We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Century

Save Saved
You added The Century to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Century
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leopoldplein 1, Hasselt 3500, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Hasselt
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Central location and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night last Sunday. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the railway station and is easy to find. I entered through the cafe/restaurant entrance and was checked in straight away by a bar man who gave me the key-card for my room which could also be used for the guests only door on the side of the hotel. (This was convenient as it means you don't have to walk throught the cafe/restaurant to get to and from your room).

My room was on the top floor up several flights of steep stairs but I had no problem with this. Room was small as it was in the attic but had an en-suite shower room and the view out of the small window was over Leopoldplein. The room was modern with a flat-screen TV, but I couldn't get the free wi-fi to work.

Hasselt is ony a small town and the hotel is a 2 or 3 minute walk from the main square. I got up late the next day and didn't have time for breakfast. Disappointed that there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room, but I have found this to be normal in other hotels in Belgium and the Netherlands.

I would recommend this hotel if you are after good value and service and a convenient location to explore Hasselt.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
8
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This small hotel is really subsidiary to the main business of the establishment as a restaurant but they have not allowed this to detract from the excellent facilities.

The hotel is well located, close to the shops, restaurants and attractions of the compact centre of Hasselt and convenient for business travellers as well. A bus stop is within a few yards (Leopoldplein) giving access to the excellent free city bus network, and cheap buses to other places - some directly and the rest via the interchanges at the Station and Dusartplein. The railway station is 2 minutes by bus or 8 minutes on foot.

The rooms are a good size, well-appointed and comfortable.

The restaurant provided a very reasonable breakfast including cereal, yoghourt, fruit, cold meats and the usual spreads, served 7am to 10am. Other meals were not the cheapest in Hasselt and we only ate there once but nevertheless we could not fault the quality, service and choice.

Wifi worked faultlessly in the bedroom throughout our stay.

Some people have complained about the lack of a lift and the steep stairs to the bedrooms which are on the top two floors of the four in this old (but well modernised) building. The stairs could be difficult for people with restricted mobility and some of our group struggled with them.

The heated towel rail in one shower room refused to produce any heat, whilst the warm air heating/air-conditioning in the bedrooms was rather noisy and a challenge to operate with no instructions provided.

The cleaners really did not have to take away the partly used soap every day!

Note that the hotel entrance is in Koning Albertstraat, round the corner from Leopoldplein towards the shopping centre - if you enter via the restaurant go to the far back right corner and through the door to the right of the bar. There is no-one permanently in the reception (it's only a small hotel) but the bar staff are helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-8 will save you from one flight of the steep stairs. But there will still be two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Century in July 2012. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms were lovely and the location was fantastic. Only a few minutes from the train and in the heart of the town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Great service, great food at reasonable prices!! A must visit !
Especially the waiter Nordi was very helpfull as he guided us with the wine and menu choice!

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The century is conveniently located at the end of the main shopping street, a 2 minutes walk from the central marketsquare and with plenty of opportunities to park your car. Perfect to explore Hasselt.
Our room was quiet, spacious, very clean, tastefully decorated with flatscreen TV etc... Comfy beds. We especially appreciated the big bathroom. Breakfast was basic but good.
The Century is well known in Hasselt for a great lunch or dinner, it has a big terrace which is very popular, and staff is extremely helpfull.
This hotel offers great value!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest (third) floor. These are the quiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birtley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

We stayed in The Century for two nights 28th & 29th August 2010. A lovely hotel in a central location in the very pretty town of Hasselt. We used this hotel on the recommendations of Tripadvisor as a central point to enable my family & I to explore the area and travel to Spa for the F1 Grand Prix. Word of warning about the one way system which isn't as easy to get around as it looks on Google Maps/Earth. Parking for hotel residence is a short walk away but further by car due to the one way system. However, once we parked up in local residence some 100 metres away and located the hotel entrance to the right of the building a very pleasant young man with an electric buggy (in the form of a mini Hummer - much to my sons delight) met us and zipped around the maze of streets to the hotel parking. Staff were very pleasant, polite and courteous. The rooms were fantastic. Our party took up 3 of them no. 1, no. 3 and no. 4 - all very clean, very modern and very comfortable. Food in the restaurant was of extremely high standard and I have got to say I had the best entrecote steak ever! I have to mention that should we visit Hasselt again we would stay in The Century but I would avoid these dates mainly due to the lack of sleep which we encountered due to the religious festival which was going on. Music til 5am is really not acceptable when you have a young teenager with you and need to be up and on the road by 7am to catch the ferry.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

If you don't mind the noise from the bistro downstairs (until closing time) and you are looking for an affordable, clean and comfortable hotel in Hasselt, then this is the place to be! All the rooms have been renewed and refurbished just a few years ago and the quality of bed, bathroom and other facilities (TV+free internet) is exquisite. 200% value for money: in this price range you can't even find a decent hostel in most cities.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Century? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Century

Address: Leopoldplein 1, Hasselt 3500, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Hasselt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Hasselt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Century 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Century reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Century, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.