We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Coal Mining Museum

National Coal Mining Museum
Caphouse Colliery, Overton WF4 4RH, England
01924-848806
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Overton
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Seeking information about the coal fields of England? Visit this special-interest museum that tells the whole story.
Askeaton, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent an hour driving to get there, but it was well worth it. The underground tour is undoubtedly the highlight of the visit, but there is much more. The tour is informative (my great grandfather was a hewer and i had always wondered what they did! Now i know!!), entertaining and fun. This was made more so by our guide, Steve. He was passionate about his subject, knowledgable (as you would expect from an ex-miner) and had a great sense of humour. What was most impressive is that when he spoke, he always had the children who were on the tour, in mind. This was evidenced by the way he spoke, choice of words, etc. He also ensured that the children were up front when he was demonstrating something or pointing something out. Amongst other things, we also saw the stables, pithead baths and the informative museum, of course. Here, you were able to view artefacts from our mining past and hear a 'miner's wife' talk of daily life. The employee was kitted out in period clothes and did a wonderful job replicating the life of a miner's wife. There is also an adventure playground, nature trail (we were unable try this out as it was too muddy, unsurprisingly!), inexpensive cafe and shop. Most amazing of all is that it is FREE to enter. You are able to make a donation, however.
One word of caution, the underground tour is quite lengthy (well over an hour), so go to the toilet beforehand!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    686
    106
    21
    0
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds ,uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great first visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Arrived home after a great visit to the mining museum and we,ve had a great time .we spent a full hour down the mine and learnt so much about mining both now and in the past made to come to life by our guide Ken(purbs), I think he was truly amazing involving all the children giving them all jobs to do and asking them questions, he was also full of info and obviously had a lot of experience of mining really fun as well for us , he was the highlight ..... Thanks again, definitely. A must visit if you are able to get there .The walks around the other parts of the mine are also interesting in total we spent nearly 3hrs there... Thank you

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penistone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding day out - so interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We visited the museum on Bank holiday (Good Friday) as a family group and had what we could only describe as a truly fascinating experience. The display part of the museum was very well set out and interactive, taking you through the history of mining throughout the ages and it's linkage with industrialising Britain. Then, visits to the pit baths, pit ponies, winding gear, all really great. but then, the highlight, our trip down the 130m shaft to the coalface below ground. Our guide Mick, an ex miner was not only enthusiastic and knowledgeable, but came with a depth of experience of mining, and it showed. His affinity with the children of the group had them enthralled - as were all the adults. Not so much a visit as an experience! This is a great day out for all the family come rain or shine and we would have no hesitation of saying that this is a must visit destination. (and it's free! - apart from the purchase of a mining tag which is refundable at the end, but nobody bothered with asking, it was so enjoyable)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nash buckinghamshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fabulously insightful day underground.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

It's difficult to 'pen' a review of this amazing day out without repeating what many, many others have already stated. I remember well the miners strike of the 1980s but have never given thought to the work that was done, in some pits, over a 1000 metres down.
Our pit guide was a very knowledgeable chap called Mick Green who truly brought the experience to life, he was funny and factual in equal measure and an undoubted asset to the museum. Well done Mick. At the surface the museum allows you to wander around and soak up the displays at your own time and leisure, and this took so long that we didn't have time to head down to the Hope Pit end of the site. We'll save that for the undoubted next trip.

Unfortunately the only down side to the trip was the state of the toilets and cafe.
The toilets need regular cleaning as visitors are obviously happy to leave them in a disgusting state (why?). Also please, can somebody working in the cafe wipe the tables down on a regular basis? However all readers/visitors can help by returning their trays to the designated place at the far end of the seating area; as their is no admission fee I'd imagine funds are tight so do your bit to help them.
In summary then a fabulous educational day out, and for free! I think charging an admission price is inevitable as their funding stops soon, and I would happily pay for this experience.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Enjoyable and educational trip for all ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

A family trip (all adults) visited the NCM Museum today and we had a wonderful time. The Museum displays were fantastic and the underground tour was brilliant and really educational for all ages. Very knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide (Steve). The Cafe is a little pricey and needs someone to wipe the tables clean for new custom. Loved the 'pressy button' exhibits, shame they were not all working. We also loved the Stable area and the beautiful view across the snow topped hills. A fabulous day out! Would return!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Coal Mining Museum also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Castleford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to National Coal Mining Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Coal Mining Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.