We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tour in the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Paz Waterfall

La Paz Waterfall
, Vara Blanca, Costa Rica
9547273997
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$170*
and up
Poas Volcano and La Paz Waterfall Gardens Day Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking, Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore Five Magnificent Waterfalls accessed by paved trails through Rain and Cloud Forest. Our Wildlife refuge features the Largest Aviary and Butterfly Observatory in Costa Rica as well as rescued Jaguars, Ocelots, Pumas, Sloths, Capuchin and Spider Monkeys. Feed friendly Toucans and our 26 species of tame Hummingbirds and photograph beautiful Leaf Frogs in our Frog Habitat and venomous snakes in our Serpentarium. Located one hour from San Jose Airport near Poas Volcano.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best tour in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We loved this the most of all our tours. We all (family of five, kids ages 7-16) loved the butterfly gardens and hummingbirds. The walk through the falls was quite long and lots of stairs, we went right to the end and caught the shuttle back to the front. We were able to see an ox cart and got our picture taken, as well as see the many other animals there. It was cloudy that day so there was lots of mist at the waterfalls but it was well worth it! The price was expensive however.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    910
    244
    52
    13
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Like a small Animal Kingdom in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

These guys spent a lot of money setting this up. It is extremely nice. A bit expensive for locals but tourists should be OK! I've heard the falls are not actually in their property and you have to walk into the neighbors property but that doesn't seem to be a problem at least.

But really nice place to come with a family and see the wildlife in Costa Rica!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect place for our wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We got married in front of the "main" waterfall. It was absolutely beautiful. So, yes, I definitely recommend it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Such a great place to visit: A must if you are in the area! The first part of the trip you get to see lots of animals, many of them rescued. My favorite was the toucan sanctuary area: You get to hold them! It was awesome. I worked up the courage to walk around and get them to hop on my arm by myself! They were so cute and would nibble at hour arm or jewelry. The other animal areas are very educational and we appreciated that the butterfly garden seemed well taken care of and there were not many dead ones laying everywhere like some gardens in the US. Another favorite part of mine was the hummingbird area: it was all out in the open and they would just zip past you to go eat the nectar! They were so cute and you got to see them right up close. After seeing the animals, we enjoyed a decent lunch at the buffet there. It was okay, not the best but not bad. Then you have to go on the hike to see the waterfalls. They are huge and beautiful. Once you reach the end, a shuttle takes you right back up to the top. Highly recommended for anyone in the area: singles and families alike!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Incredible beauty. Expensive attraction. Great chance to see wildlife and all a Rainforest has to offer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Not too many places you can stroll throuh a rain forest on stairs, pavers and occasionally a flat gravel path.
Usually rainforest hikes come with backpacks, steep climbs, lots of sweat, etc.
Not expecting to take this detour after a beach trip we were pleasantly surprised to find that even the girls in sandals were comfortable strolling through the tour.
Most of the stairs are down hill (fortunately because there must be over a thousand.) but they take you right up to the precipitous edge of waterfalls, even offering a peak behind one that you can reach out and touch.
Cost in 2014 is high for a forest tour - about $38 per person for everyone over 11 years, but only $22 if you are a resident.
3 restaurants of varying budgets - a la carte burger type place, an all-u-can-eat $13 buffet (wine is $9 a glass) but the food is good, not outstanding but certainly good and varied.
They also have what looks like an upscale lakeview fish restaurant that specializes in their lake trout they raise right there.
Its a rain forest - expect rain. It rained on us, but was still beautiful. Umbrellas work well here, ponchos, something. Dont come to a rain forest and then be mad you got wet!
If its a cloudy day, its a bad day to see the volcano, but still a good day to go to La Paz.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Paz Waterfall also viewed

Poas Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Tenorio Volcano National Park, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to La Paz Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Paz Waterfall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.