We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ambiotel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Ambiotel to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ambiotel
Veemarkt 2, Tongeren 3700, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Tongeren
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Favorite place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

When going to Belgium and particularly Tongeren, I generally stay at this hotel. It's been recently renovated for the second time. In fact, that whole area of Tongeren has been renovated over the past few years. The rooms are clean and comfortable. It is located near the town Centrum close to many restaurants and interesting attractions.

Room Tip: As someone else mentioned the internet is a bit flaky but with all that good beer downstairs who wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    14
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
5
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with a group of ladies on a weekend shopping trip. The location was perfect for the market, the rooms were clean and the staff friendly. We shopped early and then returned to the hotel for breakfast, which was wonderful! I will be staying here on my next trip!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

It's a nice hotel with a very good breakfast. Also the food in the restaurant next to it is nice. Rooms are clean and large enough, although the toilets are super small. The internet provided is worthless though. It drops connection every 5 minutes and whenever you have connection, it's slower than slow.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weilerbach, Germany
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Great Location if you are there to shop. I would stay there again. It is no longer a Best Western just Ambiotel. Single room was 105 Euro with breakfast.
Veemarkt2 - B-3700 Tongeren
+32(0) 12262950
www.ambiotel.be
They do not have any three bed rooms but they will bring in a cot. No a lot of room when they do that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you go to Tongeren for the Sunday antique flea market, this is the hotel for you. The rooms are clean and have a good WiFi connection that is free, the hotel staff are cordial (but not helpful at all in recommending a restaurant because they want you to eat at the restaurant in the hotel - so glad I had TripAdvisor to help me find a restaurant!), and the breakfast is plentiful and delicious. The cappuccino was outstanding! The hotel is within a block of many antique street and warehouse vendors. I will certainly stay here again when I come back to shop for antiques! A most pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Visited Tongeren with friends over the weekend of 11th/12th August and stayed at the Ambiotel.
We were all really pleased with the hotel, our twin rooms were spacious, spotlessly clean, had mini bars, kettles and a very nice Rombouts coffee machine, which this 'real' coffee lover appreciated. Bathrooms were large, with separate toilet. We visited primarily for the Sunday antiques market, but really loved Tongeren. It has loads of history, and the central square was very picturesque with plenty of good and reasonable restaurants. Unfortunately, this weekend was the hottest of the year with temperatures hitting 40 degrees, so we didn't have the energy for seeing all the sights. We were however, extremely grateful for the very efficient AC units in our rooms! We had rooms overlooking the shopping centre behind the hotel, which we found very quiet, and we heard no noise from the market set up on Sunday morning.Breakfast was good, and included fruit, juices, breads,pastries,cheese, ham and boiled eggs. There was also bacon and scrambled eggs on Sunday.The staff at the hotel were superb. Everyone we encountered was very friendly and helpful, thank you all. If we revisit Tongeren in future, we would definitely stay at the Ambiotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed with another family with plans to visit the antique market. You can't beat the location. The room was very clean. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was well equipped and not to small. I like that the toilet was in a different room. Room came with a nice expresso machine, hot pot and fridge.

We found it to be quiet ( our room faced the inside courtyard). Over all one of the nicer 3 stars that we have stayed at in Europe. Nice touch was that they had free slippers for your feet. The lobby was clean as well and all the lights in the room were in working order. The only thing I did not like was the smell of smoke in the rooms. They had a room freshener but that did not help much. It seemed if the rooms had been updated.

The breakfast was very nice. We shopped for several hours then came back for a nice breakfast. We had been told for the market to be there at 6am. We found that to be a bit too early as many vendors were not yet set up. 7am to start shopping would be fine. Over all great stay- It's a great location with many places to dine and shop with in an easy walking distance. The staff was pretty helpful but no very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces towards the back. Maybe check if they have non-smoking rooms too. We for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ambiotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambiotel

Address: Veemarkt 2, Tongeren 3700, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Tongeren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Tongeren
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ambiotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tongeren
Tongeren Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ambiotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.