We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fish restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bij den Boer

Bij den Boer
Quai aux Briques 60, Brussels 1000, Belgium
025126122
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #265 of 2,576 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $28 - $111
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good fish restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

A typical fish and seafood Belgian restaurant, off the main touristic streets of Bruxelles. Prices are not that low, but the service is very good and fast, and the portions huge. After a dish of eels, a very big pot of white mussels with side fries. The dishes are a bit dull, but I think it is in the Belgian cuisine style, so I needed salt. Customers are mostly Belgian, the atmosphere is noisy but charming. I'd recommend reservation in the weekends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    101
    28
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Local restaurant that is definetly charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We passed by this place on a street filled with restaurants. We booked and were pleasantly surprised (not a tourist trap). Anjovies were served with fresh bread before we ordered. The food was definetly of the Belgium quality - delicious. Charming place, many customers, quick service and friendly atmosphere. However, this is not a place for a romantic evening.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Flemish brasserie specialising in fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

First visit in a few years and really enjoyed it for the food and atmosphere. Probably my favourite among the numerous fish restaurants in the area. Classic Flemish brasserie with panelled walls and bar. Great range of fish, mussels and oysters. Eon't leave it so long to return next time.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, fl
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The Best Mussels in Brussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

are not to be found at those tourist traps on the rue des Bouchers near the grand Place but they are here. I had the Mussels Maison which is the house specialty made with fresh tomatoes and garlic. Those tourist traps fill a pot with broth and throw some mussels in. This restaurant fills a pot with mussels and throws in a little broth. I have no idea how many mussels were in this dish as I lost count after 3 dozen. And they were all delicious. My spouse had the Tomatoes with Crevettes which she can also highly recommend. Prices are very reasonable.
This is not an upscale fancy restaurant but more of a neighborhood place where many locals dine. It was packed at lunchtime and again at dinner when we ate. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Based on an Internet search, we chose this restaurant for seafood lunch. The place is very cozy, smart and clean, with a timeless city look. Prices on the high side but the quality of the food compensates. Good wine choice as well. The Zeland oysters were great and so was the smoked swordfish carpaccio. Very good and professional service. To be recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bij den Boer also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Bij den Boer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bij den Boer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.