We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and practical Airport resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel South to your Saves list
Hotel South
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   206 Chausse De Gilly, Charleroi 6043, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Charleroi
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cozy and practical Airport resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

This hotel is not in the Airport, but they collect you and drop you at Charleroi at your call.
The hotel was recently built, and the standards for comfrot and insulation are very good. The procedures are quite simple. Do not expect big halls and facilities, it is like a cozy house near the airport, ideal to chill out.The two leather divan in the TV space are superb for this.
There is a food store nearby and an Italian restaurant serving very good food at 50m down the road.
Godd value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    46
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
22
65
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergerac
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

If this hotel is rated #1 on trip advisor I dread to think what the others are like....

The good points, I booked through booking.com which said let the hotel know when you arrive at the airport. We arrived 18 00, phoned hotel and they knew it would be me, car arrived 5 minutes later (at bus stop - turn left and walk down towards station they'll pick you up just after the barrier), and took us to hotel. we said we needed to leave at 6am and the car was there to take us back.

Downsides are far more, location is pretty dingy in probably the ugliest village in Belgium. There are absolutely no facilities in the 'hotel', it has around 18 rooms and a staircase and that is it, there are 2 lounges about the size of a 3rd bedroom but on the stairwell so not what one would expect in a proper hotel.

Rooms are very small, fridge contained two "free" bottles of water. Coffee (brown watery sludge would be a better description) and costs 1€ form a vending machine in the WC sized foyer. Want a drink, who knows, food is provided by an Italian restaurant 100m away. Food was OK but not a good sign to see the owner taking paper napkins and dividing the two layers to create two flimsy napkins. Italian style, but not great Italian cuisine. Plenty of locals eating there though....

Worst thing was no sound proofing inside the hotel. Yes you have double glazed windows but nothing between the floors and walls. So if any other room started to get up, go to the toilet, have a shower, dry their hair, walk around you hear it ALL. Unless you have a very early flight yourselves AVOID at all costs.

Breakfast is not available before 6.30 am so cannot comment on that

An IBIS for a smaller price gives you better value, I will never stay here again. Nice owner but that doesn't cancel the overall experience whatsoever.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I chose this hotel because it was number 1 on Trip adviser, and offered free parking and free transfer to the airport.
On arrival we were greeted by the owner and given the key to our room.
Reception is not manned so i was told to dial 500 if there were any problems.
1st problem...no phone, loo not flushing, no remote for tv, blind broken, air con not working.
I went back to reception just as the owner was leaving and luckily caught him before he left.
He gave us another room straight away, no probs.....still no air con basic small room but quite adeqate for 1 night. We ordered an early morning call as we were catching a flight 1st thing in the morning. He must have forgotten as we had no call. The driver arrived on time and although the guy on reception said we could keep our car keys, the driver demanded them from us.
When we returned from our holiday a few days later we telephoned the hotel as requested to arrange collection but there was no reply....just an ansaphone, we caught a taxi which was very inconvenient. The hotel was locked up, no one there apart from another couple who had not been collected from brussels train centre (apparently they had arranged a transfer also) so there we were 2 couples , 1 baby and a mountain of luggage. On the door of the hotel was another phone number, we called this and someone said they would come over. The owners father arrived....no apology and could not locate my car keys! A nightmare! We eventually got away and continued on our travels.
This is the most disorganised hotel I have ever stayed in. Clean but very basic, very small rooms, out of the way but the worst thing is there is no one around at all, the place is deserted most of the time,

Room Tip: Don't stay here, go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, Scotland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Ideal if you are flying into Charleroi airport late, or leaving early in the morning. And if you have a car you can park it there, a definite advantage. Jeremie is a lovely guy and very attentive to his guests. Not a holiday-type hotel but better than most budget hotels that I've stayed in. You feel safe here, unlike many places, and that's important for a woman travelling alone. It's in a residential street. I didn't try the breakfast but the room looked cozy and inviting.Would go again if I fly into Charleroi. (If I could avoid Charleroi airport I would, but that is another story....SOOO badly organized!)

Room Tip: My room was quiet but very warm. Kept the aircon on all night which isn't a very environmentally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwevegem, Belgium
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nice hotel, great staff, super value for money! Forget about traffic, check-in the night before and they'll bring you to the airport, when you land they pick you up and your car is safe and well at the free parking! Off course there's no roomservice or reception, but hey what do you want its a good transit hotel! will definetly go back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Hotel South is fairly small and seems to comprise just a few members of staff. The reception is never manned, one is left to their own devices and just has to make a call if anything is needed.

I was here for business for just under a week, and was working until late at night every day. The walls in this hotel are ridiculously thin. As far as I could ascertain, there was a cavalry regiment practicing drill on horseback on the floor above me all night. From my room I could count the occupants of the other rooms on the corridor as I could hear them snoring.

A very annoying buzzing noise intermittently sounded from above each door on the corridor, which is something to do with the centralised air conditioning activating. Extremely poor sleep quality endued.

The cleaners started at around 8pm with as much noise as possible as they came cleaning the corridor (maybe 5 people had walked down it in the 24 hours since it was last cleaned)
and knocking on my door at half 9-10am to do my room.

There's a breakfast room downstairs, but 8 euros is the charge and unfortunately it only amounts to a selection of pastries etc, juices, a bit of cold ham and cheese, and is nowhere near worth this amount.

There's no other restaurant facility at all, one must venture out on foot to seek eateries, of which there are very very few.

A pond area is located behind the hotel, which I thought would be nice to sit by on sunny afternoons before going to work, but unfortunately the grass surrounding the pond is just covered in dog dirt, and there's a serious infestation of ants. The only seating available was some plastic upright seats stacked in the corner, but one still has to spend time flicking off the ants that eventually find you.

The staff were absolutely wonderful to give them credit, very enthusiastic and personable, and I have no doubt that they would do anything in their power to solve a guest's problem, their shuttle service to the airport was exemplary.

This hotel is now closed for a period of refurbishment, and I will be interested to see if it improves. Could well be a much better experience to stay there in a month from now, really hope they thicken the walls!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We chose this hotel, although is located further from the airport than for example Ibis Budget. First and foremost THIS HOTEL HAS NO 24h RECEPTION. This should have been written with capital letters on booking websites. It is almost impossible to contact the hotel. Everytime we wanted to confirm our reservation or get some extra info, we had to contact first the customer service of the booking.com!!!! What a disaster! I don't even mention the time the staff of this "hotel" needed to answer our email. It took exactly 24h to receive an email back.
Then the rooms. What you can find in a lot of reviews is true. The walls are as thin as paper. We could hear everything from the room next to ours. On the day of arrival we couldn't take a shower because there was no hot water. Since there is no reception, you can just pray to God. Next morning the situtation was exactly the same! No hot water, so we had to go to the airport dirty. We did complain to the driver who came to take us to the airport, but to be honest, he didn't give a damn!!!!
Moreover, the temperature in the room was unbearable. We couldn't open the window because of the noise coming from the street. The aircondition was not working, so we were suffocating in the room.
And the cherry on the top of this mess? The price!!!! More than in Ibis budget!!!!

AVOID BY ALL MEANS!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel South

Address: 206 Chausse De Gilly, Charleroi 6043, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > Hainaut Province > Charleroi
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Charleroi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel South 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.