We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A smart bistro with good Belgian cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toucan

Toucan
Louis Lepoutrelaan 1, Brussels 1050, Belgium
02/345.30.17
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #525 of 2,491 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $29 - $37
Cuisines: Belgian, French, Mediterranean, Brasserie
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“A smart bistro with good Belgian cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Toucan brasserie is almost part of the landscape in Brussels' Ixelles quarter. It serves typical Belgian food, as well as a few more international dishes. We enjoyed the shrimp croquettes (a favourite of mine whne in Belgium) followed by the duck, and the chipirones followed by the chicken. Prices are fine, though portions are not huge - but the food is pretty rich anyway. There is a good wine list and the house wine if perfectly palatable. As usual, the place was busy: it is one of the few restaurants in the area that is also open all day on Sunday and also one where you bring your dog. Most of the clientèle lives locally, I think, and many are regulars. The outisde seating is either on the main road or next to a bus stop, but at least you get to watch the world go by. Personally, I prefer to sit indoors here. The Toucan is the sister restaurant of the Toucan sur Mer at the other end of the block.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    26
    17
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great ingredients disastrous assemblage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I really enjoyed myself here because of the sunday night atmosphere but I was misled into thinking it would be a quite good culinary experience also. It wasn't.
Basically whoever does the shopping deserves a ten out of ten. The produce was superb...
But whoever decides what to do with it deserves a zero. There were some bonkers combinations of delicate flavours artichokes, or crab or fish or even pork totally overwhelmed with ludicrously heavily flavoured sauces, it was like a teenager cooking. And it wasn't cheap. Yukko.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good choice for the better "quick" lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was not a deliberate choice but just a coincidence to be there around noon for a meeting in the neighborhood. So we jumped in for the traditional quick lunch and chose the menu of the day.
While this is the brasserie kind of style, the food was very good. We had fish tartare and followed by a fish course. Very tasteful and well prepared for about 25 EUR (drinks and coffee included).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“That's really genuine, good people, good value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Toucan is kind of those little Brasserie wherein you can go easily on trust! Most of all it's located in a very nice uptown area of Brussels. I have to confess that in such a lovely and typical venue, in a bit "bourgeois" atmosphere isn't that cheap but I like that! Service is efficient and the menu is perfect (most of all for the Lunch!). Enjoy your meal ! The guys are running the "Toucan sur Mer" as well, but definitely different, you can't even compare!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Exactly what we would expect from a Brasserie. We had previously eaten at Toucan Sur Mer and enjoyed but decided to try the Toucan for a long Saturday lunch on a cold rainy day and it was just right. We loved the atmosphere, quiet enough to have a conversation but not so quiet that everyone else heard the conversation. The food was good and priced correctly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toucan also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Toucan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toucan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.