We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere, Good Food, Friendly Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Latino

Cafe Latino
Zuivelmarkt 12, Hasselt 3500, Belgium
011 223482
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 132 restaurants in Hasselt
Price range: $35 - $142
Cuisines: Latin
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Good Food, Friendly Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Very Good Mexican foood in nice atmospheric surroundings

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    14
    23
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Limours
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food but DO NOT ask for a rare steak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I have been coming to Hasselt on business every 2 weeks for the last 7 months and this was my 4th or 5th visit to the Café Latino

Until now, everything has been above average with the food being a little better than the service.

So, this evening was a real disappointment. I am rather difficult to please with the cooking of red meat. But I thought that things had been so good on previous visits that it was time to ask for a steak "bleu" (very rare or less cooked than saignant)

When I ordered, I insisted to the waitress that I live in France and am used to eating very rarely cooked meat. I was therefore really surprised when my meat arrived to find that my meat was more cooked than my colleagues that had asked for "medium"

The waitress waited until clearing the plates before bothering to ask if everything was OK

I politely replied that I have got past the stage where I send something back and consequently eat half an hour later than the rest of the group.

I would go back to this restaurant but only stick to the tapas and Spanish / Mexican dishes which I enjoyed on the first occasions

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Beautifully decorated, friendly service, food so-so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We loved the restaurant's interior! It really feels like your in Mexico or Cuba, with lots of colors and great decorations. I loved it. It's a big restaurant, lots of tables. There's an upstairs too, but it wasn't used when we were there. The toilet is situated upstairs though, very lovely too, worth a visit :)

However, we were less enthusiastic about the food. We had the veggie soft tacos. The plate looked good, but the food was not very tasty. It was rather bland, to be honest. And there was no sour cream served either and no salt/pepper on the tables.
The dessert was good though, we had a brownie cake, with ice-cream. There was lots of fruit on the plate, too, I liked it.

Service is fast and friendly. I do recommend going to Latino, but please try a different dish!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Café Latino charges a lot for what only can described as mediocre food & drinks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
As
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A perfect night out with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Very good Mexican food,good cocktails and prices are reasonable.
When you go there on a Friday or Saturday evening, you can stay afterwards and dance to the Latin music.
Make a reservation!!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Latino also viewed

Hasselt, Limburg Province
Hasselt, Limburg Province
 
Hasselt, Limburg Province
Hasselt, Limburg Province
 

Been to Cafe Latino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Latino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.