We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2012 Christmas Trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hassotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hassotel to your Saves list
Hassotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sint-Jozefsstraat 10, Hasselt 3500, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Hasselt
Hereford
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“2012 Christmas Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a smallish boutique style hotel. Very welcoming staff. Our room was a good size but as with a lot of hotels a small single wardrobe which was half taken up with bedside type cabinet in so even less room to hand coats and longer items. Having said that we enjoyed our stay. The breakfasts were good and the restaurant very nice. You can also sit outside in a heated area which was a first for us in December. Although we did not eat there in the evenings lots of others did and the restauranr seemed full both nights we were there. Very handy for the centre of town. We were there in Dec and the plate tree was in the square. We thought it was really good especially lit up at night. Would return but in the summer with fewer clothes!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    11
    5
    4
See reviews for
6
33
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
344 helpful votes 344 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

It's part of the Best Western chain and there's nothing wrong with that but we didn't notice anything 'boutique' about it!
Our room was a typical 'voucher' room which makes us think it's maybe better to spend a little more to get better value. But you can't just throw away a voucher can you?
The room was clean and compact but very warm although freezing outside. We couldn't regulate the temperature so we had the window open all day and night. We specifically requested a quiet room but even with the window closed there was quite some noise from the ring road which might be 'green' but still is a ring road! The bathroom on the other hand was from a different era, dirty stains, flaking paint, cracked washing basin. Maybe it's waiting to be renovated or maybe this is a room they keep for 'voucher' travelers or night staff?
We had a snack in the restaurant and my wife's chicken sandwich was ok but I got deep fried frozen 'chippie' snacks for the price of a homemade decent meal. I wonder how a chef can get professional pride from serving this? Positive : nice breakfast buffet although not supplemented frequently, very nice man at reception desk,comfy beds and decent location near the small city center if you don't mind the ring road. Would we stay there again maybe but not with a voucher...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Fine modern hotel on Hasselt's inner ring road - but quiet all the same. Very convenient to walk into the centre. The rooms are funkily designed and ours had a goldfish in. Excellent buffet and friendly staff. The only problem is that the reception is not permanently staffed and there seems to be no way to summons staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Visiting friends in Belgium my husband and I booked a room at the Hassotel. The hotel offered a fitness center, which was nice to start the day off with a good workout. There was wonderful free breakfast that included fresh pastries, meats and cheese, fruit etc. We were welcomed at check in and treated very nicely. The room was much nicer than we expected for a standard room, and for the price of $141.00, a night was great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We've just returned from a week in Hasselt and our stay was all the more pleasant for staying at the Hassotel. A short walk from the train station, on arrival at the hotel we received a warm welcome at reception with a super-fast check in. We'd booked a deluxe room and while the rooms are compact, they are very well presented with trendy decorations, furniture and gadgets. Our room on the first floor (17) was great. Sparkling clean shower room and toilet, very comfy double bed, free minibar that was re-stocked daily, iPod docking station / radio, tv and air conditioning (for which we were very grateful as there was a heatwave last week!). The free Belgian chocolates and pet goldfish are nice, unusual touches. My only comment on the room would be that the air con unit does "hum" so if you're a light sleeper, you may want to take some ear plugs.

Breakfast was always delicious, with a wide selection of food to choose from including fresh bread, pastries, salad, cheese, meats, jam, hot food, eggs, fruit and yogurt. The staff are very attentive too and the service was always with a smile. We didn't eat a main meal at the hotel restaurant, however it was very popular and always busy.

The hotel is located a short walk from the centre of the town with it's shops, bars, restaurants and tourist sites. We were here for a music festival nearby so we didn't spend much time in the town but the location is great for all the local amenities.

Would definitely recommend this hotel as a pleasant base for anyone planning a trip to Hasselt.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Last week we stayed in one of the marvellous rooms de luxe to celebrate our anniversary. We had a great time discovering Hasselt and the "Jeneverfeesten"
What an extraordinary experience to stay in this hotel! We were given a warm welcome by the friendly staff at the reception. The room was neat and clean,we could have all we wanted from the mini-bar (no extra chargess!) and we had a very good night's sleep in the comfortable bed.
The breakfast buffet was to die for, not only was there a great variety, but the buffet was constantly being refilled, so we could enjoy everything while it was warm.
If you're planning a trip to Hasselt, one place to stay:Hassotel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Hotel and hotel rooms are currently being refurbished. This however does not seem to impact the 'quality of life' in the rest of the hotel too much.

The 'old' room provided in a clean and comfortable environment to get a good night's sleep, not more, not less, which if just fine. Did not use the air conditioner because night temperatures were pleasant. Bed and furniture are okay still likely to be improved once they get upgraded in view of the refurbishing project currently being carried out.

Fair selection for breakfast - just to mention that sausages and the scrambled egg get a bit overcooked while sitting in the display trays.

Value for money was right - we did not need to use the ear plugs kindly provided in the room.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hassotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassotel

Address: Sint-Jozefsstraat 10, Hasselt 3500, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Hasselt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Hasselt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hassotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hassotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hasselt
Hasselt Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hassotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.