst nothing unusual, was tasty, well cooked and well presented. Staggeringly large wine list!

If it's Chinese you fancy, then you could do a lot worse than give this place a go!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great quality food with a lovely view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Ordered separate items from the menu and was very happy with the quality of each dish and overall service. Glad they had an English menu otherwise it might have been a disaster!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai also viewed

 
Liege, Liege Province
Liege, Liege Province
 

Been to Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.