We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charleroi hotel ibis centre gare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare to your Saves list
Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Quai de Flandre, Charleroi 6000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Charleroi
dalkeith scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“charleroi hotel ibis centre gare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I wanted to visit the battlefield of Waterloo,using Ryanair from Edinburgh to Charleroi, flight was ok no problems. I booked this hotel knowing full well that it was classed as a budget hotel ,two nights total 86 euros. I had no high expectations but being an ibis hotel I did expect a certain standard.On arrival I was given a pleasant welcome from the receptionist who was very helpful during my stay (some of the hotels in vegas should send their staff here for traing in how to welcome a guest) My room was spotless,at the back not much of a view but that does not bother me. If there is such a thing as a superior budget hotel this one qualifys.Did not have breakfast here I used the cafes in the train station. Charleroi is not one of my favourite places, the area around the hotel is pretty run down but I felt safe enough. I used La Gondola next door average food, reasonable prices, The Ibis is next to the train/bus station which is convenient for travelling to Brussels.or for getting to the airport

Room Tip: This hotel is classed as non smoking, but there are some smoking rooms if you ask. Dont bother about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrioibis, Directeur général at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear sir, Madam,

I would like to thank you for the comment you post. It was very pleasant for me to read your satisfaction.
At Ibis Charleroi we continually work with all the team in order to provide to our guests the best service for the best value for money.
Be sure that after such a positive comment they will be more motivated to improve our guest service.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel for your next belgium trip.

Best regards,

Dimitrio Virone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    114
    93
    23
    13
See reviews for
38
90
44
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Air Condition -prommised that they have it in almost all of the rooms
while we checked inn-nobody declared that the air con is not serviceable and after complaining-they gave a vintelator ... and prommised that the technician will arrive by the day after for repairing the A/C while at the next morning- they declared on wrong information -a/c out of service in the rooms -but same time- excellent in the lobby and also in the restarant...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Directeur général at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Dear Sir, Madam,

I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel regarding the inconvenience occured due to the Air conditionning.
I would like to inform you that we do our best in order to fix it. The problem is that we had to order a part which has to be delivered a soon as possible.
We promise you that the issue will be very quickly solved.
The only possibility we had was to provide you with a ventilator.

We hope to see you in the near future and we promise you that the airconditionning will be fixed.

Best regards,

Dimitrio Virone
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmit, Turkey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We were a group with 11-12 yo children and we stayed 1 night there. We booked 5 rooms. First of all, hotel staff are perfect, so helpful and friendly. Hotel is very safe for families and kids. Just cross the sub station only 3-4 mins walk, with beautiful view. To go to airport bus stop is only 3-4 mins walk away, too. Price is 3 eu and services starts at 04.00 am.

Especially double rooms are very wide, shower with massage is excelent. Rooms are clean, confortable and very well designed. But most of all i must underline the breakfast. You should taste that, 6 Eu for kids, 13 eu for adults, definetely worth that. Breads are fresh and hot, open buffet with many alternatives. Everything was delicious. We enjoyed a lot. Personaly if i go Brussels again, i want to stay there even just for breakfast. :-) Thanks so much for hotel staff again and again. It was wonderful end for our 10 days travel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrioibis, Directeur général at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear Sir, Madam,

I would like to thank you for having posted your comment.
Me and my team are very glad to read that you enjoy your stay in our Hotel.

The most important for us is our guests satisfaction.
We work every day in order to improve our service. The fact that your enjoy the breakfast is exactly the aim of our breakfast's work.

Many thanks and we hope to see you soon in Charleroi.

Best regards,

Dimitrio Virone
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

If you want to have a hot uncomfortable sleepless night this is the hotel for you. The air-conditioning has just one setting "sticky hot air". And don't try to open a window because they are screwed tightly closed. I have never ever stayed in a hotel room that has been so uncomfortable and all the hotel management could offer in explanation was "silence". What happened to the "fix in 15 miniutes promise".
On the plus side the location is good, as was breakfast.

Room Tip: LOOK FOR ANOTHER HOTEL. ANY OTHER HOTEL. Maybe on a bench in the park you would get more sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrioibis, Directeur général at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear Sir, Madam,

I'm sorry to read that you was disappointed by your stay at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare.
I understand that it is not confortable when it is too hot in the room. You may be sure that we have worked on that problem and that it is now fix.
I agree that my team may have suggest you a solution.
Be sure that such a problem will not happen again in the future.

Best regards,

Dimitrio Virone
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We used this hotel as a stop off point on the way down to southern Germany. We were hot tired, and ready for a break. On arrival, we pulled in to the short stay bays at the front of the hotel. The front exterior was nice, the reception was nice, and the room was nice. At this point everything was ok, nothing great, but it did the job. The trouble started after we had unpacked our car.

We were told we must park the car in the 'secure' car park at the back of the hotel. We drove round and suddenly we were down a very rough alley, with strange 'shop windows'. The car park we pulled into had glass smashed on the floor, and the area it was in looked rather dodgy. We then realized we had to walk back round the front, and were fairly concerned, as we noticed some women getting changed in the windows. It suddenly all clicked, the hotel is in the middle of a red light district! Very concerning. It was getting late, at this point we went back to our room and hoped everything would be ok.

The beds were comfortable, but the hotel is located in a very noisy busy area. After little sleep, and in the early hours of the morning, we heard banging on our door, and suddenly the chain was broken and the door was open. Two foreign women were stood staring at us, and suddenly hurried off. Think they got the wrong room? The next morning we were up early glad to be leaving, as we walked round to the car, we noticed that prostitutes were still walking the streets and sat in the windows. This was at about 7:30am on a sunday morning. A pair even tried to flag our car down as we were leaving.

Overall, it was a horrible experience, but really it wasn't the hotels fault. I wouldn't stay here again any time soon...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare

Address: 12 Quai de Flandre, Charleroi 6000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > Hainaut Province > Charleroi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Charleroi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel ibis Charleroi Gare , completely renovated, has modern rooms in the center of the city, just a quarter mile from Charleroi-South Train Station. It has a 24-hour bar and free Wi-Fi throughout. Brussels South Charleroi Airport is a 15-minute bus ride ( 5 euros ). Each of the rooms at the Hotel ibis Charleroi Gare are air-conditioned and come equipped with a flat-screen TV and a work desk. The rooms also have a private bathroom with a walk-in shower. The Musee des Beaux-Arts, in the heart of the historic center, is a 18-minute walk away. References to comic book culture are scattered throughout the city in the form of murals and statues. Ibis is 10 minutes from the Centre de Culture Scientifique by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Charleroi Centre Gare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.