We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold tiny room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Hasselt Centrum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Hasselt Centrum to your Saves list
Ibis Hasselt Centrum
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Thonissenlaan 52, Hasselt 3500, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hasselt
New York City, New York
1 review
“Cold tiny room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Ok. So it's an Ibis. I expected a small room. Well it was! Really small! On the plus side, it was clean. On the con side, it was cold. It was October, the night was cold, and (I assume to save money) the heating stopped working sometime at night; I woke up cold and tried to adjust the thermostat; had no luck. Ended up with a chill the next morning. No way I'm staying here again in a cold month.

Room Tip: Don't stay near the elevators. They are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick B, Manager at Ibis Hasselt Centrum, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Sorry to hear about your chilly experience! I am afraid that since your stay dates from Octobre last year, I cannot really give you an adequate response on the matter. However, I would like to mention that the heating system is checked & serviced on an annually basis and that we also have extra heaters available at reception. It goes without saying that we do not have timers on the heaters besides the one on the thermostat.
Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    52
    62
    19
    13
See reviews for
18
52
25
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lommel, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We booked this hotel for one night after going to a party. I visited ibis hotels that are more modern then this one but overall it was ok.

I know what to expect from ibis so the room wasnt very big, smal bathroom but the shower was good. i had a good night sleep so no complaining about the bed!

we didnt take breakfast. if you dont want to pay the money for staying at the holiday inn or holiday in express, i would recommend this hotel. good location and big parking lot 400m from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick B, Manager at Ibis Hasselt Centrum, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Glad to hear that you have spend a good night's rest in our hotel and that you also easily found your way to the public parking!
We will be pleased to welcome you again in the near future!
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed there only for a day, in our short visit in the small city of Hasselt, and Ibis provided us with exactly what we needed. Just a few (3 or 4) minutes walk from the train station, you can easily reach it even with heavy luggage. The hotel staff was nice and polite. The room was indeed very small but it was clean, with modern interior, and they have managed to make very good use of the space. Breakfast was very overpriced in my opinion and we didn't take. However, I think that it is good that it is not included in the price of the room, because this way you can save money.
A lot of buses pass from the street in front of the hotel, and surprisingly urban buses are for free in Hasselt! The central square, Grote Markt, is just a few minutes walk, we had a very good meal in a restaurant owned by some greek guy there.
I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick B, Manager at Ibis Hasselt Centrum, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Glad to notice that you have enjoyed Hasselt and our location towards city center & railway station. Our staff will also be very pleased to hear from your appreciation towards them and hopes to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkliston, Edinburgh
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My friends kindly booked guys in here for an overnight stays. We enjoyed the one night. It was comfortable enough. It is in a fantastic location right in the centre if town. Would I stay again - yes because the location was amazing and we could walk everywhere as it is very central.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel is very poor for an IBIS hotel, and this one is not a "budget" one. Corridors look old and dusty, the room I had was cold, ugly and extremely small (the bed is not intended for 2 adults).
Breakfast was almost 15 €, so I decided to only have a coffee. As I waited more than 15 - 20 min for that cup of coffee the lady said that it will be on the house, but in the end it was in my bill anyway.
Leaving my room I got a phone call, the receptionist wanted to remind me I had to leave the room at noon. I checked the time, it was 12:01! What an ambiance.
The price was about 75 € with the taxes, one person / one night, no breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerro Maggiore, Italia
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Me and my girlfriend shared a really small room in Ibis Hasselt.A claustrophobic feeling and noises from other rooms invite customers to take a ride in the city .Breakfast really expensive(better go to center or to the near supermarket)and wi-fi quite slow.I spent hundreds of nights in Ibis hotels in Europe and Asia but this is the worst I tried.Food is not available even though the hotel was reported at various points in the availability 'of a restaurant 24/24h.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Hasselt Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hasselt Centrum

Address: Thonissenlaan 52, Hasselt 3500, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Hasselt
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hasselt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Hasselt Centrum 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Hasselt Centrum hotel is located 800 m from the railway station. Cafes, restaurants and shops line the streets around the hotel. Book one our 59 airconditioned rooms with WiFi (of which one is adapted for guests with limited mobility) and benefit from the amenities on offer including a bar, 24 hour snack service and free parking. The Japanese Garden, cultural centre and Bokrijk Open Air Museum are close by, tennis courts just 2 km away.Plopsaland and Grenslandhallen are 3 km from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Hasselt Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Hasselt Centrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.