We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spoling the ship for hapennyworth of tar” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Hotel Charleroi-City

Save Saved
You added Leonardo Hotel Charleroi-City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Charleroi-City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   96 Boulevard Joseph Tirou, Charleroi B 6000, Belgium (Formerly Socatel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Charleroi
ely
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Spoling the ship for hapennyworth of tar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

There is not an abundance of hotels in Charleroi. This one is fine in most ways- the rooms are a good size and the staff friendly. The place is a little tired, but that is nothing compared to the city outside ! The restaurant was excellent, with some nice amuse bouche before the main courses arrived. The big downside was that to use wifi would cost 16 euros. Given the dependence on wifi thses days, that seems to be tantamount to offering a room without washing facilities, and charging extra for that

Room Tip: Don't visit Charleroi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    29
    22
    15
See reviews for
7
23
13
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Didn't like the way the stairs from the car park went via stacked food in the kitchen, put me right off eating there !!!!!
The room walls needed a good paint or at least a clean....
Bed was super comfy though !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Paying 99 euro for a single room(breakfast included) then seeing a worn room and tiny bed was a bit disappointing. And the noise from the street wasn't helpful either. I stayed in several hotels this year, first time I see a hotel asking money for wi-fi. I can't complain for breakfast and reception though. I assume there is not much choice in soulless Charleroi, so, good luck...I gave "poor" rating for the price/quality performance of the hotel..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISRAEL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Not much to do in Charleroi. The hotel is a short walk from the train station and on a walking trail of charleroi which was pleasant. The breakfast is basic but ample but remember to get a ticket at reception beforehand- i had an argument with the waitress in the middle of my food! Kettle with tea and coffee in the room was welcome. Also were prepared to allow me an early check in.

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing the main road. remember to ask for a ticket at reception before going to br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The rooms of this hotel are on the 5th and 6th floor of an office building. The reception is of course on street level and two elevators bring you up. Staff at the front desk is friendly and helpful.

The room was OK though a little worn and not all that clean. There were two spider webs against the ceiling. The cleaning staff is probably small in size.

There was a desk with a hot water kettle for free coffee or tea and a separate table.

The TV had a good selection of channels including CNN, Euronews, Dutch channel 2, etc.

The wireless internet signal strength was OK but the cost for the connection too high for me so I did not use this. (€ 7,95 for one hour/ October 2012)

The centre of Charleroi is not very exiting. Lots of closed shops, dirty streets, groups of homeless (I think). I have not seen many good restaurants but the French Fries shops are abundant.

Breakfast is served in a Brasserie next to the hotel and not very good for the price of € 12,- (October 2012) Staff was absent most of the time (smoking outside), there was no refill of the milk for the cornflakes, the toaster did not work and the selection of food was poor. Maybe try your luck for a better breakfast outside the hotel I one of the many places around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

What makes or breaks an establishment with me are the facilities and the staff. Of the two, the staff is the most important, and this hotel has a 5 star staff. They were very accommodating to an English speaker in a town where that is a rare commodity among the natives. They truly did everything within their power to make my stay as nice as possible.

They even went so far as to ensure that I would receive my Best Western loyalty credit, due to the fact that their sister hotel (the Best Western by the same name) could not accommodate me.

Their bright points:
-walking distance to the train station
-wifi and plenty of power receptacles
-clean facilities
-friendly and accommodating staff with English speakers on duty the entirety of my stay

Areas for improvement:
-no fitness facility
-wifi was not free
-some clutter at the end of the passageways that should be tucked away out of sight from the guests

All in all, I would repeat my stay at this establishment if business brings me to Charleroi in the future

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I choose this hotel because I had an early morning flight at Charleroi-City Airport and also because of its' budget price. The room was comfortable and clean with an air conditioner and a flat screen tv. I liked the courtesy kettle with coffee & tea, that was in my room. Staff of the hotel were friendly. I spent 5 nights at this hotel while visiting Brussels, Bruges, Genht & Luxenbourg City. The walk from this hotel to Charleroi-Sud train statation was about 8 minutes. It's a bit of a comute to Brussels, as it takes about 50 minutes by train, to get to the Central Train Station in Brussels. It cost 7.50 Euro to take the train from Charleroi-Sud to Brussels but it cost the same to take the train all the way from Charleroi-Sud to Bruges. It cost about 8.50 Euro from Charleroi-Sud to Ghent. If you are going to Luxenbourg City, this location is actually 50 mnutes closer by train than traveling there from Brussels. The one thing I didn't like about this hotel is that they charge 15 Euros per day for a Wi-Fi internet connection, which I thought was a rip-off. Luckily, I was able to access the free Wi-Fi of a restaurant located across the street from this hotel with a weak signal in my room, a stronger signal in the hotel lobby and a very strong signal in the small plaza area directly outside the hotel. Overall, I thought this hotel was a good value for my money, but a bit inconvenient for visiting Brussels, Ghent & Bruges.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Leonardo Hotel Charleroi-City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Charleroi-City

Address: 96 Boulevard Joseph Tirou, Charleroi B 6000, Belgium (Formerly Socatel)
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > Hainaut Province > Charleroi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Charleroi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Hotel Charleroi-City 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Charleroi-City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Hotel Charleroi City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Hotel Charleroi-City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.