We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful restaurant but not worth the hype” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Notos

Notos
Rue de Livourne 154, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Improve this listing
Ranked #652 of 2,570 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $51 - $110
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant but not worth the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I was at Notos with some friends. The restaurant is beautiful and the staff is nice, but the service is reaaaaaally slow. We got in ah 8.30 and only got out 3 hours later, with a very very long wait between dishes. The food was nice but nothing too elaborated. Nice to try, but we all got a little got disappointed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    40
    24
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Again and again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Ok, the service may be slow sometimes, but the food...
It´s been years now that we eat at Notos and we always come back... for more!
The fresh products - cooked on the spot, the innovation, the perfece harmony of the menu with the seasons, the so tasteful, light and healthy dishes that arrive at the table are worth some waiting! Besides, the atmosphere is very relaxing and warm!
Beware, this is not a fast food!
As for the prices, they are not higher that any other worth mentioning brasserie or restaurant in Brussels. The gourmet people are perfectly aware of this!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlijn
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“All plates empty, all day, every day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Why, you may ask? Because the level of excitement that you tastebuds receive is amazing. They just want more, until your plate is empty.... Besides that the wines are great! All Greek and very tasty! The owner is a big character...., hate him or love him? One thing you can't say about him: he does know something about good food and good wine!!! And his tasty for interior design is not that bad either...

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asuncion, Paraguay
Top Contributor
705 reviews 705 reviews
522 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 187 cities Reviews in 187 cities
1,361 helpful votes 1,361 helpful votes
“Much to be desired”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our arty of two went there with one of those restodays bookings at some 30 euros for a three courses lunch. Now, If they use it to fill the resto up, they could do it everyday, without waiting for restodays. If this is really what they have planned to attract new customers, they got it really wrong. After an amouse-bouche of alioli with seemingly some chickpea flavour (!!!) we had some unidentified quenelles of varied sauces and purées / pastes. Edible, but nothing special.
Then some three meatball in wine leave came. Not bad, but this is certainly not what you want your restaurant to be known for. At least if I were the owner. The dessert was an anonymous yoghurt with clementine confit. Pretty unremarkable, if you ask me. I am sure they can do better, but I won't go there to check.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manille
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I liked the food. However, very expensive for what it is and for the service you get. Also portions are small. Explore somewhere else.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Notos also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Notos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Notos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.