We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Although prepaid, room was not available” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare to your Saves list
Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Quai de Flandre, Charleroi 6000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Charleroi
Marktbreit, Germany
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Although prepaid, room was not available”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I booked the Ibis hotel in the Charleroi city centre for me and my colleague, but upon our arrival at around midnight the receptionist told us there was just one room left. Strange, because we had a prepaid rate (€ 79 net per night excl. breakfast). We decided my colleague would stay there and I was sent to the Etap, a 15 minutes drive away. As a compensation, they allowed me to use their secured parking and arranged cost-free taxis to go to the Etap and to bring me back the next morning. Nevertheless, not a good experience!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrioibis, Directeur général at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Sir, Madam,

We received your comments relating to your recent stay at the Ibis Charleroi Hotel, we would like to thank you for having spent the time in putting them on Trip Advisor.
Your complained gives us the opportunity to do better our professional job and to make the difference.

I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel for the problem that occurs with your reservation.
We made a mistake in the reservations and when we noticed it, we directly get a solution by finding for you an other hotel located in the same area.
We took in charge the extra costs due to our mistake by exemple the taxi costs.
I'm sorry, but the rate of 79€ is not a pre paid rate. If it has been the case, we would have refunded that amount to you.

Please be sure that such an experience will not happen anymore. We hope to see you for your next stay at Charleroi.

Best regards,

Dimitrio Virone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    100
    83
    22
    12
See reviews for
35
81
40
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

The room was fine although the corridors were narrow in the hallways. The breakfast was expensive at €13 per adult. The location was excellent and directly across from the bus depot, tramlines and the mainline Charleroi train station. The Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, Quai de Flandre, 12, Charleroi 6000, Belgium is a reasonable 3 star hotel in a convenient location. We also recommend the Chinese restaurant nearby.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrioibis, Directeur général at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Dear Sir, Madam,

First of all, I would like to thank you for the time you took by putting your comments on Trip Advisor.

I'm happy to read that the location was suitable for you.

The Ibis Chain is standardised in order to guarantee the same level of service and quality everywhere in the world.

Regarding the breakfast, you could find it expensive, but we propose a wide range of different products. We bring each month a product into favour. For instance, next month you may eat a large choice of pancake.

We are happy you enjoy the chinese restaurant we suggest you.

Best regards,

Dimitrio Virone
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I will never use another Ibis Hotel after this. They cancelled our booking without prior notice, but still were happy to take our payment in advance. We only learned that they cancelled our booking when we arrived at the hotel at 9.30pm, where we then had to find alternative accomodation. There were several others in the same position as us, they obviously have no interest in customer satisfaction. To not even tell us prior to our arrival was just terrible service. To make it worse the hotel they rebooked us in was cheaper, but no refund of the difference!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We staid in the hotel for one night because we had an early morning flight from Charleroi airport. Location is good, near the tran station, so easy to reach. It was not possible to book a room for two adults and two children. Aa our children are small I then booked a room for two adults and one children (One can sleep between parents in their bed). When we arrived the hotel they did not want to let as check in as they saw two children but finally they did. When we arrived the room, we saw that the one child extra bed is about 1.4 m wide and with 2 pillows and blankets - so I do not understand why they do not allow two children in on room.
We had an non smoking room (non smoking floor) but there was very strong smoke everywhere especially in the corridor. the whole hotel had on bad smell.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrioibis, Directeur général at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear Sir, Madam,

First of all i would like to thank you for the time you took in order to give us your feeling.
On the website, it is not possible to reserve for 2 adults and 2 children, but you can always contact our hotel in order to ask us if family rooms are available.
If available, for sure, we will book it for you. for security reason, we prefer that each guest has his own bed.
I would like to apologize for the inconvenience occurs at the check in. Be sure that I already spoke with my colleague regarding that issue. Our wish is to adapt us to our guest in order to provide theme the best service.

Regarding the bad smell in the room, please be sure that the housekeeping department is working on it by using natural products.

I hope to see you in our hotel at your next trip in charleroi.

Best regards,

Dimitrio Virone
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Thin walls, malfunctioning aircon and with the most uncomfortable pillows I have ever come across, the Ibis Charleroi would not be a destination of choice except I had a ridiculously early flight the next morning and everywhere else seemed to be booked.

However the rate was cheap, the room clean (just don't expect tea/coffee facilities, decent toiletries or free wifi) and the hotel is 20 minutes by bus from Charleroi Airport (which departs from across the road and costss €3 one way).

Just try and get a room at the back of the hotel away from the traffic noise.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrioibis, Directeur général at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Dear Sir,

First of all, I would like to thank for the time you took in order to give us your feeling.

The Ibis chain is an econiomic brand which want to provide the best value for money.
For sure, you will not have coffee and tea facilities in the room because it is a standard from our brand, but the bar is open 24hours a day if you want to drink or to eat something at anytime.

You have toiletries in the shower and at the sink.

Wireless intrnet is free of charge everywhere in the hotel, but guests has to ask at the reception for a password.

Please be sure that we do our best in order to avoid all external noise, but has we are located in the heart of the city, it occurs that you could ear some noice from the traffic.

Best regards,

Dimitrio Virone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night as I had to catch a very early flight the next morning. I had not prebooked nevertheless there was a room available. The room was spotlessly clean, bed was very comfortable, rooms arent soundproof................someone next door was watching/ streaming a football match...that I could have done without, however the young man on reception was very helpful and polite, I had a light meal probably microwaved and adessert with coffee, it was ok. This hotel is ideal for the airport etc.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

I arrived at 22.30 and they told me that they no longer have the room I reserved, they are all full! No apology, No compensation.

They did put me in a taxi to a very poor quality budget hotel several Kilometres outside of town, where the only food and drink available was a vending machine with soft drinks and sweets!

The taxi driver told me that this happens so often that they even have an account and specific paperwork with the taxi company for these "transfers". I booked here because it was next to the station and ended up many kilometres away with snickers for dinner!

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitrioibis, Directeur général at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear sir, Madam,

First of all, I would like to apologize on behalf of the hotel for the inconvenience occured.
Be sure that we are very sorry for that.

We are working everyday with our team in order to provide the best service to our client.

I agree with you that such a mistake should not happen. But for the date you are talking about, an unexpected event occured and when we noticed it, it was unfortinatelly too late.
As soon as we notice it we look for you for an alternative. It is the reason why we made all we could to provide you a correct room.

I promise you that such a problem will not occure anymore in the future.

Best regards,

Dimitrio Virone
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare

Address: 12 Quai de Flandre, Charleroi 6000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > Hainaut Province > Charleroi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Charleroi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel ibis Charleroi Gare , completely renovated, has modern rooms in the center of the city, just a quarter mile from Charleroi-South Train Station. It has a 24-hour bar and free Wi-Fi throughout. Brussels South Charleroi Airport is a 15-minute bus ride ( 5 euros ). Each of the rooms at the Hotel ibis Charleroi Gare are air-conditioned and come equipped with a flat-screen TV and a work desk. The rooms also have a private bathroom with a walk-in shower. The Musee des Beaux-Arts, in the heart of the historic center, is a 18-minute walk away. References to comic book culture are scattered throughout the city in the form of murals and statues. Ibis is 10 minutes from the Centre de Culture Scientifique by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Charleroi Centre Gare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.