We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant day out!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Coal Mining Museum

National Coal Mining Museum
Caphouse Colliery, Overton, Wakefield WF4 4RH, England
01924-848806
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Overton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Seeking information about the coal fields of England? Visit this special-interest museum that tells the whole story.
1 review
“Brilliant day out!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Enjoyed day at national coal mining museum, Doesn't effect the pocket and still a brill day!! The underground tour was brill, my children was fascinated and entertained by the underground tour guide Stewart.. Great day thanks xxx

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    829
    131
    23
    0
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Top day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a great day out, get there earlyas the tours under get booked fast. The guide was very interesting and informative, kids loved the pit ponies too. We all learned alot and will be back to see santa

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent high light of our 8 day holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have just returned from our holiday and on the way back stopped off at the National Coal Mining Museum with our 6 year old Sean (have to be 5+ to do underground tour) and we can not recommend this place highly enough. Very good value for money as only the loco rides have to be paid for whilst paying for the tour is optional and they are all very cheap. We didn't eat in the canteen because we had brought a picnic, but the coffee was good. The menu of hot and cold foods were varied, smelled good and were reasonably priced. We would like to say a special thank you to 3 individuals who we won't forget as they made ours, and especially our son's, day one that we will never forget. We hope that Compo, Big Bird, and Kebab do not mind us singling them out with special thank yous. The facilities and the tours are amazing funny and educational and we loved it. If we had more time we would likely have enjoyed the nature trail too. We will definitely be returning and will make sure we book to see Santa. We know Sean's grandparents will love it when we take them too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Misinformed by website”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We arrived at 2:30PM yesterday to be told that the last tour had already gone and anyway was full. We were told that we should have booked in advance.

However, on the website and also the pamphlet, it says that it is open until 5PM and you can just turn up and take a tour. It doesn't say that the last tour is at 2:30PM. It doesnt even say that it is POSSIBLE to book in advance, never mind that you SHOULD book in advance. It says that booking is recommended for large groups only.

We had driven two hours specifically to visit this place (the kids are into rocks) so we were really gutted in additional to having wasted a day and half a tank of petrol.

Please rewrite your website and other marketing materials so other families do not suffer as we did.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just returned from the museum having been on the underground tour with my grandson.We have been to the museum before but the trips down during school holidays are always very busy.Tip is to get there early.The museum is very informative with lots to see and do,but the real gem is the underground tour.The children in our party were really looked after by our guide Steve who was the most humorous host you could have but still managed to show the serious side of working down a pit.Well done!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Coal Mining Museum also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to National Coal Mining Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Coal Mining Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.