We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent nights sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Formule 1 Charleroi

Save Saved
You added Formule 1 Charleroi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Formule 1 Charleroi
Rue du Rosaire 10 | Gosselies-Charleroi, Charleroi 6041 , Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Charleroi
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“decent nights sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

for a real real budget sleep experience this is sufficient. basin in the room is good, lower bed is comfy, dont know about the upper bunk. could do with more power points....the automated plastic shower cubicle is annoying though. breakfast was better than expected. a straight in/out experience

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    14
    31
    13
    17
See reviews for
16
25
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastern Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Because I had just one day in a stopover, I thought to go to Brussels, then decided to visit the town of the airport- Charleroi. It was easy to get a cheap bus from the airport. I went straight to the tourist information office at the train/bus terminal. Although the lady there had a horrible cold and was relatively busy, she took lots of time to help me with my options. She seemed surprised and pleased that I had chosen to spend my day there. I left with good directions and pamphlets of local interest. It was snowy and cold but the city is small and compact, with another tourist info office right in the town square. I was able to leave my suitcase there until closing.
I visited the art school/gallery,museum, cathedral, walked the technical school area(unfortunately, there was no showing at the time). A very attractive and friendly town in my experience.
Formula 1 was the least expensive option for a hotel (less than E50 for 2- breakfast extra and not worth it)) and I had to take a bus. A man who spoke some English walked me to the correct bus stand(because it was a weekend the bus did not leave from its usual place) and waited to speak with the driver. The driver dropped me right across the road from the hotel, cautioned me to take care of my belongings and not wander at night.
The receptionist, male, explained that the washrooms and showers were shared, and that I could access hot water for tea 24 hours free from the coffee machine. There would someone manning the desk all night. As there was a phone in the room I could have a wake up call. Both receptionists spoke perfect English and were more than helpful. They have an agreement with a local cab company to the airport for a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: My room was nonsmoking and I am sensitive to smoke so was apprehensive in this budget hotel, but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My boyfriend and i had planned to stay in this hotel the night before an early airport departure from the nearby airport.On arrival the receptionist informed us that the showers and toilets were communal.We were only staying there for the night so we decided to just go ahead and check in.He then told us that we had not payed anything and that he had no record of our booking even though we had a reference number and had booked it through bookings.com.We told him that we had payed and he kept on denying it and trying to get us to pay again.We left the hotel refusing to pay again after getting a really bad unsafe feeling from the place as the tiny reception was full of sleezy dodgy looking people which were also walking up and down outside the hotel.We felt very unsafe and the hotel is on its own in a very unsafe area to make matters worse.When we arrived home we checked our credit card balance and we had paid so they took our money in this scam.He even asked us if we wanted a taxi to the airport at a price which we later found was 3 x the amount of the normal price.This hotel was awful.I would definetly not recommend it! This hotel was a NIGHTMARE!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent one night in this object in June 2012.

It was what I expected: small size rooms with realtively comfy bed, shared showers and toilets (which were clean), sleeping without any disturbing voices. Breakfast was simple, it was same like in other objects in this category. Check-in and check-out was quick and with no problems, staff was pleasant.

We used this object just for sleeping for one night - next morning we were heading to Brussels, so I can't say anything about location.

I would reccommend this object to everyone who looks accommodation for one night during travels to the other destinations. It's simple, but good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We've chosen this hotel for our journey to Brussels via Charleroi Airport. The journey from the airport was quite difficult - there's no direct line, so you need to change between the lines in the shabby Charleroi centre - you spend 4,7€ to get there. The hotel itself wasn't bad, but it was quite untidy. What's more, the bed smelled from cigarettes and I wasn't really sure if all the cleanliness was as it should had been, but not a disaster. Shower and WC facilities all right. Don't buy coffee in the machine downstairs - not worth it at all. About 15 minutes by foot to a supermarket in centre of Gosselies, but be aware - all the shops in Gosselies close at 8 p.m. An advice for travellers to Brussels: 15-minutes by foot is located the Courcelles-Motte rail station (turn left on the main road in front of the hotel) with good connection to Brussels with one change in Luttre. (check www.sncb.be) The ticket costs 7,3€ (9€ from Charleroi Sud) and is available at the conductor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great value for price , no coffee etc in room but coffee machine downstairs, If you wont a cheap room for the night this is the place to be, only 10 mins from airport . Secure parking, garage 2 mins away as is restaurant , very very basic room

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I booked to catch an early plane in Charleroi. The pillow and sheets smelled like an ashtray, it was horrible. My guess is that someone, somewhere, sometime smoked in that room and the smell went into the beds but they didn't bother to change the matress, nor the pillows so you feel like you sleep in an ashtray.
Don't go there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Formule 1 Charleroi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Formule 1 Charleroi

Address: Rue du Rosaire 10 | Gosselies-Charleroi, Charleroi 6041 , Belgium
Location: Belgium > Wallonia > Hainaut Province > Charleroi
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 hotels in Charleroi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Formule 1 Charleroi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Formule 1 Charleroi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.